5,601,223 Members 58,010 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nexus 4 has LTE chip?

Tip us?
 
James.UBC
Old
(Last edited by James.UBC; 23rd November 2012 at 07:15 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 132
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Nexus 4 has LTE chip?

According to iFixit, the Nexus 4 has a Qualcomm WTR1605L seven-band 4G LTE chip!

what!?!?!



http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Nexus+4+Teardown/11781/2

Band 4 LTE confirmed!!!
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to James.UBC For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
stormtroopercs
Old
#2  
stormtroopercs's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 211
Posts: 855
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Torrance,California
Quote:
Originally Posted by James.UBC View Post
According to iFixit, the Nexus 4 has a Qualcomm WTR1605L seven-band 4G LTE chip!

what!?!?!



http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Nexus+4+Teardown/11781/2
yup! google just didn't tell us!
[DEVICE] nexus 4
[ROM] PARANOIDANDROID
[KERNEL] Latest Franco
 
heat361
Old
#3  
heat361's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 357
Posts: 1,122
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York City
I bet you it would be activated when T-Mobile gets lte
NEXUS 4
NEXUS 7

 
James.UBC
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 132
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by stormtroopercs View Post
yup! google just didn't tell us!
does this mean 4g can/will be enabled later?!

wtf!

*waits for LTE enabled rom*
 
SunSDK
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 109
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by heat361 View Post
I bet you it would be activated when T-Mobile gets lte
I hope
 
DroidDavi
Old
#6  
DroidDavi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 125
Posts: 927
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Las Vegas
I'm sure its just built in to the CPU.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
NEXUS 4 LIMBO NEVER FORGET NEVER EVER FORGET

My Blog http://davionwitherspoon.wordpress.com/

@_DavionW

For my Twitter YouTube and G+
http://about.me/davionwitherspoon
 
stormtroopercs
Old
#7  
stormtroopercs's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 211
Posts: 855
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Torrance,California
Quote:
Originally Posted by James.UBC View Post
does this mean 4g can/will be enabled later?!

wtf!

*waits for LTE enabled rom*
highly doubt!
[DEVICE] nexus 4
[ROM] PARANOIDANDROID
[KERNEL] Latest Franco
 
James.UBC
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 132
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DroidDavi View Post
I'm sure its just built in to the CPU.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
Nope! Completely separate IC!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by stormtroopercs View Post
highly doubt!
one can dream
 
0.0
Old
#9  
0.0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2247
Posts: 5,122
Join Date: Jan 2010
i read that a chip maker was going to implement LTE radio into one chip. also, tmobile's LTE deployment will be a newer version than what verizon has, so ive read. i think it makes use of some sort of all-in-one chip. not too sure on that...
if i have helped you, please click the "thanks" button

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Phone: Google Nexus 4
ROM: temasek CM11.0

Tablet: Google Nexus 7 (2013)
ROM: Carbon 4.4.2

Phone: T-Mobile myTouch 4G (R.I.P.)
ROM: my Jellybean port
 
Anubis007
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 102
Join Date: Jun 2012
i remember reading somewhere that the Verizon's HTC DNA worked with T-Mobile. i think this might confirm the S4 pro's built in LTE may be.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes