FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

Factory image for N4 removed

87 posts
Thanks Meter: 20
 
By me_max, Member on 12th December 2012, 10:55 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
12th December 2012, 02:07 PM |#11  
kzoodroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kalamazoo
Thanks Meter: 266
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyPeter

It's removed likely because it contains LTE code and it's not a LTE certified device.. Removing it is legally the correct thing to do, and then when they are ready, replace it with a version that better locks out the LTE functionality.

It has nothing to do with LTE code. The band 4 LTE functionality is built into the LTE chip on the Qualcomm board and has nothing to do with android. Anyways Google has license agreements to include LTE in android as it needs it for AT&T and Verizon phones. It wasn't because of these licenses they excluded LTE from the Nexus it had more to do with Verizon being a pain in the ass to deal with not to mention the added costs of having to add a CDMA chip to the device. It was just easier to go with GSM for now and include LTE in the Nexus 5 next year when more carriers actually have it.
Last edited by kzoodroid; 12th December 2012 at 02:16 PM.
 
 
12th December 2012, 02:18 PM |#12  
tylerwatt12's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland
Thanks Meter: 155
 
Donate to Me
More
Has nothing to do with LTE. licensing is paid when LG decides to use the SoC

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
12th December 2012, 02:19 PM |#13  
Maxxxxxxxxxx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 38
 
Donate to Me
More
nexus 10 4.2.1 missing O.o
12th December 2012, 02:27 PM |#14  
immunityx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 320
 
More
2 Reasons..

There was a bug in the 4.2.1 image that didn't allow OTA updates to apply.

4.2.2 on the way
12th December 2012, 02:51 PM |#15  
Senior Member
NYC & Germany
Thanks Meter: 455
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kzoodroid

It has nothing to do with LTE code. The band 4 LTE functionality is built into the LTE chip on the Qualcomm board and has nothing to do with android. Anyways Google has license agreements to include LTE in android as it needs it for AT&T and Verizon phones. It wasn't because of these licenses they excluded LTE from the Nexus it had more to do with Verizon being a pain in the ass to deal with not to mention the added costs of having to add a CDMA chip to the device. It was just easier to go with GSM for now and include LTE in the Nexus 5 next year when more carriers actually have it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerwatt12

Has nothing to do with LTE. licensing is paid when LG decides to use the SoC

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app

Doesn't work that way, the FCC has to certify the device for LTE operation. You can't just grab some parts and start broadcasting in certain frequencies without a license and CERTIFICATION. The Nexus 4 is NOT a LTE certified device and therefore operating as such is illegal (at least in the USA).

Check out the certifications for any phone on FCC.gov and you'll see certs for WIFI, GSM, UMTS and LTE seperately if they have all of them. GSM in 850mhz can be fine but UMTS in the same frequency is all screwed up and causing interference which is bad and therefore the device wouldn't be certified for the USA (via FCC).

https://apps.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/repor...=%27ZNFE960%27 - Check the FCC Test Report - It only shows, GSM, WCDMA, WIFI, BT, NFC.

Here you can see the AT&T LTE Samsung SGS3

https://apps.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/repor..._id=a3lsphl710 - Look at the SAR testing which clearly shows LTE being tested

While I don't that's why they removed them, i'd say it's a good guess.

EDIT- If you are still not convinced here's the LG Optimus G for AT&T w/LTE

https://apps.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/repor...d='ZNFE970'

Mentions LTE in the report (click Test Report) since it was tested for and certified for LTE.
Last edited by shotta35; 12th December 2012 at 03:01 PM.
12th December 2012, 02:55 PM |#16  
hp420's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 902
 
More
anyone have a live link? I'd like to have a backup of it just in case
12th December 2012, 03:05 PM |#17  
El Daddy's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 5,132
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hp420

anyone have a live link? I'd like to have a backup of it just in case

Check oldblue's sticked thread in this section...

Sent from my Nexus 4
The Following User Says Thank You to El Daddy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th December 2012, 03:12 PM |#18  
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix, AZ
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
Probably has nothing to do with LTE since the Manta's is gone, too.
12th December 2012, 03:14 PM |#19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
...
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim.k.yee

I really hope this is going to be another bug fix/performance update! Hopefully it'll fix my wifi issues ):

+1
12th December 2012, 04:54 PM |#20  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cocchiararo

do you mind sharing the mirror ? i want to keep it safe XD

http://www.randomphantasmagoria.com/...nexus-4/occam/
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to me_max For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th December 2012, 05:35 PM |#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Why do people care about the LTE chip? It only supports a band that most people cannot use.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
factory images, occam
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes