Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,329 Members 38,753 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Factory image for N4 removed

Tip us?
 
kzoodroid
Old
(Last edited by kzoodroid; 12th December 2012 at 02:16 PM.)
#11  
kzoodroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 263
Posts: 1,340
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kalamazoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyPeter View Post
It's removed likely because it contains LTE code and it's not a LTE certified device.. Removing it is legally the correct thing to do, and then when they are ready, replace it with a version that better locks out the LTE functionality.
It has nothing to do with LTE code. The band 4 LTE functionality is built into the LTE chip on the Qualcomm board and has nothing to do with android. Anyways Google has license agreements to include LTE in android as it needs it for AT&T and Verizon phones. It wasn't because of these licenses they excluded LTE from the Nexus it had more to do with Verizon being a pain in the ass to deal with not to mention the added costs of having to add a CDMA chip to the device. It was just easier to go with GSM for now and include LTE in the Nexus 5 next year when more carriers actually have it.
Moto X GSM Dev. Ed.- 4.4.3, Stock w/ Xposed GEL; Nexus 4 - Stock 4.4.4, Rooted; Galaxy Tab 7 Plus - Stock 4.2
 
tylerwatt12
Old
#12  
tylerwatt12's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 482
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cleveland

 
DONATE TO ME
Has nothing to do with LTE. licensing is paid when LG decides to use the SoC

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
 
Maxxxxxxxxxx
Old
#13  
Maxxxxxxxxxx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 202
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
nexus 10 4.2.1 missing O.o
 
immunityx
Old
#14  
immunityx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 320
Posts: 850
Join Date: Dec 2008
2 Reasons..

There was a bug in the 4.2.1 image that didn't allow OTA updates to apply.

4.2.2 on the way
Nexus 4 Stock Android 4.3
Nexus 7 2013 Stock Android 4.3
 
shotta35
Old
(Last edited by shotta35; 12th December 2012 at 03:01 PM.)
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 454
Posts: 1,569
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NYC & Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by kzoodroid View Post
It has nothing to do with LTE code. The band 4 LTE functionality is built into the LTE chip on the Qualcomm board and has nothing to do with android. Anyways Google has license agreements to include LTE in android as it needs it for AT&T and Verizon phones. It wasn't because of these licenses they excluded LTE from the Nexus it had more to do with Verizon being a pain in the ass to deal with not to mention the added costs of having to add a CDMA chip to the device. It was just easier to go with GSM for now and include LTE in the Nexus 5 next year when more carriers actually have it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerwatt12 View Post
Has nothing to do with LTE. licensing is paid when LG decides to use the SoC

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
Doesn't work that way, the FCC has to certify the device for LTE operation. You can't just grab some parts and start broadcasting in certain frequencies without a license and CERTIFICATION. The Nexus 4 is NOT a LTE certified device and therefore operating as such is illegal (at least in the USA).

Check out the certifications for any phone on FCC.gov and you'll see certs for WIFI, GSM, UMTS and LTE seperately if they have all of them. GSM in 850mhz can be fine but UMTS in the same frequency is all screwed up and causing interference which is bad and therefore the device wouldn't be certified for the USA (via FCC).

https://apps.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/repor...=%27ZNFE960%27 - Check the FCC Test Report - It only shows, GSM, WCDMA, WIFI, BT, NFC.

Here you can see the AT&T LTE Samsung SGS3

https://apps.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/repor..._id=a3lsphl710 - Look at the SAR testing which clearly shows LTE being tested

While I don't that's why they removed them, i'd say it's a good guess.

EDIT- If you are still not convinced here's the LG Optimus G for AT&T w/LTE

https://apps.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/repor...d='ZNFE970'

Mentions LTE in the report (click Test Report) since it was tested for and certified for LTE.
 
hp420
Old
#16  
hp420's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 859
Posts: 1,684
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NY
anyone have a live link? I'd like to have a backup of it just in case
 
El Daddy
Old
#17  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3,810
Posts: 3,550
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Roseville, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by hp420 View Post
anyone have a live link? I'd like to have a backup of it just in case
Check oldblue's sticked thread in this section...

Sent from my Nexus 4
The Following User Says Thank You to El Daddy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Stadsport
Old
#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 274
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Probably has nothing to do with LTE since the Manta's is gone, too.
mako - T-Mobile
 
MBX5T
Old
#19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim.k.yee View Post
I really hope this is going to be another bug fix/performance update! Hopefully it'll fix my wifi issues ):
+1
 
me_max
Old
#20  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 87
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cocchiararo View Post
do you mind sharing the mirror ? i want to keep it safe XD
http://www.randomphantasmagoria.com/...nexus-4/occam/

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to me_max For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
factory images, occam
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes