Scan With Your Camera Using SimplyScan

If you often need to scan documents using your phone’s camera, make sure to check out … more

Hike Messenger Introduces Free VoIP Service

Hike is one of the few instant messengers that broke free from the pack andacquired a massiveuser … more

One Quarter of All Android Users Have Dual-SIM phones

Ever since the dual-SIM phone wasannounced, such devices became quite popular in many … more

Have Some ‘Quality Time’ – App Review

Our phones are jam packed with features. You can crush candy, you can send emails, … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

WiFi hotspot on 4.4.4 VZW?

OP kdog349

8th August 2014, 06:43 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Are there any options for running a WiFi hotspot on 4.4.4 VZW? I tried FoxFi and it said WiFi hotspot is blocked by the latest update. I'm currently not rooted.

Thanks!

Sent from my XT1060 using XDA Free mobile app
8th August 2014, 06:45 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 283
 
2,738 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
I believe the only way is to do it either via USB or bluetooth.
8th August 2014, 07:54 AM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
I hotspot off my moto x to my laptop with no issues and also hotspot for my tablet...without usb cable or bluetooth...i just turn on hotspot and go.
8th August 2014, 08:25 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Modesto, CA
Thanks Meter: 196
 
506 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
You need root to WiFi hostpot. All the methods that I am aware of requires it. Soon we should have a boot loader unlock, which will get you root and let you do this. Until then USB or patience is your answer sadly.
25th August 2014, 07:30 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
I don't pay the hotspot fee, so the built in hot spot doesn't work. Frustrating that they make hotspotting so difficult even though I'm allowed to do it by law (I have a data cap). Guess I'll just wait for root. Thanks!

Sent from my XT1060 using XDA Free mobile app
25th August 2014, 03:41 PM   |  #6  
KidJoe's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Thorndale/Romansville, PA
Thanks Meter: 1,011
 
2,384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdog349

I don't pay the hotspot fee, so the built in hot spot doesn't work. Frustrating that they make hotspotting so difficult even though I'm allowed to do it by law (I have a data cap). Guess I'll just wait for root. Thanks!

Sent from my XT1060 using XDA Free mobile app

So you're not on the old unlimited data plan?

I thought Verizon enabled the hot spot feature on your phone automatically once you were on a tiered data plan, since it uses data from your tiered data.

You can always call them and ask.
27th August 2014, 10:33 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
That's the frustrating part, I switched to a 6GB plan partially because of the hotspot feature but they still block it on my phone. They gave me some whacky reason when I called them, something to do with the price tier I'm in.

I thought they weren't allowed to restrict bandwidth on the LTE spectrum as per their deal with the FCC, but I guess they found a loophole.



Sent from my XT1060 using XDA Free mobile app
28th August 2014, 07:07 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 164
 
933 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdog349

That's the frustrating part, I switched to a 6GB plan partially because of the hotspot feature but they still block it on my phone. They gave me some whacky reason when I called them, something to do with the price tier I'm in.

I thought they weren't allowed to restrict bandwidth on the LTE spectrum as per their deal with the FCC, but I guess they found a loophole.



Sent from my XT1060 using XDA Free mobile app

first, i'd read your TOS to see if it's mentioned there, then i'd call back and complain and then escalate to a manager. tethering is included in the share everything plans, so if you're on some unique plan, you may be out of luck.

also:
http://lifehacker.com/5933152/the-ri...t-means-to-you

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes