Thread Closed

nexus has LTE

OP a1jatt

22nd November 2012, 05:52 PM   |  #21  
hunterhp's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fitchburg
Thanks Meter: 15
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
I think he's just trolling guys, nothing to see here.
22nd November 2012, 05:54 PM   |  #22  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
208 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Updated first post.
Uploading one more video, will post in a minute
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to a1jatt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd November 2012, 06:00 PM   |  #23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
204 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by a1jatt

Updated first post.
Uploading one more video, will post in a minute

I watched the video and am intrigued. Can you run an app called coverage map(also known as root metrics) It gives a better description of the connection during a speed test.

HTML Code:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.rootmetrics&feature=nav_result#?t=W251bGwsMSwyLDNd
Link to the app.
The Following User Says Thank You to runningwarrior08 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd November 2012, 06:04 PM   |  #24  
hunterhp's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fitchburg
Thanks Meter: 15
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by remlap13

I'm also on Telus.. How in the heck did you manage that?

Do you have a Nexus 4 that you can see if you get these speeds on Telus?

Edit: Or an HSPA+ 42mbps capable device
22nd November 2012, 06:07 PM   |  #25  
Qbancelli's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 76
 
270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by venturizhou

This has already been answered and discussed at length. Conclusion, it doesn't have the necessary amps or antennae.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=34371218

"According to Qualcomm's data sheet the MDM9215 is an LTE modem (LTE FDD/TDD CAT 3, SVLTE-DB, Release 9 DC-HSPA+, TD-SCDMA, GSM/GPRS/EDGE, EGAL"). All the MDM92xx and MDM96xx Gobi chips have LTE. In fact, the MDM9215m specifically is the same modem used in the One X- which clearly does have LTE. What is more commonly claimed is that the Nexus 4 lacks an LTE amplifier. Yet Avago Technologies states that their ACPM-7251 amp supports "UMTS Dual-Band (Band1-UMTS & LTE and Band5 UMTS & LTE)". Again, a chip also used in the One X . Also present are Avago A5702 and A5704 LTE/UMTS power amps."
22nd November 2012, 06:17 PM   |  #26  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I'm as yet unconvinced. The video shows about 15/15, the screen shot all have >30.
22nd November 2012, 06:20 PM   |  #27  
comminus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 559
 
618 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kentt1

I'm as yet unconvinced. The video shows about 15/15, the screen shot all have >30.

I'm with you. Need to see some more video with better speeds. Also an explanation of how this was apparently achieved.
22nd November 2012, 06:21 PM   |  #28  
Qbancelli's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 76
 
270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
You can easily get those speeds on HSPA+
22nd November 2012, 06:29 PM   |  #29  
Senior Member
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 172
 
296 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Telus is rated for DC-HSPA. This is all this is.
22nd November 2012, 06:34 PM   |  #30  
luckylui's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chi-Town
Thanks Meter: 365
 
4,018 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
The N4, can be changed to "LTE/GSM" and stick until a reboot on *#*#4636#*#* menu. I get increased speeds when testing it too! Something is working with the LTE chip.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to luckylui For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 4 General by ThreadRank