Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,000 Members 47,618 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Stingray 4G missing 3G fallback on CM11/OmniROM?

Tip us?
 
theksmith
Old
(Last edited by theksmith; 7th August 2014 at 04:38 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2013
Cloud Search Stingray 4G missing 3G fallback on CM11/OmniROM?

i could have sworn that the factory images and some older ICS ROMs allowed my Stingray Xoom with 4G to go into 3G mode (automatically or manually)... but with CM11 and OmniROM that doesn't appear to work anymore? i either have LTE or no data at all depending on where i am in town now. also, turning off LTE using the quicktile seems to turn data completely off, not take it into 3G mode...

- can anyone confirm that their 4G Xoom does in fact go to 3G when 4G isn't available (and on what ROM & baseband)?
- is anyone else having this issue with the newer roms?

thanks
 
theksmith
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2013
ok, after reading around i'm sure i'm not crazy and that i should have 3G and 4G.

i rebooted with access to the hidden motorola field utils app to make sure my 3G radio was enabled... the app launches, but the programming menu item and field test menu items both just crash the app when chosen.

anyone have any other ideas? i don't want to have to undo bigpart to re-flash the radio with rogue recovery but that's the only answer i'm seeing...
 
iskip2sk8
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 13
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by theksmith View Post
ok, after reading around i'm sure i'm not crazy and that i should have 3G and 4G.

i rebooted with access to the hidden motorola field utils app to make sure my 3G radio was enabled... the app launches, but the programming menu item and field test menu items both just crash the app when chosen.

anyone have any other ideas? i don't want to have to undo bigpart to re-flash the radio with rogue recovery but that's the only answer i'm seeing...
I'm currently flashing my xoom now so i cant verify if this is possible on a tablet
but on the phone i know if you open the dialer you can dial *#*#4636#*#* >> phone information and see what preferred network type is selected
much like the settings >> more >> mobile networks selection but with more options

if you dont have the dialer i think you can create a custom shortcut to open the activity on some 3rd party homescreen / launcher apps.

If you do get it to pull up see if its set to LTE only, irc you'll want GSM/CDMA
 
larski156
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 12
Join Date: Mar 2013
I have the same issues. 4g or nothing.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes