No registration required

[Q] X gets hot while charging? normal?

OP Abhinav Valecha

5th May 2014, 10:41 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14

69 posts
More
today is the 4th day with my Moto X...and i'm a little worried about my phone because of my battery issues.

the first day i got my phone, it came with 50% of charge and after some usage it got down to 14% but then, suddenly it dropped to 3%. I have some experience with this issue in my previous android phone, so i just tried a charge cycle and it is pretty much ok now.

BUT THEN

yesterday, my wifi was on and i was charging my phone and it went really hot, according to Antutu Benchmark the temperature was 45.1C (113.18F)... i quickly unplugged the phone, and it cooled down within 3 mins..

now today morning,
i made the phone shut down itself by draining its battery, kept on charge, i was not ussing it, only wifi was on and the temprature went 44C (the charge was around 30-40%).. i left the phone as it is.. and then when the phone charged up to 92% it got better (37C)

IS THIS ALL NORMAL? DO YOU GUYS FACE THIS?
if not, i'll have to replace this, so please help...

apart from this, i noticed that the device runs for a pretty long time at 1% charge
5th May 2014, 04:35 PM   |  #2  
Thanks Meter: 6

52 posts
More
My phone definitely gets warm when charging. I don't have any apps to tell me the exact temperature, but it doesn't scare me. 45 C is far below what the electronics can handle, and I wouldn't be concerned, it is well inside normal operating range in my opinion.
The Following User Says Thank You to garciaw For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th May 2014, 01:21 AM   |  #3  
Thanks Meter: 20

155 posts
More
My battery is currently 102f on network surfing the net unplugged. I've seen it as high as 113 and have not had any issues with the battery. I'm still getting 24+ hours between charges.
The Following User Says Thank You to The Tallest For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th May 2014, 09:31 AM   |  #4