Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,281 Members 50,918 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[TROUBLESHOOT] T-Mobile Loss of Signal & No data OR data drop (grey bars)

Tip us?
 
kthejoker20
Old
(Last edited by kthejoker20; 31st March 2013 at 09:33 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 642
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kenosha
Default [TROUBLESHOOT] T-Mobile Loss of Signal & No data OR data drop (grey bars)

For some reason modems .33 and higher don't play well with t-mobile and you will get constant drop outs and no data even when connected to data.

You need the .27 radio on t-mobile.

For those that don't have those issues, good for you. no need to post. This is to help those that are having problems.

The only drawback is that you have to downgrade everything. IT IS IMPORTANT TO USE ONLY THE 4.2.1 android. The .27 radio will not work with 4.2.2 and you will not be able to make/receive calls as well as many other things broken.

UPDATE: You can use the latest 4.2.2 cyanogen (CM10) with the latest m1 franco kernel with the .27 radio. Other 4.2.2. roms have not been tested and may or may not work. It has been reported hit or miss on it working with other roms.


1. Download the 4.2.1 any rom (cyanogen peferred) to phone storage. Here is the link to the older cyanogen nighties. I recommend the 01/25 build.

http://goo.im/devs/cm/mako/nightly

2. Download franco kernel r72 for the 4.2.1 series to phone storage.
You must use this kernel as it has the Qualcom drop out fix.


http://minooch.com/franciscofranco/N...ightly-r72.zip

3. Download the .27 radio to phone storage, you need this radio for the reception and drop outs.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2087227

4. Flash all that stuff above in the recovery. Flash the radio first then reboot into recovery, then flash the ROM, then flash the kernel.


If you want faster HSPA speeds switch your t-mobile APN from epc.tmobile.com to lte.tmobile.com (thats LTE in lower letters.)

However, if you do that you will have to switch the apn back to simple if you go out of the hspa area or you may not get data on E or G.

If you don't get any data after editing that, just hit the 3 verticle dots on the upper right, under the APN menu, and hit reset to default apn settings. The reboot phone.


<-------HIT MY THANKS BUTTON

This will make you go from liking you nexus to loving it.
-----

Also switching from Pre-paid to Post paid enables roaming. There is no roaming on pre paid. Since there are no contracts, there is nothing to lose.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to kthejoker20 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
scottx .
Old
#2  
scottx .'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 774
Posts: 2,207
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Default Re: [tmp fix] t-mobile loss of signal no data / data drop out

Hmm. Why cant I just flash the older radio and keep 4.2.2?

I switched to T-Mobile today from straight talk and it sucks.
Google Nexus 5 (16gb, hammerhead (D820(H) (rev_11)))
Google Nexus 4 (16gb, mako (rev_11))
Google Nexus 7 (2013) (16gb, flo)
LG G2 (32gb, D-801)

M. Scott @ Google Play. (Zooper Skins)
 
kthejoker20
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 642
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kenosha
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottx . View Post
Hmm. Why cant I just flash the older radio and keep 4.2.2?

I switched to T-Mobile today from straight talk and it sucks.
The old radio will not work with 4.2.2.

You will not be able to hear incoming or outgoing calls. As well as many other things/sensors broken.
Check out my Nexus 4 tool, Image Extractor and Image backup/restore to PC CLICK HERE


 
Warbuff
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 129
Posts: 569
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Default Re: [FIX] T-Mobile Loss of Signal & No data OR data drop-outs

I don't think that's true

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app

---------- Post added at 09:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:13 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by kthejoker20 View Post
The old radio will not work with 4.2.2.

You will not be able to hear incoming or outgoing calls. As well as many other things/sensors broken.
I don't think that's true

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
 
Truckin'Ain't4Sissies
Old
#5  
Truckin'Ain't4Sissies's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 373
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PDX
Default Re: [FIX] T-Mobile Loss of Signal & No data OR data drop-outs

4.2.2
.27
T-mobile


No problems whatsoever.

TA4S
 
Visa Declined
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 331
Posts: 563
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Oklahoma City
I just switched to T-Mobile unlimited from a Straight Talk AT&T Sim. Totally happy. I stream movies all night and download huge games.
Asking for Thank You's in your signature is retarded.
 
scottx .
Old
(Last edited by scottx .; 19th March 2013 at 03:24 AM.)
#7  
scottx .'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 774
Posts: 2,207
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Default Re: [FIX] T-Mobile Loss of Signal & No data OR data drop-outs

Yeah it works fine with 4.2.2 as far as audio is.

Slow crap though and it keeps going from 3g to hspa+. Even edge. Doesn't drop with 27.

Annoying. I might just switch back to straight talk. Hate that I spent sixty five bucks trying to switch to something better.







I refuse to run an old out of date rom and kernel just to fix ****ty signal issues. Stupid stupid stupid.

I miss my galaxy nexus at times like this.
Google Nexus 5 (16gb, hammerhead (D820(H) (rev_11)))
Google Nexus 4 (16gb, mako (rev_11))
Google Nexus 7 (2013) (16gb, flo)
LG G2 (32gb, D-801)

M. Scott @ Google Play. (Zooper Skins)
 
Ace42
Old
#8  
Ace42's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,122
Posts: 9,162
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Default Re: [FIX] T-Mobile Loss of Signal & No data OR data drop-outs

No issues with .27 except it's better than .33 and .48 radios. Been using this on 4.2.2 for some time, no need to use older versions of Franco you can use 100 or whatever it's up to.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
Main: LG G2 D-800 {Tmobile)
LG Opt G (e970)
Hybrid radios for E970
Surface RT 32GB--Kindle Fire 1G_CM11--SGS Vibrant_CM11
Owned: G1(Backup)-> Mytouch3GS(Sold) -> SideKick4G(Traded) -> MyTouch4G(Sold) -> Sensation 4G(Sold) -> Galaxy Player 5"(Sold) ->Nexus 4(broken)->LG Opt G
 
scottx .
Old
#9  
scottx .'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 774
Posts: 2,207
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Default Re: [FIX] T-Mobile Loss of Signal & No data OR data drop-outs

Is yours on 3g most of the time? I'm in a huge 4g area here in San antonio. Should be hspa 24/7 like it was with att.
Google Nexus 5 (16gb, hammerhead (D820(H) (rev_11)))
Google Nexus 4 (16gb, mako (rev_11))
Google Nexus 7 (2013) (16gb, flo)
LG G2 (32gb, D-801)

M. Scott @ Google Play. (Zooper Skins)
 
jeaniturrizaga
Old
#10  
jeaniturrizaga's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 76
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default Re: [FIX] T-Mobile Loss of Signal & No data OR data drop-outs

This is interesting. Sometimes my data just shut down for a while and drives me nuts. Please confirm if radio .27 is compatible with 4.2.2 and paranoid android. Stock kernel.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes