Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,773 Members 52,095 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Xposed] - Enable Network Activity Indicators

Tip us?
 
nicedream06
Old
(Last edited by nicedream06; 19th July 2014 at 04:14 PM.) Reason: Added source code
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 29
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Default [Xposed] - Enable Network Activity Indicators

I've made a small Xposed module that enables the network activity indicators on the wifi and mobile data icons in the status bar for the Motorola Moto X. Even though GravityBox provides this feature, it doesn't work for the Moto X due to differences in the SystemUI code.

Screenshots:
Click image for larger version

Name:	mobile_data.png
Views:	910
Size:	19.3 KB
ID:	2850972

Click image for larger version

Name:	wifi_data.png
Views:	841
Size:	22.4 KB
ID:	2850973

It has been tested on the Moto X for T-Mobile, Verizon, and Republic Wireless. I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work on other model, but you never know. If anyone tests it on a different model, please report your results back to me.

Download: MotoXNetActivity.apk

Source code
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to nicedream06 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Mont
Old
#2  
Mont's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 256
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Monterrey
Can't install
¿Nesecitas ayuda en español? ¡Dame un PM!

My Devices:
 

MOTO X XT1053 4.4.2 KANGAKAT BY B4STID
Kernel: Faux Ultimate kernel @1.944GHz
LG L7 P708 CM 10.1 BETA 6 By tudorsirb
*New
LG G2 Mini LTE TEGRA D625 - Stock (For now)
Pipo S2 (chinese tablet)
Asus Memo Pad HD 7-Stock Rooted
 
nicedream06
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 29
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mont View Post
Can't install
Phone model? ROM? Other Xposed modules installed?

If you are running the AOSP Signal Icons Xposed module, this one will not work because they conflict. Although I don't think that would cause it not to install. Unfortunately I am not fluent in en espanol to easily find the source of your error.
 
Mont
Old
#4  
Mont's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 256
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Monterrey
Yea the error was before installing so I think is packet error or something. XT1053 KANGAKAT stock based t mobile 4.4.2 and yes I have aosp signal icons, gb, and a few more.
¿Nesecitas ayuda en español? ¡Dame un PM!

My Devices:
 

MOTO X XT1053 4.4.2 KANGAKAT BY B4STID
Kernel: Faux Ultimate kernel @1.944GHz
LG L7 P708 CM 10.1 BETA 6 By tudorsirb
*New
LG G2 Mini LTE TEGRA D625 - Stock (For now)
Pipo S2 (chinese tablet)
Asus Memo Pad HD 7-Stock Rooted
 
samwathegreat
Old
#5  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1268
Posts: 1,569
Join Date: Apr 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicedream06 View Post
I've made a small Xposed module that enables the network activity indicators on the wifi and mobile data icons in the status bar for the Motorola Moto X. Even though GravityBox provides this feature, it doesn't work for the Moto X due to differences in the SystemUI code.

Screenshots:
Attachment 2850972

Attachment 2850973

It has been tested on the Moto X for T-Mobile, Verizon, and Republic Wireless. I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work on other model, but you never know. If anyone tests it on a different model, please report your results back to me.

Download: MotoXNetActivity.apk

Source will posted on github shortly, but I haven't gotten around to it yet.
The gravitybox feature works fine for me.... Would you like to see a screenshot? I'm on republic wireless. It looks exactly like the pictures you have posted.
Help us keep XDA fun and safe. Please read the RULES, and please respect your fellow members.

Looking for a new carrier? Check out Republic Wireless!
Plans starting at $10 for unlimited talk/text and $25 with unlimited data.
Use this link to save $20. RW is my carrier and I couldn't be happier with them.


I successfully CRACKED the SIM-LOCK on the Sprint XT1056 Moto X. Read about it HERE

 
nicedream06
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 29
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat View Post
The gravitybox feature works fine for me.... Would you like to see a screenshot? I'm on republic wireless. It looks exactly like the pictures you have posted.
No need to post a screenshot. If GravityBox works for you, then there is no sense in using this mod. I don't have a Republic Wireless model to test on, but for the T-Mobile/GSM unlocked version GravityBox definitely does not work for this feature.
 
Mont
Old
#7  
Mont's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 256
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Monterrey
Just installed it but I didn't see any changes in the icon
¿Nesecitas ayuda en español? ¡Dame un PM!

My Devices:
 

MOTO X XT1053 4.4.2 KANGAKAT BY B4STID
Kernel: Faux Ultimate kernel @1.944GHz
LG L7 P708 CM 10.1 BETA 6 By tudorsirb
*New
LG G2 Mini LTE TEGRA D625 - Stock (For now)
Pipo S2 (chinese tablet)
Asus Memo Pad HD 7-Stock Rooted
 
samwathegreat
Old
#8  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1268
Posts: 1,569
Join Date: Apr 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicedream06 View Post
No need to post a screenshot. If GravityBox works for you, then there is no sense in using this mod. I don't have a Republic Wireless model to test on, but for the T-Mobile/GSM unlocked version GravityBox definitely does not work for this feature.
Thanks for the clarification and for you contribution! I was not aware it didn't work on XT1053...
Help us keep XDA fun and safe. Please read the RULES, and please respect your fellow members.

Looking for a new carrier? Check out Republic Wireless!
Plans starting at $10 for unlimited talk/text and $25 with unlimited data.
Use this link to save $20. RW is my carrier and I couldn't be happier with them.


I successfully CRACKED the SIM-LOCK on the Sprint XT1056 Moto X. Read about it HERE

The Following User Says Thank You to samwathegreat For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nicedream06
Old
(Last edited by nicedream06; 14th July 2014 at 06:50 PM.)
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 29
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
It probably won't work on anything but the stock rom, because it overrides specific things in the stock SystemUI. But if you are on a 3rd party rom, the feature in GravityBox probably will work.

Sent from my XT1053 using XDA Free mobile app
 
vikasb32
Old
#10  
vikasb32's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 1147
Posts: 1,218
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hardwar
Work fine in my moto g stock rom thanks.

The Following User Says Thank You to vikasb32 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes