Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[HOW-TO] Fix internal storage if 16GB now shows 8GB

OP El Daddy

6th December 2012, 11:59 PM   |  #1  
El Daddy's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,915
 
4,108 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
I've seen a few threads about 16GB version phones losing half their storage after flashing.

Here are the steps to fix it:

As dellenrules mentioned in post #48 there appears to be an easier way to fix the problem:

-Boot into STOCK RECOVERY (If you are running a custom recovery you must flash to stock)
-Clear cache
-Factory reset

If for some reason that doesn't work, you can try this method:

First, you'll need fastboot.exe on your computer. If this happened to you, you should have fastboot installed If not, see section A of efrant's "back-to-stock" guide.

Next, You'll want the latest occam image. https://developers.google.com/androi...s/images#occam
Finally, boot into the bootloader and run these commands...

Code:
fastboot erase boot
fastboot erase cache
fastboot erase recovery
fastboot erase system
fastboot erase userdata
fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-mako-makoz10o.img
fastboot reboot-bootloader
fastboot -w update image-occam-jdq39.zip
Enjoy your 16GB again.

Note #1 If you encounter a boot loop after this procedure boot into stock recovery (use volume up and power to open the recovery menu) then wipe cache and factory reset.

Note #2 erikieperikie tested restoring a Nandroid backup after completing this process. The backup applied successfully and they still had 16GB user space. Details here.

UPDATED 3/13/13 for 4.2.2
Last edited by El Daddy; 14th March 2013 at 04:07 AM.
The Following 84 Users Say Thank You to El Daddy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th December 2012, 04:41 AM   |  #2  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 280
 
1,665 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
not sure if i fall into this category, but my 16gb has only 8.46gb available (out of 12.92gb). I did unlock and root earlier. For the life of me, I can't seem to find the "missing" space. I'll try the above here in a bit.
8th December 2012, 04:45 AM   |  #3  
El Daddy's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,915
 
4,108 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RussianBear

not sure if i fall into this category, but my 16gb has only 8.46gb available (out of 12.92gb). I did unlock and root earlier. For the life of me, I can't seem to find the "missing" space. I'll try the above here in a bit.

Did you make any nandroid backups? Those usually won't be reported in storage.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda premium
8th December 2012, 04:51 AM   |  #4  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 280
 
1,665 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Daddy

Did you make any nandroid backups? Those usually won't be reported in storage.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda premium

sure did. didn't think it would take "that" much space
8th December 2012, 04:56 AM   |  #5  
El Daddy's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,915
 
4,108 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RussianBear

sure did. didn't think it would take "that" much space

This guide is to recover the full user space after a bad flash. (Not quite sure what is causing it exactly)

In your situation your user space is fine. The nandroid blob just isn't being reported within the built in utility. If you delete the blob that storage used should be reported again.



Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to El Daddy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th December 2012, 05:01 AM   |  #6  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 280
 
1,665 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Daddy

This guide is to recover the full user space after a bad flash. (Not quite sure what is causing it exactly)

In your situation your user space is fine. The nandroid blob just isn't being reported within the built in utility. If you delete the blob that storage used should be reported again.



Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda premium

figured it out. /data/media had a folder called "0" that mounts when i plug the phone in, but it also had the nandroid backup in the cwm folder along with some of my files i tried to restore. not sure how they got there, but they were causing the reporting issues.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RussianBear For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th December 2012, 04:31 AM   |  #7  
KidCarter93's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Coventry, UK
Thanks Meter: 6,948
 
10
14,516 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
I've just added this guide to the Nexus 4 Complete Index

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to KidCarter93 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th December 2012, 04:35 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RussianBear

figured it out. /data/media had a folder called "0" that mounts when i plug the phone in, but it also had the nandroid backup in the cwm folder along with some of my files i tried to restore. not sure how they got there, but they were causing the reporting issues.

I am having the same problem and also deleted these files.

Might be a noob like question but,
How do I use the commands listed at the beginning?
26th December 2012, 04:46 PM   |  #9  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 280
 
1,665 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmanb

I am having the same problem and also deleted these files.

Might be a noob like question but,
How do I use the commands listed at the beginning?

You'll need to download adb for those. Have you restarted after deleting the files?
26th December 2012, 06:56 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Daddy

I've seen a few threads about 16GB version phones losing half their storage after flashing.

Here are the steps to fix it.

Code:
fastboot erase boot
fastboot erase cache
fastboot erase recovery
fastboot erase system
fastboot erase userdata
fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-mako-makoz10l
fastboot reboot-bootloader
fastboot -w update image-occam-jop40d
Enjoy your 16GB again.

i fail to perform this command fastboot -w update image-occam-jop40d.

it said can not read

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
16gb, 8gb, bootloader, internal storage, lost storage
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes