Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,530 Members 42,434 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Verizon Moto X on T-mobile

Tip us?
 
themogul
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: Mar 2010
Default Verizon Moto X on T-mobile

Hi,

Currently with Big Red but will switch to "someone" once contract is up 3rd qtr next year. Most probably because of the the price and I am sick of VZ dropping back to 3G most of the time where I am.

If I get a Verizon Moto X can I later use that on TMobile. And/rather, a Verizon Moto X can be used on which carriers - all or none


much appreciated.
 
supr2nr
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 58
Join Date: Apr 2010
If it's a developer edition then "I believe" you could use it on sprint. T-Mobile is a GSM carrier and since the only option on the CDMA phones is for global GSM for international travel that you will likely not get it to work. They don't have the radios in it to work on T-mobile. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
 
mawells787
Old
#3  
mawells787's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 132
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by themogul View Post
Hi,

Currently with Big Red but will switch to "someone" once contract is up 3rd qtr next year. Most probably because of the the price and I am sick of VZ dropping back to 3G most of the time where I am.

If I get a Verizon Moto X can I later use that on TMobile. And/rather, a Verizon Moto X can be used on which carriers - all or none


much appreciated.
This has been covered before yes it will. Verizon moto x is ( might be wrong) the only phone that is Sim unlocked besides T-Mobile and gsm developer edition. Tmobile Sim should work just fine.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2442735

Sent from my XT1060 using xda app-developers app
 
folsom68
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mawells787 View Post
This has been covered before yes it will. Verizon moto x is ( might be wrong) the only phone that is Sim unlocked besides T-Mobile and gsm developer edition. Tmobile Sim should work just fine.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2442735

Sent from my XT1060 using xda app-developers app
I put a prepaid T-Mobile sim into my Dev Verizon Moto X, and I get good LTE speeds.
 
nethead25
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by folsom68 View Post
I put a prepaid T-Mobile sim into my Dev Verizon Moto X, and I get good LTE speeds.

Just seconding that I put a T-Mobile SIM in to my VZW dev edition Moto X (4.4), and it was SIM unlocked as expected, but also had good LTE signal, indicating that Band 4 is definitely enabled on these phones, contrary to published specs. Good news!
 
scottjb
Old
#6  
scottjb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 150
Posts: 869
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greensboro, NC USA
Can you make phone calls and send text messages with a T-Mo SIM in a VZW phone? Seems as if a CDMA phone would not work on a GSM network for calls and texts.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
 
SupaSwag
Old
#7  
SupaSwag's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 102
Posts: 270
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottjb View Post
Can you make phone calls and send text messages with a T-Mo SIM in a VZW phone? Seems as if a CDMA phone would not work on a GSM network for calls and texts.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Yes. I haven't done it with the Moto X yet, but I did it without issue previously with both the Verizon S4 and LG G2. It's part of an FCC agreement when Verizon got LTE. It's basically GSM unlocked. Data, text, and calls work.

Sent from my XT1060
 
wolfedude88
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 113
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottjb View Post
Can you make phone calls and send text messages with a T-Mo SIM in a VZW phone? Seems as if a CDMA phone would not work on a GSM network for calls and texts.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Most Verizon LTE phones have a GSM radio and work on AT&T and Tmobile
 
folsom68
Old
(Last edited by folsom68; 22nd December 2013 at 12:53 AM.)
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
I made a call to verify it works, and I received text messages from T-Mobile.

I also didn't have to add APNs, it seemed to figure them out.
 
Kittiesoncrack
Old
#10  
Kittiesoncrack's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 235
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Chicago
Sprint won't work. Cause most of the CDMA bands and LTE bands are different.

Sent from my XT1056 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 08:06 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:05 PM ----------

But I'm pretty sure T-Mobile will cause it is Sim unlocked

Sent from my XT1056 using Tapatalk
Old Phones: Galaxy Nexus (in a drawer somewhere) Epic 4G Touch (sold)
Current Phones: Moto X (Unlcked Bootloader, 4.4.2 )

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes