Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Hi to all. Help is needed with T-Mobile moto x..

OP mazubo

27th February 2014, 08:47 PM   |  #1  
mazubo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 134
 
686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Hi everyone,

Ever since getting this T-Mobile moto x, I have been having issues with bad reception, and calls not coming through, but instead going straight to voice mail. I've heard that there might be an issue with calls/texts coming through while on WiFi?
I was wondering if flashing a new modem or radio would help the situation.. If it means anything I'm using the bell network in Vancouver BC. These problems usually happen when the reception is at about 2 bars..

Any help here would be truly appreciated...suggestions or anything!
Cheers,

Sent from my XT1053 using Tapatalk 2
27th February 2014, 08:53 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Langley, BC
Thanks Meter: 183
 
615 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
I've not heard of any issues receiving calls when on wifi. I know several people with Moto X's in the lower mainland, none have any issues. The RF performance is outstanding on this phone. Of course we all have XT1058s and not the XT1053 but it should make no difference as they are using the same bands for calling here.
Have you tried a different phone in the same area?
Have you made any mods to your phone at all?
Have you tried resetting it to default?
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve-x For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2014, 08:58 PM   |  #3  
mazubo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 134
 
686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve-x

I've not heard of any issues receiving calls when on wifi. I know several people with Moto X's in the lower mainland, none have any issues. The RF performance is outstanding on this phone. Of course we all have XT1058s and not the XT1053 but it should make no difference as they are using the same bands for calling here.
Have you tried a different phone in the same area?
Have you made any mods to your phone at all?
Have you tried resetting it to default?

Hey there,
Yes moto is usually outstanding and I actually get great connectivity all over the greater Vancouver area. I had the Fido moto x with no issues prior to the T-Mobile version. That's why I'm thinking to flash the rogers/Fido radio firmware (cannot find it in the forums) or somehow flash a different baseband..

I'm on stock T-Mobile ROM, and have just recently flashed faux123's kernel with no change in reception.

I usually miss the calls while at home. Its a funny situation for sure...

Sent from my XT1053 using Tapatalk 2
27th February 2014, 09:11 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Langley, BC
Thanks Meter: 183
 
615 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
You can try a different modem but with the release of 4.4.2 using the incorrect modem often doesn't work at all.
I know of one area in Surrey where you can have 2 bars of signal with HSPA and your phone isn't likely to ring if you're with Telus/Koodo/Bell/Virgin(same network). The problem is that the providers weren't allowed to put up a higher tower so the area is just overloaded.

The 2 bars of signal you do have is that with LTE or HSPA?
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve-x For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2014, 10:37 PM   |  #5  
mazubo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 134
 
686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve-x

You can try a different modem but with the release of 4.4.2 using the incorrect modem often doesn't work at all.
I know of one area in Surrey where you can have 2 bars of signal with HSPA and your phone isn't likely to ring if you're with Telus/Koodo/Bell/Virgin(same network). The problem is that the providers weren't allowed to put up a higher tower so the area is just overloaded.

The 2 bars of signal you do have is that with LTE or HSPA?

It's with LTE. As I'm not sure what should be done here... I've tried to find forums with flash able modems...have you found any? Cheers,

Sent from my XT1053 using Tapatalk 2
27th February 2014, 10:43 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Langley, BC
Thanks Meter: 183
 
615 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
You can download the full flash images here:

http://sbf.droid-developers.org/phone.php?device=0

Unzip the files to find the actual modem image.

From what I have seen(and when I have done it) when flashing a modem you should generally also flash the fsg.mbn and erase two other files/partitions like this:

fastboot flash modem NON-HLOS.bin
fastboot erase modemst1
fastboot erase modemst2
fastboot flash fsg fsg.mbn
Last edited by Steve-x; 27th February 2014 at 10:46 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve-x For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2014, 11:02 PM   |  #7  
mazubo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 134
 
686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Ok thanks for the direction. Let me see what happens here..

Sent from my XT1053 using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes