Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP][MOD][Root]Hotspot Entitlement Bypass v1.2 7/4/2014

OP iKrYpToNiTe

3rd April 2014, 10:16 PM   |  #1  
iKrYpToNiTe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sanford, NC
Thanks Meter: 598
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
*** DISCLAIMER ***
I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE IF YOU MESS UP YOUR PHONE!

While looking over some aosp code for the settings apk, I stumbled upon a much easier loophole that completely bypasses Verizon's and maybe other carrier's Tethering Entitlement Check app. By setting the net.tethering.noprovisioning property to true, Verizon and other carrier's entitlement check app won't even run, the native tethering will start now as soon as you turn it on. This has been tested on and works on my XT1060 but depending on how other carrier's run their entitlement check app, it could work on other phone models also. So if you test it and it works on the other carrier Moto X's or other phone models let me know!

So for Rom Developers all you have to do is add net.tethering.noprovisioning=true to your build.prop file and then you can remove the entitlement check app if you want to. Also if your phone model has any property that has dun_required like ro.mot.tether_dun_required then you will need to change that line from 1 to 0.

For people who don't want to mess with modifying their build.prop file or use xposed. I made an app which requires Root, that will run a setprop command to bypass the check until you reboot. If you want it to last after a reboot you can select apply of boot to run the command after every reboot. This was tested and confirmed by cvhovey thanks to him for testing it for me, since I have free tethering. This is my first app so I hope you Enjoy it! I want to say thanks to jcase's slapmymoto and the developer of adaway, I used their github sources as references when I couldn't get something working. Also androidicons for the icon template, and Poliva for setpropex, and jduck for getting setpropex working on KitKat.


Download Links
v1.2 http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23501681358557764(v1.2 is signed with a different key than v1.0/v1.1 so it will display a msg box telling you this just click okay)

v1.1 http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23329332407584928


Changelog
-v1.2 Update (7/4/2014)
-It can now bypass the read only property's like ro.mot.tether_dun_required and set it to 0 via setpropex for the models like Sprint, and RPW, Thanks to Poliva for setpropex, and jduck for getting it working on KitKat
-Cleaned up the code a lot it was extremely sloppy, still needs some work
-Also I ended up having to create another key to sign the app, thanks to the android L sdk update that screwed up my dev environment, and I ended up accidentally deleting my keystore

-v1.1 Update (5/8/2014)
-For v1.1 I added checks to grab the phones model number and then apply certain commands specific to those models
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-03-14-21-22.png
Views:	2137
Size:	216.0 KB
ID:	2684795   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-03-14-21-48.png
Views:	1827
Size:	217.5 KB
ID:	2684796   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-03-14-22-01.png
Views:	1678
Size:	203.2 KB
ID:	2684797  
Last edited by iKrYpToNiTe; 5th July 2014 at 03:58 AM. Reason: Updated the OP with v1.2
The Following 31 Users Say Thank You to iKrYpToNiTe For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd April 2014, 10:54 PM   |  #2  
cvhovey's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iKrYpToNiTe

*** DISCLAIMER ***
I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE IF YOU MESS UP YOUR PHONE!

The other day I stumbled upon a much easier loophole that completely bypasses Verizon's...

As mentioned in the OP, I can confirm this works. Thanks for posting this app!
5th April 2014, 02:20 PM   |  #3  
The Tallest's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Damn, I spent a few days trying to figure this out on my own a few weeks ago and couldn't get it to work. Needless to say I gave up. Good find!
5th April 2014, 07:56 PM   |  #4  
iKrYpToNiTe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sanford, NC
Thanks Meter: 598
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Tallest

Damn, I spent a few days trying to figure this out on my own a few weeks ago and couldn't get it to work. Needless to say I gave up. Good find!

Thanks, I just happened to stumble across it while looking over the dex2jar output of the Settings.apk.
Last edited by iKrYpToNiTe; 5th April 2014 at 08:08 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to iKrYpToNiTe For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th April 2014, 10:14 PM   |  #5  
Kittiesoncrack's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 64
 
245 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
for this to work on sprint, you would also need to change ro.mot.tether_dun_required=1 to ro.mot.tether_dun_required=0 in build prop
The Following User Says Thank You to Kittiesoncrack For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th April 2014, 12:56 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Very nice app you made here works perfect
6th April 2014, 04:10 AM   |  #7  
iKrYpToNiTe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sanford, NC
Thanks Meter: 598
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hartv427

Very nice app you made here works perfect

Awesome thanks for the feedback!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kittiesoncrack

for this to work on sprint, you would also need to change ro.mot.tether_dun_required=1 to ro.mot.tether_dun_required=0 in build prop

Hmm so sprint doesn't run their entitlement check as a provisioning app nice to know, I will look into putting in a check to grab the model number and set the right props in the app. Thanks for the information!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to iKrYpToNiTe For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th April 2014, 04:22 AM   |  #8  
Kittiesoncrack's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 64
 
245 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iKrYpToNiTe

Awesome thanks for the feedback!


Hmm so sprint doesn't run their entitlement check as a provisioning app nice to know, I will look into putting in a check to grab the model number and set the right props in the app. Thanks for the information!

I believe sprint does use the entitlement check but the tethering won't allow data without the tether dun edit in build.prop

Sent from my XT1056 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Kittiesoncrack For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th April 2014, 04:58 AM   |  #9  
iKrYpToNiTe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sanford, NC
Thanks Meter: 598
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kittiesoncrack

I believe sprint does use the entitlement check but the tethering won't allow data without the tether dun edit in build.prop

Sent from my XT1056 using Tapatalk

Gotcha thanks for info!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to iKrYpToNiTe For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th April 2014, 03:32 PM   |  #10  
imnuts's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag West Chester
Thanks Meter: 3,011
 
3,462 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
The easiest way, that works on every carrier that I know of, is to just edit framework-res.apk and remove the provisioning app from the XML so that it defaults to native tethering setup.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes