Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,049 Members 39,331 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Black is back

Tip us?
 
piskr
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 236
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default Black is back

Use at your own risk. I'm not a developer and won't be responsible for any damage you might experience using procedures described bellow. Iíve just adapted the method; all credit goes to Nexus 5 developer hello00.

I always believed that the power consumption is one of the most important issues regarding mobile phones. If you live dynamically you simply donít have everywhere opportunity to charge your phone. And then you find it empty when you need it most. Not to mention that considering possibility not going through the full day with a single charge is unacceptable for me.

One of the most amazing features of the AMOLED screens is zero consumption with totally black color. And then came KitKat which put everything on shiny white color. It could be nice (in matters of taste, there can be no disputes), but besides it drains the battery you are not always in the mood to get a beam of bright light into your eyes.

So I made a little research in the direction to turn my screen back to black without fatal intervention to the stock ROM. Iím rooted, have bloatware removed, on art and so far I managed to made the following alternations:

I replaced the boot logo with attached one and removed the bootanimation. For replacing the boot logo I used Moto x toolkit, the bootanimation I simply delete from data/local/moodle (it is possible to replace it with the custom one as well).
I also replaced the Motoís SMS and dialer with those from Google Nexus (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2519733). Now I have fully functional Google dialer and both apps in black. Short manual if someone is interested (you must be rooted and have one of root managers installed - e.g. root explorer):

1. SMS. Do not delete stock app. Rename it adding .bak or move it to sd or to the computer just in case you want it back.
Take any of the SMS zip files according to your choice from the site above. Extract it and find Mms_Signed in the system/priv-app. Copy Mms_Signed.apk to the Phone Ė SD. In Root explorer (or equal manager) change rights to rw and copy Mms_Signed.apk to the system/priv-app. Change permissions to rw-r-r. Reboot and find the new SMS app in the application drawer. Thatís it.

2. GOOGLE DIALER. Do not delete, remove or freeze anything!!! Copy desired zip from above site to the computer and unzip it. Find both files GoogleDialer.apk and GoogleDialer.odex (if youíre not deodexed) in the system/priv-app and copy them to SD. In Root explorer (or equal manager) change rights to rw and copy both files to the system/priv-app. Change permissions for both to rw-r-r. Reboot. In your launcher (if supports, I use Holo HD, otherwise get Anycut or similar app) open activities, find first Phone activity and start it. You should have the Google Dialer of your choice activated.

Iím attaching screenshots and applications I use.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-11-11-46-24.png
Views:	1263
Size:	147.1 KB
ID:	2508418   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-11-11-44-25.png
Views:	1249
Size:	82.7 KB
ID:	2508419   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-11-11-43-28.png
Views:	1172
Size:	154.7 KB
ID:	2508420  
Attached Files
File Type: zip app.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.04 MB, 117 views)
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to piskr For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dandan2980
Old
#2  
dandan2980's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 675
Posts: 1,736
Join Date: Jun 2010
Thanks the inverted dialer looks awesome.

Sent from my XT1056 using Tapatalk
 
natezire71
Old
#3  
natezire71's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 298
Posts: 1,277
Join Date: Mar 2010
Would you make a version of this compatible with the standard Dialer? You realize the MotoX doesn't have the Google Dialer. I liked this one:

MotoX, KitKat
Nexus7.2, KitKat
 
piskr
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 236
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by natezire71 View Post
Would you make a version of this compatible with the standard Dialer? You realize the MotoX doesn't have the Google Dialer. I liked this one:

Sorry, unfortunatelly I'm not a developer, but I'm sure that someone can make it leaning on Nexus variants. But then, why won't you give the GN dialer a shot? It's virtually Moto x dialer + goodies. Like searching business directly in dialer or finding information about people who you calling due to the data from any website or social app?
The Following User Says Thank You to piskr For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Pwnicorn
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 74
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DC
Thanks for this. I followed your directions after reboot I opened anycut and there is no phone activity. I had the plain bright white Google dialer working on my X just fine. After replacing and changing permission and reboot it doesn't acknowledge these. I put the old Google dialer back and rebooted and it's back like it was. Not sure how to get these great looking inverted Google dialers to work.
 
piskr
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 236
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pwnicorn View Post
Thanks for this. I followed your directions after reboot I opened anycut and there is no phone activity. I had the plain bright white Google dialer working on my X just fine. After replacing and changing permission and reboot it doesn't acknowledge these. I put the old Google dialer back and rebooted and it's back like it was. Not sure how to get these great looking inverted Google dialers to work.
Hi,
did you find the Google Dialer in activities? If you did and chose it, the dropdown menu should appeared and the first activity which has Phone in the name should be selected. If you didn't find that, the Google Dialer wasn't activated properly. After installation and reboot, did you see the notice that 1 application has been upgraded or something like that?
 
Pwnicorn
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 74
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by piskr View Post
Hi,
did you find the Google Dialer in activities? If you did and chose it, the dropdown menu should appeared and the first activity which has Phone in the name should be selected. If you didn't find that, the Google Dialer wasn't activated properly. After installation and reboot, did you see the notice that 1 application has been upgraded or something like that?
I didn't see that notification that an app was updating which I thought odd because I've inverted a lot of my apps and always got that after reboot. Just to be sure, I remove the old dialer and odex, replace with the inverted ones, fix permission, reboot, etc. Do I leave them named googledialer? I had an issue when I put the regular white google dialer on where it needed to be renamed to just "dialer". I tried it both ways though. I'm hoping I just missed something
 
piskr
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 236
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pwnicorn View Post
I didn't see that notification that an app was updating which I thought odd because I've inverted a lot of my apps and always got that after reboot. Just to be sure, I remove the old dialer and odex, replace with the inverted ones, fix permission, reboot, etc. Do I leave them named googledialer? I had an issue when I put the regular white google dialer on where it needed to be renamed to just "dialer". I tried it both ways though. I'm hoping I just missed something
Keeping the name Google dialer is OK. But tell me, when you say that pushing the black dialer doesn't cause any app update and you can't activate it, what about the ordinary white Google dialer? How did you manage to install and enable it? Did you get it in the Application drawer or had to find it in activities?
 
Pwnicorn
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 74
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by piskr View Post
Keeping the name Google dialer is OK. But tell me, when you say that pushing the black dialer doesn't cause any app update and you can't activate it, what about the ordinary white Google dialer? How did you manage to install and enable it? Did you get it in the Application drawer or had to find it in activities?
With the other Google dialer I swapped out the dialer apk and renamed it dialer rebooted and it was there. The file I used didn't have an odex file just an apk. I'm wondering since I replaced the dialer with the Google one of trying to install a different one is causing a conflict. Though, even after I remove the old Google dialer it still doesn't give the apps upgrading message. I.. ugh don't know what I did with the stock dialer apk. I put it somewhere but can't find it. Wondering if I put out back how it was it shouldn't cause a conflict. Not having an unlocked BL shouldn't be an issue I don't think. Thanks for your help.
 
Pwnicorn
Old
(Last edited by Pwnicorn; 30th January 2014 at 05:17 AM.) Reason: update
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 74
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DC
Okay, I figured it out. Since I installed the generic Google dialer before the inverted one together they're causing conflicts obviously. Alone this apk and odex won't work. Got it to work freezing the white dialer but had no way to end calls. Basically I need the moto x's stock dialer.apk . I have no idea where I put it when I switched. Searched all over. If anyone has it you'd make my day.
UPDATE. Got the stock dialer back now and have the inverted Google dialer calling. Force closes after a call is placed. Going to clear data and see if that fixes it. This has become an obsession... I've played around so much that now I have to figure out how to make it work like others have.

Tags
black, google dialer, sms
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes