Post Reply

Info 2 [HOW-TO] Get 4G Speeds on AT&T

OP smalovic

30th November 2012, 03:23 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
So it seems like a lot of people are having trouble getting 4G speeds with AT&T. After a couple days of back and forth with sales reps and tech support, I think I have it figured out. I'll try to make this an easy to follow guide.


Getting the Right Data Plan

First thing's first, you need to have a 4G data plan. To check which data plan you currently have, you can log into your account on http://www.att.com. After logging in, mouse-over the "Wireless" tab at the top and click "Add or Change Services." From here, you can scroll down and view the "Web, Text & More" section. This is what mine looks like.

Your data plan has to be a 4G Smartphone plan. If you are coming from a previous 4G phone, and you just popped in your old sim card WITHOUT calling AT&T, you should be all set and you can skip to the next section. However, if you DID call AT&T to give them your Nexus 4's IMEI, your data plan will default to "3G for Blackberry" or something similar. This is because the Nexus 4's IMEI isn't appropriated as a 4G smartphone in AT&T's system.

You have a couple options at this point. You can try to contact AT&T, explain it to them, and hope they give you a correctly provisioned data plan. This can be a quick and simple fix, and has worked for some people. However, it didn't work for me. After speaking with customer service over live chat, tech support over the phone, and going into both an authorized retailer and a corporate store, I was told that they can only provide 4G plans to AT&T branded 4G phones.

The solution to this is to give AT&T the IMEI number from one of their 4G phones. (NOTE: The only thing the IMEI does is tell them what type of phone it is, and what plans can be assigned to it. IT IS NOT LIKE A SERIAL NUMBER, AND AT&T WILL NOT CHECK TO MAKE SURE IT IS UNIQUE.) Find a friend with an AT&T 4G phone and note the IMEI number. You can quickly pull it up by typing *#06#. Then you can call AT&T customer service, tell them you have a new smartphone that you would like to get the correct data plan for, and give them the IMEI number you just copied down. (I told them I have an LG Optimus G, which isn't too far off I suppose )

Now you should have a 4G data plan.


Setting the APN

After you confirm that you have a 4G data plan, you have to set the correct APN. To get into the APN settings, go into your android settings, under "Wireless & Networks" go into More>Mobile Networks>Access Point Names. You can either select the menu button and create a New APN, or you can select the one already there and edit it to match the one below.

Code:
APN Settings:

Name: AT&T HSPA+
APN: pta (NOTE: IF YOU DON'T HAVE AN LTE PLAN, CHANGE THIS TO "PHONE")
Proxy: Not set
Port: Not set
Username: Not set
Password: Not set
MMSC: http://mmsc.mobile.att.net
MMS Proxy: proxy.mobile.att.net
MMS port: 80 (NOTE: IF MMS ISN'T WORKING, CHANGE THIS TO "8080")
MCC: 310
MNC 410
Authentication type: Not set
APN type: default,admin,fota,mms,supl,hipri
APN protocol: IPv4/IPv6
APN roaming protocol: IPv4/IPv6
Bearer: Unspecified
Be sure to hit the menu button and save the APN, then select it in APN settings. If at this point you fail to get a connection, you most likely don't have a 4G data plan and should go through the steps in the first section.


Enabling LTE

This part is optional, but I see no harm in doing it. Type *#*#4636#*#* into your phone. This should open up a "Testing" settings screen. Go into Phone Information, scroll down to "Set preferred network type:" and select "LTE/GSM/CDMA auto (PRL)" from the drop-down menu. If you happen to be in an area with AT&T band 4 LTE, you will be able to connect to it. According to this thread, AT&T has band 4 LTE in the Oklahoma City area. If anyone else can confirm any other areas, maybe we can get an idea of how widespread it is.


Hopefully this has helped some people. Let me know if there are any inaccuracies or changes that should be made.
Last edited by efrant; 2nd December 2012 at 09:25 PM. Reason: Mod edit: change some wording to comply with XDA rules.
The Following 38 Users Say Thank You to smalovic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th November 2012, 03:37 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Does it have to be 4G LTE? Mine just says the same thing, but 4G. They set it up in the store, as well, but they set it up as my old SGS2, which has 4G, but not LTE.
The Following User Says Thank You to yahoowizard For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th November 2012, 03:49 AM   |  #3  
adi_scorpios's Avatar
Senior Member
Newark
Thanks Meter: 25
 
219 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
I have galaxy s3 with LTE data plan so so when I get my nexus , I just need to set up apn . Thats it right.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to adi_scorpios For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th November 2012, 03:52 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yahoowizard

Does it have to be 4G LTE? Mine just says the same thing, but 4G. They set it up in the store, as well, but they set it up as my old SGS2, which has 4G, but not LTE.

No, it doesn't have to be LTE. You should still be able to connect to the HSPA+ network. You only need the LTE plan if you want to try to connect to the band 4 LTE network in the few areas AT&T has it.
30th November 2012, 03:54 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Orlando FL
Thanks Meter: 211
 
1,233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
So what are the speeds with this?
30th November 2012, 03:54 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I do want the LTE network, so I guess I should call and get that changed. However, nothing works at all, no data, no HSPA, nothing. I guess 4G plan isn't valid.
Last edited by yahoowizard; 30th November 2012 at 03:59 AM.
30th November 2012, 04:01 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
857 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
NO LTE in St. Louis
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dwd3885 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th November 2012, 04:04 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adi_scorpios

I have galaxy s3 with LTE data plan so so when I get my nexus , I just need to set up apn . Thats it right.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2

Right, all you would have to do is put the sim card from your GS3 into your Nexus 4. It should set the APN automatically since it's already a 4G plan, but you can always double check.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BennyJr

So what are the speeds with this?

This would depend a lot on your area. I seem to be getting 8-10 Mbps in a HSPA+15 coverage area.
Last edited by smalovic; 30th November 2012 at 04:25 AM.
30th November 2012, 04:09 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
grandfathered
Dose anyone know if this will negatively affect a data plan that is grandfathered unlimited. I don't want them to mess that up.
30th November 2012, 04:10 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yahoowizard

I do want the LTE network, so I guess I should call and get that changed. However, nothing works at all, no data, no HSPA, nothing. I guess 4G plan isn't valid.

Try changing the APN setting from "pta" to "phone". I believe pta is the setting for the LTE plan, and phone is the setting for the regular 4G.


Quote:
Originally Posted by VanVlack

Dose anyone know if this will negatively affect a data plan that is grandfathered unlimited. I don't want them to mess that up.

I think you only stay grandfathered unlimited if you don't change your plan at all. I have the 2GB plan that is no longer available, and on the "Add or Change Services" page it tells me that if I make any changes I won't be able to revert to my current 2GB plan. I would assume it's the same for all discontinued plans.
Last edited by smalovic; 30th November 2012 at 04:15 AM.

The Following User Says Thank You to smalovic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 4 General by ThreadRank