New Forums Created for Windows 10 Development

Microsoft, looking to be a player in the game of giants with their recent announcement of … more

T-Mobile Expands Its LTE Network

T-Mobile US has announced moreLTE network expansion. The carrierwill provide asignal for the700 MHz band, … more

Kernel Source Available for HTC One M8

HTC pushed the Lollipop-based Sense update to the developer edition of the HTC One M8 just a couple … more

Asus Hints at Upcoming Week-long Battery Smartwatch

Asus hinted that their next smartwatch, succesor to the elegant ZenWatch, could feature … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Free GV incoming/outgoing calls using Vonage Mobile App

OP acegolfer

9th June 2014, 01:56 AM   |  #21  
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1402271748643.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	66.3 KB
ID:	2788054 just got my renewal notification. Sweet!
9th June 2014, 04:59 AM   |  #22  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 218
 
746 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by macallik

The drawback with regards to the Vonage app is that the Hangout extension is forwarding the call to the computer, not additionally routing calls to the computer...so if my computer is available, it takes cuts the line ahead of the Vonage app, and the Vonage app never rings.

A resulting issue with this is that the Hangouts extension only keeps track of Hangout conversations that originated from the app/extension, not phone calls (or text messages) that were routed to the Hangout App/Extension. What this means is if someone calls tries to set up a Hangout Call via the Hangout App and I miss it, I get a notification, but if someone attempts a regular phone call that rings on my computer and I miss it, the app/extension does not notify me or keep a history log of the attempted call. Additionally, since the call was never routed to my phone, there will be no record of a missed call there either. To get around this, I sign out of the Hangout extension on my computer if I don't plan on using it.

It's nice to answer GV incoming calls from your computer. But ppl claim that the call quality to be inferior probably because I'm using the computer's microphone. So I disabled "Ring on incoming phone calls" in gmail.com to avoid Hangouts intercepting the GV incoming calls. From gmail.com, click your name in the left bottom (Hangouts). Then Hangouts setting will appear where you can uncheck "Ring on incoming calls."
9th June 2014, 09:52 PM   |  #23  
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by acegolfer

It's nice to answer GV incoming calls from your computer. But ppl claim that the call quality to be inferior probably because I'm using the computer's microphone. So I disabled "Ring on incoming phone calls" in gmail.com to avoid Hangouts intercepting the GV incoming calls. From gmail.com, click your name in the left bottom (Hangouts). Then Hangouts setting will appear where you can uncheck "Ring on incoming calls."

I think I did this directly in the Hangouts extension. However, it still redirected my calls to the computer, it merely had a smaller pop up notification than normal. Vonage still didn't ring unless I was completely signed out of the Hangouts extension
9th June 2014, 11:24 PM   |  #24  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 218
 
746 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by macallik

I think I did this directly in the Hangouts extension. However, it still redirected my calls to the computer, it merely had a smaller pop up notification than normal. Vonage still didn't ring unless I was completely signed out of the Hangouts extension

Sounds like you didn't disable it from the gmail.com interface.
30th August 2014, 01:34 AM   |  #25  
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
I always seem to have a day or two of issues w/ ReachMe Roaming after my subscription expires, even if I hit the renew subscription button. What happens is that I can't receive calls until I fiddle around with the settings for some reason.

Is anyone else experiencing the same issues?
13th September 2014, 02:26 AM   |  #26  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 218
 
746 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
With handouts free calling with data, this is dead.
13th September 2014, 02:31 AM   |  #27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
962 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by acegolfer

With handouts free calling with data, this is dead.

Not sure if the "handouts" typo was intentional, but I got a chuckle out of it.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes