5,604,631 Members 42,014 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nexus 4 confirmed working on prepaid AT&T tablet dataconnect plan

Tip us?
 
sporez
Old
#11  
sporez's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 144
Join Date: May 2012
Hmm this might be a good option for me. Sadly, T-mobile data speeds have been very disappointing around my area. Plus, anywhere outside of town is edge which is worse yet.
 
gear.h34d.2012
Old
#12  
gear.h34d.2012's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 76
Posts: 277
Join Date: Jun 2010
Definitely trying to create a new data connect account and items totally not letting me. :'(

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

Credits to mustangboy88

Devices:

Google Nexus S 4G
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 Grey Wifi 32GB


Quote:
"Personally, I watched my friends vivid get updated to ice cream sandwich last night. It broke my heart because he got it via ota, before my nexus s. Official google/sprint ics is something my ns4g will most likely never receive. Yes, I am a cry baby. Flame me."
-Swamp Goblin
 
Ballastatuz
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 151
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Rialto CA
That's awesome. You could just get that and your google voice number. Be set for 30 bucks a month on AT&T. With great coverage.
I am just on a family plan.
Nexus 4 (current)
Galaxy s3 (sold)
Galaxy s2 skyrocket (sold)
iPhone 4 (sold)
iPhone 3G (sold)
The Following User Says Thank You to Ballastatuz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ctowne
Old
(Last edited by ctowne; 4th December 2012 at 01:09 PM.)
#14  
ctowne's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 701
Posts: 4,032
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orono, Maine
Quote:
Originally Posted by threeclaws View Post
To me the extra $15 for straight talk is worth it but for someone who uses very few minutes and no MMS this could be a great option.
You can still do MMS, it is just through Google Voice (which is free).

Quote:
Originally Posted by gear.h34d.2012 View Post
What's the APN that you would use? I'm doing the same thing and can't get the APN correct. Thanks.
This is what worked for me. It may work with just the MEdia Net one, but I had both and it worked.

APN1=============================
Name: Activate
APN: lwaactivate
Proxy: (not set)
Port: (Not Set)
Username: (Not Set)
Password: (Not Set)
Server: (Not Set)
MMSC: (Not Set)
MMS Proxy (Not Set)
MMS port: (Not Set)
MMS Protocol: WAP 2.0
MCC: 310
MNC: 410
Authentication Type: (Not Set)
APN Type: default,admin,fota,hipri

APN2====================

Name: MEdia Net
APN: broadband
Proxy: (Not Set)
Port: (Not Set)
Username: (Not Set)
Password: (Not Set)
Server: (Not Set)
MMSC: (Not Set)
MMS proxy: (Not Set)
MMS port: (Not Set)
MMS protocol: WAP 2.0
MCC: 310
MNC: 410
Authentication type: (Not Set)
APN type: default,admin,fota,hipri

Quote:
Originally Posted by gear.h34d.2012 View Post
Definitely trying to create a new data connect account and items totally not letting me. :'(

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
Do you have a tablet IMEI and a SIM card #? https://buyasession.att.com/sbd/Show...ce=buyasession
Nexus 4 Limbo Level 3 Survivor
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to ctowne For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
frigidazzi
Old
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 679
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctowne View Post
You can still do MMS, it is just through Google Voice (which is free).
Just fyi. Google voice does not support mms unless you're on Sprint and have an integrated gv account.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
 
ctowne
Old
#16  
ctowne's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 701
Posts: 4,032
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orono, Maine
Quote:
Originally Posted by frigidazzi View Post
Just fyi. Google voice does not support mms unless you're on Sprint and have an integrated gv account.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
Ok maybe it's not MMS but you can text through Google Voice no matter what carrier you have. I can do it through the extension for Chrome on my laptop if I want.
Nexus 4 Limbo Level 3 Survivor
 
sporez
Old
#17  
sporez's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 144
Join Date: May 2012
Where would I get a SIM card for this plan?
 
ctowne
Old
#18  
ctowne's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 701
Posts: 4,032
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orono, Maine
Quote:
Originally Posted by sporez View Post
Where would I get a SIM card for this plan?
Just a AT&T micro sim will do. http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B003YTSXYO

Or

http://m.tigerdirect.com/application...?EdpNo=2628385

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
Nexus 4 Limbo Level 3 Survivor
The Following User Says Thank You to ctowne For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sporez
Old
#19  
sporez's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 144
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctowne View Post
Just a AT&T micro sim will do. http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B003YTSXYO

Or

http://m.tigerdirect.com/application...?EdpNo=2628385

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
Alright, thanks! Also, am I out of luck if I don't have a tablet with 3g? My current tablet is wifi only so therefore doesn't have an IMEI.
 
ctowne
Old
#20  
ctowne's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 701
Posts: 4,032
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orono, Maine
Anyone else get this going on your N4?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda premium
Nexus 4 Limbo Level 3 Survivor

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes