Post Reply

Factory image for N4 removed

OP me_max

12th December 2012, 02:07 PM   |  #11  
kzoodroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kalamazoo
Thanks Meter: 263
 
1,340 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyPeter

It's removed likely because it contains LTE code and it's not a LTE certified device.. Removing it is legally the correct thing to do, and then when they are ready, replace it with a version that better locks out the LTE functionality.

It has nothing to do with LTE code. The band 4 LTE functionality is built into the LTE chip on the Qualcomm board and has nothing to do with android. Anyways Google has license agreements to include LTE in android as it needs it for AT&T and Verizon phones. It wasn't because of these licenses they excluded LTE from the Nexus it had more to do with Verizon being a pain in the ass to deal with not to mention the added costs of having to add a CDMA chip to the device. It was just easier to go with GSM for now and include LTE in the Nexus 5 next year when more carriers actually have it.
Last edited by kzoodroid; 12th December 2012 at 02:16 PM.
12th December 2012, 02:18 PM   |  #12  
tylerwatt12's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland
Thanks Meter: 155
 
482 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Has nothing to do with LTE. licensing is paid when LG decides to use the SoC

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
12th December 2012, 02:19 PM   |  #13  
Maxxxxxxxxxx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 33
 
203 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
nexus 10 4.2.1 missing O.o
12th December 2012, 02:27 PM   |  #14  
immunityx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 320
 
850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
2 Reasons..

There was a bug in the 4.2.1 image that didn't allow OTA updates to apply.

4.2.2 on the way
12th December 2012, 02:51 PM   |  #15  
Senior Member
NYC & Germany
Thanks Meter: 455
 
1,569 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kzoodroid

It has nothing to do with LTE code. The band 4 LTE functionality is built into the LTE chip on the Qualcomm board and has nothing to do with android. Anyways Google has license agreements to include LTE in android as it needs it for AT&T and Verizon phones. It wasn't because of these licenses they excluded LTE from the Nexus it had more to do with Verizon being a pain in the ass to deal with not to mention the added costs of having to add a CDMA chip to the device. It was just easier to go with GSM for now and include LTE in the Nexus 5 next year when more carriers actually have it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerwatt12

Has nothing to do with LTE. licensing is paid when LG decides to use the SoC

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app

Doesn't work that way, the FCC has to certify the device for LTE operation. You can't just grab some parts and start broadcasting in certain frequencies without a license and CERTIFICATION. The Nexus 4 is NOT a LTE certified device and therefore operating as such is illegal (at least in the USA).

Check out the certifications for any phone on FCC.gov and you'll see certs for WIFI, GSM, UMTS and LTE seperately if they have all of them. GSM in 850mhz can be fine but UMTS in the same frequency is all screwed up and causing interference which is bad and therefore the device wouldn't be certified for the USA (via FCC).

https://apps.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/repor...=%27ZNFE960%27 - Check the FCC Test Report - It only shows, GSM, WCDMA, WIFI, BT, NFC.

Here you can see the AT&T LTE Samsung SGS3

https://apps.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/repor..._id=a3lsphl710 - Look at the SAR testing which clearly shows LTE being tested

While I don't that's why they removed them, i'd say it's a good guess.

EDIT- If you are still not convinced here's the LG Optimus G for AT&T w/LTE

https://apps.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/repor...d='ZNFE970'

Mentions LTE in the report (click Test Report) since it was tested for and certified for LTE.
Last edited by shotta35; 12th December 2012 at 03:01 PM.
12th December 2012, 02:55 PM   |  #16  
hp420's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 866
 
1,716 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
anyone have a live link? I'd like to have a backup of it just in case
12th December 2012, 03:05 PM   |  #17  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,110
 
3,673 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hp420

anyone have a live link? I'd like to have a backup of it just in case

Check oldblue's sticked thread in this section...

Sent from my Nexus 4
The Following User Says Thank You to El Daddy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th December 2012, 03:12 PM   |  #18  
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix, AZ
Thanks Meter: 40
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Probably has nothing to do with LTE since the Manta's is gone, too.
12th December 2012, 03:14 PM   |  #19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
...
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim.k.yee

I really hope this is going to be another bug fix/performance update! Hopefully it'll fix my wifi issues ):

+1
12th December 2012, 04:54 PM   |  #20  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cocchiararo

do you mind sharing the mirror ? i want to keep it safe XD

http://www.randomphantasmagoria.com/...nexus-4/occam/

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to me_max For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
factory images, occam
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 4 General by ThreadRank