Post Reply

[Q] VZW DE: does boot unlocked imply SIM unlocked ??

OP seandarcy

31st May 2014, 06:36 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
I've got a an unlocked rooted VZW DE. I'm going to Europe. Is the phone SIM unlocked ?? Can I just insert a European sim card ?

IOW, does an unlocked bootloader also unlock the sim card ? Or do I have to spend an hour talking to Verizon?
Thanks,

sean

After talking with VZW, they tell me the phone comes SIM inlocked! Interesting if true. I'll find out next week.

sean
Last edited by seandarcy; 31st May 2014 at 07:05 PM.
31st May 2014, 10:39 PM   |  #2  
HeroOfTime's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mountain Green
Thanks Meter: 27
 
141 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Any Verizon LTE phone should automatically be sim unlocked without the bootloader being unlocked due to Block C agreements requiring Verizon to allow any compatible phone to use the network. Since LTE is basically the evolution of GSM, most (I won't say all, because there may be an exception) LTE devices have GSM capabilities. Verizon can't legally sim lock the LTE radios, so they have just stopped sim locking global phones.

tl;dr Yes, it is by default sim unlicked. Just throw in the sim and update apn settings if necessary (they may be preprogrammed). You probably won't have LTE, but HSPA (and, I assume, HSPA+) should work fine.

Edit: I just reread and realized that you had updated the post with what I just said... You can ignore this.
Last edited by HeroOfTime; 31st May 2014 at 10:46 PM. Reason: Previous post updated
31st May 2014, 11:05 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
No. I appreciate the background. And really pleased it confirmed what Verizon said.

Is there a list someplace of the APN s for French providers? I can just imagine trying to find it out from the kiosk manager using my French!

Sean

Sent from my XT1060 using XDA Free mobile app
31st May 2014, 11:48 PM   |  #4  
HeroOfTime's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mountain Green
Thanks Meter: 27
 
141 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
I think they may have that information on the provider's website. You may want/need to plan ahead to determine what carriers are there (which you probably know already) and check out their sites, or you can probably Google '[Carrier Name] apn settings' and find it that way. I've never been in a situation to change the apn settings, but I think once you insert the new sim, the setting is available under Settings > Wireless and Networks > More... > Mobile Network Settings > Access Point Names.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Moto X Q&A by ThreadRank