Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Verizon Moto X on T-mobile

OP themogul

21st December 2013, 05:33 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Hi,

Currently with Big Red but will switch to "someone" once contract is up 3rd qtr next year. Most probably because of the the price and I am sick of VZ dropping back to 3G most of the time where I am.

If I get a Verizon Moto X can I later use that on TMobile. And/rather, a Verizon Moto X can be used on which carriers - all or none


much appreciated.
21st December 2013, 06:21 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
If it's a developer edition then "I believe" you could use it on sprint. T-Mobile is a GSM carrier and since the only option on the CDMA phones is for global GSM for international travel that you will likely not get it to work. They don't have the radios in it to work on T-mobile. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
21st December 2013, 06:56 AM   |  #3  
mawells787's Avatar
Senior Member
New York
Thanks Meter: 29
 
134 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by themogul

Hi,

Currently with Big Red but will switch to "someone" once contract is up 3rd qtr next year. Most probably because of the the price and I am sick of VZ dropping back to 3G most of the time where I am.

If I get a Verizon Moto X can I later use that on TMobile. And/rather, a Verizon Moto X can be used on which carriers - all or none


much appreciated.

This has been covered before yes it will. Verizon moto x is ( might be wrong) the only phone that is Sim unlocked besides T-Mobile and gsm developer edition. Tmobile Sim should work just fine.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2442735

Sent from my XT1060 using xda app-developers app
21st December 2013, 06:57 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mawells787

This has been covered before yes it will. Verizon moto x is ( might be wrong) the only phone that is Sim unlocked besides T-Mobile and gsm developer edition. Tmobile Sim should work just fine.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2442735

Sent from my XT1060 using xda app-developers app

I put a prepaid T-Mobile sim into my Dev Verizon Moto X, and I get good LTE speeds.
21st December 2013, 07:57 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by folsom68

I put a prepaid T-Mobile sim into my Dev Verizon Moto X, and I get good LTE speeds.


Just seconding that I put a T-Mobile SIM in to my VZW dev edition Moto X (4.4), and it was SIM unlocked as expected, but also had good LTE signal, indicating that Band 4 is definitely enabled on these phones, contrary to published specs. Good news!
21st December 2013, 11:59 PM   |  #6  
scottjb's Avatar
Senior Member
Greensboro, NC USA
Thanks Meter: 158
 
898 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Can you make phone calls and send text messages with a T-Mo SIM in a VZW phone? Seems as if a CDMA phone would not work on a GSM network for calls and texts.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
22nd December 2013, 12:46 AM   |  #7  
SupaSwag's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 121
 
299 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottjb

Can you make phone calls and send text messages with a T-Mo SIM in a VZW phone? Seems as if a CDMA phone would not work on a GSM network for calls and texts.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Yes. I haven't done it with the Moto X yet, but I did it without issue previously with both the Verizon S4 and LG G2. It's part of an FCC agreement when Verizon got LTE. It's basically GSM unlocked. Data, text, and calls work.

Sent from my XT1060
22nd December 2013, 01:14 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottjb

Can you make phone calls and send text messages with a T-Mo SIM in a VZW phone? Seems as if a CDMA phone would not work on a GSM network for calls and texts.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Most Verizon LTE phones have a GSM radio and work on AT&T and Tmobile
22nd December 2013, 01:48 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
I made a call to verify it works, and I received text messages from T-Mobile.

I also didn't have to add APNs, it seemed to figure them out.
Last edited by folsom68; 22nd December 2013 at 01:53 AM.
22nd December 2013, 03:06 AM   |  #10  
Kittiesoncrack's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 63
 
245 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Sprint won't work. Cause most of the CDMA bands and LTE bands are different.

Sent from my XT1056 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 08:06 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:05 PM ----------

But I'm pretty sure T-Mobile will cause it is Sim unlocked

Sent from my XT1056 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes