5,596,700 Members 46,837 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] 3G is switched on only when mobile data is on

Tip us?
 
Scythe
Old
#1  
Scythe's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 55
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Gaziantep
Default [Q] 3G is switched on only when mobile data is on

Okay as written on topic header I want to achive battery gain by automatically turn on 3G only when mobile data is switched on otherwise 2G should be active(so 3G and mobile data can be switched only by turning on mobile data). I tried to find some apps from playstore but there are only mobile data switcher and 2G-3G toggles(which only directs you to settings page). I can try tasker but I'm not very sure about it because it is also a background service so maybe it will consume more battery. What I'm trying to say is there any way to modify kernel or system apps so this task can be achived ?
 
korockinout13
Old
#2  
korockinout13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 519
Posts: 1,989
Join Date: Oct 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
That makes no sense... 2G is mobile data too. You can't use 2G data if mobile data is turned off, for obvious reasons.

You just need a 2G/3G toggle. Tasker would be a good solution, or perhaps Xposed framework with Gravitybox custom quick tiles.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Nexus 5 16GB on T-Mobile LTE: CM 11 + hells-core + TWRP || Nexus 7 2012 32GB: Stock 4.4 + Xposed + franco + TWRP
Nexus 4 (cracked )|AT&T Samsung Galaxy SII i777 (sold)|AT&T Samsung Galaxy S Captivate i897 (sold)

All in One Guide for Samsung i897 Captivate, i9000 Galaxy S
Get extra space on Copy or Dropbox with a new account!
The Following User Says Thank You to korockinout13 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Scythe
Old
#3  
Scythe's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 55
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Gaziantep
Quote:
Originally Posted by korockinout13 View Post
That makes no sense... 2G is mobile data too. You can't use 2G data if mobile data is turned off, for obvious reasons.

You just need a 2G/3G toggle. Tasker would be a good solution, or perhaps Xposed framework with Gravitybox custom quick tiles.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
I mean in mobile settings preferred mode should be always 2G for talking but when I switch data enable it should automatically select preferred mode 3G. So when I'm not using internet 2G should be selected what when I choose to use mobile data it should automatically select 3G (I happen to believe when 3g network is selected -even without data- consumes more battery and try to search for 3G signals which has no benefit for talking.)
Btw I tried to use tasker but android is not giving me permission to toggle 2g/3g network. shame I'm rooted, is there any way to get permissions for toggleing between 2G/3G without getting a shortcut to settings page(every toggler just giving a short cut and in Tasker 2G/3G toogle is unselectable and red)
 
Luggworm
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ipswich
Give Intelli3G a try http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2580234 works for me and has been the best battery saving method I've found.
Google Nexus4 16 GB
Stock

Previously
HTC Desire
CWM 2.5.0.8
Leedroid 3.082 A2SD
 
Scythe
Old
#5  
Scythe's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 55
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Gaziantep
I guess I need to modify system files on developer level which I do not dare, but I like gravitybox but now I miss ART anyway thank you both I guess I will stick with gravitybox
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes