Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Using Moto X Verizon outside US?

OP mkb_1989

29th December 2013, 05:34 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
I'm willing to buy one from eBay
I found a Dev Edition Verizon 32GB
Can I use it directly without any activation or unlocking?
I don't care about 4G/LTE. I only care about 3G and H+

Thanks
29th December 2013, 06:52 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Nassau
Thanks Meter: 28
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
GSM DEV ED is working factory unlocked out of the box as is the T mobile version. No activation needed or required. VZW edition is for those on their network not wanting to void warranty by unlocking bootloader.

Sent from my Moto X
29th December 2013, 02:07 PM   |  #3  
Khaiyan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 297
 
792 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkb_1989

I'm willing to buy one from eBay
I found a Dev Edition Verizon 32GB
Can I use it directly without any activation or unlocking?
I don't care about 4G/LTE. I only care about 3G and H+

Thanks

I'm pretty certain that the Verizon one will not work overseas. Best bet is to get a T-Mobile or GSM DE. Swappa is the best place for it.
30th December 2013, 07:00 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by esskayy

I'm pretty certain that the Verizon one will not work overseas. Best bet is to get a T-Mobile or GSM DE. Swappa is the best place for it.

It's my understanding that an unlocked moto-x will work on either CDMA or GSM networks depending on the sim that is put in the phone. There is apparently no hardware difference in the various phones other than 16gb or 32gb. The differences are in the preloading and locking of carrier stuff...and the warranty for developer edition not being voided by unlocking it.
3rd February 2014, 10:06 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by esskayy

I'm pretty certain that the Verizon one will not work overseas. Best bet is to get a T-Mobile or GSM DE. Swappa is the best place for it.

All verizon LTE phones are sim un-locked now (FCC requires this as part of the licensing deal for the 700MHz spectrum). The trick is to find a local carrier that matches the phones radio bands, or to buy a phone from a carrier whos radio bands match your perferred local carriers as closely as possible. The Wikipedia page lists the variants of the Moto X and their radios.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moto_X
Last edited by nuchdog; 3rd February 2014 at 10:08 PM.
3rd February 2014, 11:18 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuchdog

All verizon LTE phones are sim un-locked now (FCC requires this as part of the licensing deal for the 700MHz spectrum). The trick is to find a local carrier that matches the phones radio bands, or to buy a phone from a carrier whos radio bands match your perferred local carriers as closely as possible. The Wikipedia page lists the variants of the Moto X and their radios.

I just returned from a week in Europe with my Verizon Moto X (non-DE). When I landed in Italy, it took about 10 minutes before the phone picked up a local carrier and then everything worked great. In Italy I was roaming on Vodafone, and in Switzerland I was roaming on Swisscom. Data worked great in both places. I didn't try using a local SIM card, but I'm sure there are plenty that would work.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes