Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[KERNEL][MOD] Increase Touchscreen Sensitivity 4.2.2

OP reddv1

3rd December 2012, 05:01 PM   |  #1  
reddv1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Torrance, CA
Thanks Meter: 334
 
624 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
4.2.2 Any Rom CWR flashable zip:
e015-AnyRom-4.2.2-v1.zip
-Downgraded touchscreen firmware to e015
-Enable loading of modules
4.2.2 Any Rom CWR flashable zip: (2/23/2013)
Latest e015-hsic-AnyRom-4.2.2-v2.1.zip
e015-hsic-AnyRom-4.2.2-v1.zip
-Downgraded touchscreen firmware to e015
-Enable loading of modules
-msm_hsic_host wakelock fix thracemerin

4.2.1 Any Rom CWR flashable zip:
e015-AnyRom-4.2.1*http://goo.gl/BgiZz
-Downgraded touchscreen firmware to e015

Matt at http://code.google.com/p/android/issues/detail?id=40445 figured how to downgrade the touch firmware to a previous version, which had better sensitivity. But it won't stick after a reboot, so I compiled a custom kernel with the downgraded touch firmware.

Here's how to make it stick after a reboot. This requires a my custom kernel and also to manually downgrade the touch driver once using terminal or adb.

This will downgrade your touch firmware from E027 to E015.

First, flash my kernel, download links listed above. .

Second, after flashing the flashing the kernel and rebooting, download this file SynaImage.E015.bin*http://goo.gl/4vzd4 and place on the root of the sdcard.
Then open terminal or adb and request root permission.
Then type the following command "echo 1 /sdcard/SynaImage.E015.bin > /sys/devices/virtual/input/lge_touch/firmware"
The screen will not be responsive to touch for a few seconds as the firmware is downgraded.

To check if it downgraded successfully, run this in terminal "cat /sys/devices/virtual/input/lge_touch/fw_ver" you should get "E015" as a response. Try this after rebooting to see if it sticks.

Your done! Now you have a nice sensitive touchscreen.

Credit goes to Matt who figured out how to downgrade the touch firmware here http://code.google.com/p/android/issues/detail?id=40445, comment 42.

This is totally reversible, just flash any kernel or booting into recovery, and the original firmware will update automatically.
CWR Touch will revert the the touch firmware, therefore the touchscreen will be non-responsive for a few seconds when you first boot into recovery, you can use the volume buttons and power button until the touchscreen is responsive again. .

Kernel Source: github.com/reddv1/msm.git
Here's another method to downgrade the touch firmware
Better: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2163924
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2028289

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by reddv1; 26th February 2013 at 07:42 PM.
The Following 21 Users Say Thank You to reddv1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd December 2012, 05:33 PM   |  #2  
qwahchees's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 57
 
390 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Everyone incoporate this into your Kernel's NOW >, yes you Faux!

Great find :P, I might test tonight.
3rd December 2012, 05:41 PM   |  #3  
brom25's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I'll try it when I get back home, but I thought the screen of the Nexus 4 was perfect !
3rd December 2012, 05:41 PM   |  #4  
3dawg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 158
 
668 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
I suggest you make a bigger deal out of the no touch CWM. People are going to miss that and then complain incessantly when they realise.
The Following User Says Thank You to 3dawg For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd December 2012, 05:43 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
403 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Hopefully kernel devs incorporate this. Any ideas if TWRP is borked too? I'm not sure if it has anything but touch options.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by lnfound; 3rd December 2012 at 06:12 PM.
3rd December 2012, 07:22 PM   |  #6  
reddv1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Torrance, CA
Thanks Meter: 334
 
624 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lnfound

Hopefully kernel devs incorporate this. Any ideas if TWRP is borked too? I'm not sure if it has anything but touch options.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2

Yeah touch won't work with TWRP either. I can always compile the recoveries with the downgraded touch firmware and that will fix touch in them.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to reddv1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd December 2012, 10:01 PM   |  #7  
reddv1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Torrance, CA
Thanks Meter: 334
 
624 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwahchees

Everyone incoporate this into your Kernel's NOW >, yes you Faux!

Great find :P, I might test tonight.

Yeah, they should include it because it doesn't downgrade the touch firmware, unless you downgrade it manually it just helps it stick. And reflashing the same kernel or any kernel will reverse it automatically. Everyone wins.

This option is nice to have until Google or LG update the firmware themselves.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
3rd December 2012, 10:59 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Swansea
Thanks Meter: 13
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddv1

Yeah, they should include it because it doesn't downgrade the touch firmware, unless you downgrade it manually it just helps it stick. And reflashing the same kernel or any kernel will reverse it automatically. Everyone wins.

This option is nice to have until Google or LG update the firmware themselves.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2

You are the man! Thankyou so much, this is something that has irked me from day 1. Thanks again!!!
ace7196
3rd December 2012, 11:30 PM   |  #9  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Has anyone actually tested this?
3rd December 2012, 11:32 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Swansea
Thanks Meter: 13
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ace7196

Has anyone actually tested this?

Yes, I can confirm it works very well

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes