Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] 3G is switched on only when mobile data is on

OP Scythe

3rd January 2014, 12:55 PM   |  #1  
Scythe's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Gaziantep
Thanks Meter: 5
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Okay as written on topic header I want to achive battery gain by automatically turn on 3G only when mobile data is switched on otherwise 2G should be active(so 3G and mobile data can be switched only by turning on mobile data). I tried to find some apps from playstore but there are only mobile data switcher and 2G-3G toggles(which only directs you to settings page). I can try tasker but I'm not very sure about it because it is also a background service so maybe it will consume more battery. What I'm trying to say is there any way to modify kernel or system apps so this task can be achived ?
3rd January 2014, 08:10 PM   |  #2  
korockinout13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 532
 
2,025 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
That makes no sense... 2G is mobile data too. You can't use 2G data if mobile data is turned off, for obvious reasons.

You just need a 2G/3G toggle. Tasker would be a good solution, or perhaps Xposed framework with Gravitybox custom quick tiles.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to korockinout13 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd January 2014, 08:58 PM   |  #3  
Scythe's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Gaziantep
Thanks Meter: 5
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by korockinout13

That makes no sense... 2G is mobile data too. You can't use 2G data if mobile data is turned off, for obvious reasons.

You just need a 2G/3G toggle. Tasker would be a good solution, or perhaps Xposed framework with Gravitybox custom quick tiles.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

I mean in mobile settings preferred mode should be always 2G for talking but when I switch data enable it should automatically select preferred mode 3G. So when I'm not using internet 2G should be selected what when I choose to use mobile data it should automatically select 3G (I happen to believe when 3g network is selected -even without data- consumes more battery and try to search for 3G signals which has no benefit for talking.)
Btw I tried to use tasker but android is not giving me permission to toggle 2g/3g network. shame I'm rooted, is there any way to get permissions for toggleing between 2G/3G without getting a shortcut to settings page(every toggler just giving a short cut and in Tasker 2G/3G toogle is unselectable and red)
4th January 2014, 01:39 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag Ipswich
Thanks Meter: 0
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Give Intelli3G a try http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2580234 works for me and has been the best battery saving method I've found.
4th January 2014, 09:39 PM   |  #5  
Scythe's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Gaziantep
Thanks Meter: 5
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
I guess I need to modify system files on developer level which I do not dare, but I like gravitybox but now I miss ART anyway thank you both I guess I will stick with gravitybox
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes