5,597,871 Members 38,766 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOW-TO] Fix internal storage if 16GB now shows 8GB

Tip us?
 
El Daddy
Old
(Last edited by El Daddy; 14th March 2013 at 03:07 AM.)
#1  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 2652
Posts: 3,110
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Roseville, MN
Storage [HOW-TO] Fix internal storage if 16GB now shows 8GB

I've seen a few threads about 16GB version phones losing half their storage after flashing.

Here are the steps to fix it:

As dellenrules mentioned in post #48 there appears to be an easier way to fix the problem:

-Boot into STOCK RECOVERY (If you are running a custom recovery you must flash to stock)
-Clear cache
-Factory reset

If for some reason that doesn't work, you can try this method:

First, you'll need fastboot.exe on your computer. If this happened to you, you should have fastboot installed If not, see section A of efrant's "back-to-stock" guide.

Next, You'll want the latest occam image. https://developers.google.com/androi...s/images#occam
Finally, boot into the bootloader and run these commands...

Code:
fastboot erase boot
fastboot erase cache
fastboot erase recovery
fastboot erase system
fastboot erase userdata
fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-mako-makoz10o.img
fastboot reboot-bootloader
fastboot -w update image-occam-jdq39.zip
Enjoy your 16GB again.

Note #1 If you encounter a boot loop after this procedure boot into stock recovery (use volume up and power to open the recovery menu) then wipe cache and factory reset.

Note #2 erikieperikie tested restoring a Nandroid backup after completing this process. The backup applied successfully and they still had 16GB user space. Details here.

UPDATED 3/13/13 for 4.2.2
The Following 72 Users Say Thank You to El Daddy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
RussianBear
Old
#2  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 268
Posts: 1,606
Join Date: Nov 2008
not sure if i fall into this category, but my 16gb has only 8.46gb available (out of 12.92gb). I did unlock and root earlier. For the life of me, I can't seem to find the "missing" space. I'll try the above here in a bit.
 
El Daddy
Old
#3  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 2652
Posts: 3,110
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Roseville, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by RussianBear View Post
not sure if i fall into this category, but my 16gb has only 8.46gb available (out of 12.92gb). I did unlock and root earlier. For the life of me, I can't seem to find the "missing" space. I'll try the above here in a bit.
Did you make any nandroid backups? Those usually won't be reported in storage.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda premium
 
RussianBear
Old
#4  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 268
Posts: 1,606
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Daddy View Post
Did you make any nandroid backups? Those usually won't be reported in storage.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda premium
sure did. didn't think it would take "that" much space
 
El Daddy
Old
#5  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 2652
Posts: 3,110
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Roseville, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by RussianBear View Post
sure did. didn't think it would take "that" much space
This guide is to recover the full user space after a bad flash. (Not quite sure what is causing it exactly)

In your situation your user space is fine. The nandroid blob just isn't being reported within the built in utility. If you delete the blob that storage used should be reported again.



Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda premium
 
RussianBear
Old
#6  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 268
Posts: 1,606
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Daddy View Post
This guide is to recover the full user space after a bad flash. (Not quite sure what is causing it exactly)

In your situation your user space is fine. The nandroid blob just isn't being reported within the built in utility. If you delete the blob that storage used should be reported again.



Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda premium
figured it out. /data/media had a folder called "0" that mounts when i plug the phone in, but it also had the nandroid backup in the cwm folder along with some of my files i tried to restore. not sure how they got there, but they were causing the reporting issues.
 
KidCarter93
Old
#7  
KidCarter93's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 6425
Posts: 14,177
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Coventry
I've just added this guide to the Nexus 4 Complete Index

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda premium
I'm subscribed to too many threads so I may not notice your reply. To make sure I do, quote my post or add "@KidCarter93" to your reply."
[ m7 | 4.19.401.8 | S-OFF ]
Forum Rules | XDA New User Guide | Getting Moderator Help

"There are 10 types of people in the world - those who understand hexadecimal and F the rest."
Follow me on Twitter - @XDAKidCarter93
The Following User Says Thank You to KidCarter93 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gmanb
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RussianBear View Post
figured it out. /data/media had a folder called "0" that mounts when i plug the phone in, but it also had the nandroid backup in the cwm folder along with some of my files i tried to restore. not sure how they got there, but they were causing the reporting issues.
I am having the same problem and also deleted these files.

Might be a noob like question but,
How do I use the commands listed at the beginning?
 
RussianBear
Old
#9  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 268
Posts: 1,606
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmanb View Post
I am having the same problem and also deleted these files.

Might be a noob like question but,
How do I use the commands listed at the beginning?
You'll need to download adb for those. Have you restarted after deleting the files?
 
robert_gan
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Daddy View Post
I've seen a few threads about 16GB version phones losing half their storage after flashing.

Here are the steps to fix it.

Code:
fastboot erase boot
fastboot erase cache
fastboot erase recovery
fastboot erase system
fastboot erase userdata
fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-mako-makoz10l
fastboot reboot-bootloader
fastboot -w update image-occam-jop40d
Enjoy your 16GB again.
i fail to perform this command fastboot -w update image-occam-jop40d.

it said can not read

Tags
16gb, 8gb, bootloader, internal storage, lost storage
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes