Post Reply

Nexus 4 confirmed working on prepaid AT&T tablet dataconnect plan

3rd December 2012, 11:19 PM   |  #11  
sporez's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Hmm this might be a good option for me. Sadly, T-mobile data speeds have been very disappointing around my area. Plus, anywhere outside of town is edge which is worse yet.
4th December 2012, 05:27 AM   |  #12  
gear.h34d.2012's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 76
 
277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Definitely trying to create a new data connect account and items totally not letting me. :'(

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
4th December 2012, 07:22 AM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Flag Rialto CA
Thanks Meter: 15
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
That's awesome. You could just get that and your google voice number. Be set for 30 bucks a month on AT&T. With great coverage.
I am just on a family plan.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ballastatuz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th December 2012, 01:07 PM   |  #14  
ctowne's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Orono, Maine
Thanks Meter: 701
 
4,038 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by threeclaws

To me the extra $15 for straight talk is worth it but for someone who uses very few minutes and no MMS this could be a great option.

You can still do MMS, it is just through Google Voice (which is free).

Quote:
Originally Posted by gear.h34d.2012

What's the APN that you would use? I'm doing the same thing and can't get the APN correct. Thanks.

This is what worked for me. It may work with just the MEdia Net one, but I had both and it worked.

APN1=============================
Name: Activate
APN: lwaactivate
Proxy: (not set)
Port: (Not Set)
Username: (Not Set)
Password: (Not Set)
Server: (Not Set)
MMSC: (Not Set)
MMS Proxy (Not Set)
MMS port: (Not Set)
MMS Protocol: WAP 2.0
MCC: 310
MNC: 410
Authentication Type: (Not Set)
APN Type: default,admin,fota,hipri

APN2====================

Name: MEdia Net
APN: broadband
Proxy: (Not Set)
Port: (Not Set)
Username: (Not Set)
Password: (Not Set)
Server: (Not Set)
MMSC: (Not Set)
MMS proxy: (Not Set)
MMS port: (Not Set)
MMS protocol: WAP 2.0
MCC: 310
MNC: 410
Authentication type: (Not Set)
APN type: default,admin,fota,hipri

Quote:
Originally Posted by gear.h34d.2012

Definitely trying to create a new data connect account and items totally not letting me. :'(

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

Do you have a tablet IMEI and a SIM card #? https://buyasession.att.com/sbd/Show...ce=buyasession
Last edited by ctowne; 4th December 2012 at 01:09 PM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to ctowne For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th December 2012, 01:15 PM   |  #15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
729 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctowne

You can still do MMS, it is just through Google Voice (which is free).

Just fyi. Google voice does not support mms unless you're on Sprint and have an integrated gv account.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
4th December 2012, 01:20 PM   |  #16  
ctowne's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Orono, Maine
Thanks Meter: 701
 
4,038 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by frigidazzi

Just fyi. Google voice does not support mms unless you're on Sprint and have an integrated gv account.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2

Ok maybe it's not MMS but you can text through Google Voice no matter what carrier you have. I can do it through the extension for Chrome on my laptop if I want.
4th December 2012, 02:07 PM   |  #17  
sporez's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Where would I get a SIM card for this plan?
4th December 2012, 02:12 PM   |  #18  
ctowne's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Orono, Maine
Thanks Meter: 701
 
4,038 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sporez

Where would I get a SIM card for this plan?

Just a AT&T micro sim will do. http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B003YTSXYO

Or

http://m.tigerdirect.com/application...?EdpNo=2628385

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to ctowne For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th December 2012, 02:18 PM   |  #19  
sporez's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctowne

Just a AT&T micro sim will do. http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B003YTSXYO

Or

http://m.tigerdirect.com/application...?EdpNo=2628385

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app

Alright, thanks! Also, am I out of luck if I don't have a tablet with 3g? My current tablet is wifi only so therefore doesn't have an IMEI.
6th December 2012, 02:38 PM   |  #20  
ctowne's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Orono, Maine
Thanks Meter: 701
 
4,038 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Anyone else get this going on your N4?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 4 General by ThreadRank