FORUMS

Battery Life Guide Helps You Get More out of Your Device

Battery life is a primary concern when it comes to smartphones these days, and … more

Vinsic Doosl FM Transmitter Review – Accessory Review

A lot of vehicles come with stereos featuring Bluetooth connectivity. This … more

Nexus & Cookies: A More Focused Direction?

It is that time of the year again, and we are approaching the day where Android fans all over … more

LG G4 US Carrier Release Dates

The LG G4 was announced on April 29th with its Snapdragon 808 SoC, a welcomed change from its higher-end … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Pandora Now Playing on Active Display

25th March 2014, 08:18 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 133
 
Donate to Me
More
Saw a thread about this on reddit and took a stab at it.

Curious if there is anyone with root that does not have Tasker installed that would want to test it for me? It works on my Moto X, but I have Tasker.

The app fires a notification with the current song playing on Pandora so it can be seen on Active Display. It's still in the early stages, so it's not perfect.

If you're interested in trying it for me, here's a link. The only requirements are having root, using Pandora, and having a Moto X, obviously :P

https://copy.com/LlLkiTAtpdxnsFt

It will ask for root the first time it tries to run, and it updates every two minutes. Once I can tell that it's working on other devices, I can decrease the refresh time in an effort to be more accurate.

Note: It will ask for root the first time it runs, so you might want to keep your screen on for a few minutes until you see the root request. After that it will just fire the notification.

Edit 3/26: Also make sure that the app is enabled in your Active Display settings if you disabled the option to automatically enable all new apps

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140325_141224_038.jpg
Views:	2090
Size:	74.8 KB
ID:	2649784  
Last edited by fury683; 26th March 2014 at 02:39 PM.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to fury683 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
25th March 2014, 10:54 PM |#2  
Kenichi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fury683

Saw a thread about this on reddit and took a stab at it.

Curious if there is anyone with root that does not have Tasker installed that would want to test it for me? It works on my Moto X, but I have Tasker.

The app fires a notification with the current song playing on Pandora so it can be seen on Active Display. It's still in the early stages, so it's not perfect.

If you're interested in trying it for me, here's a link. The only requirements are having root, using Pandora, and having a Moto X, obviously :P

https://copy.com/LlLkiTAtpdxnsFt

It will ask for root the first time it tries to run, and it updates every two minutes. Once I can tell that it's working on other devices, I can decrease the refresh time in an effort to be more accurate.

Note: It will ask for root the first time it runs, so you might want to keep your screen on for a few minutes until you see the root request. After that it will just fire the notification.

Thanks!

Pretty neat! I'll give it a whirl in a bit.

Kenichi
26th March 2014, 01:41 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
I can't seem to get it to work. Will reinstall Tasker and see if it works.
Last edited by Cyphir; 26th March 2014 at 01:46 AM.
26th March 2014, 01:46 AM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 133
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyphir

I can't seem to get it to work although I have Tasked as well. Perhaps they are conflicting.

Did it request root? It runs on a two minute cycle, and scrapes the existing notifications, one of which is Pandora. It then assigns those to variables and makes its own notification.

If it did ask for root and still didn't work, can you check Settings > Accessibility and see if Tasker is checked?
26th March 2014, 01:49 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fury683

Did it request root? It runs on a two minute cycle, and scrapes the existing notifications, one of which is Pandora. It then assigns those to variables and makes its own notification.

If it did ask for root and still didn't work, can you check Settings > Accessibility and see if Tasker is checked?

I have SuperSU to auto grant root access. I hadn't had tasker installed when I thought I had. Installed it and still couldn't get it to work. I just checked Tasked in Accessibility so let's see.

Edit: Still nothing. Hmmmm.
Last edited by Cyphir; 26th March 2014 at 01:54 AM.
26th March 2014, 02:53 AM |#6  
hovax615@hotmail.com's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Corona, CA - Murfreesboro, TN
Thanks Meter: 310
 
More
Doesn't work for me either at&t moto x 4.4.2 root no write protection :/

Sent from my XT1058 using xda premium
26th March 2014, 01:16 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
It worked for me. Just had to make sure it was checked in active display.

Sent from my XT1060 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to myoder020 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2014, 02:38 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 133
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by myoder020

It worked for me. Just had to make sure it was checked in active display.

Sent from my XT1060 using xda app-developers app

Cool! I was starting to get worried that maybe it only worked for me. I forgot that some people may have the option to auto add new apps to Active Display turned off.
26th March 2014, 03:00 PM |#9  
chaoslimits's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 159
 
More
Any plans to extend the functionality to other media players like Google Music?
26th March 2014, 03:05 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 133
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaoslimits

Any plans to extend the functionality to other media players like Google Music?

It could be done pretty easily, I just don't use Google Music. Once I confirm that this one works properly, I can take a look at that.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes