Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,906 Members 42,460 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

I think it's a bootloop

Tip us?
 
szajbuz
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default I think it's a bootloop

I wanted to do factory reset on my rooted nexus 4 , using CWM. It didn;t work (all files stayed) so I went to advanced and formated everything that was there. Now my phone doesn't start (the screen with "google" is on.

I can go to recovery or fastboot but in fastboot adb or anything can't see my device.

Is there anything I can do?
 
jd1639
Old
#2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,367
Posts: 9,870
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Yes, you wiped your os. Either adb push a rom zip onto your sdcard and flash in recovery or adb sideload a rom zip in recovery

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
 
szajbuz
Old
(Last edited by szajbuz; 27th June 2014 at 10:16 AM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Nov 2013
Should I sideload zip or tgz?
I tried zip, it says: installation aborted.
I tried tgz, it says e: can't open /tmp/update.zip (bad)

I also tried pushing, but installation aborted as well
 
dk0108
Old
(Last edited by dk0108; 27th June 2014 at 11:10 AM.)
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 56
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bangalore
If you're trying to get back to stock then flash individual partitions using fastboot.
This guide should help you out .
http://forum.xda-developers.com/nexu...image-t2010312

If you want to flash a custom ROM follow the steps in the previous post.
The Following User Says Thank You to dk0108 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
szajbuz
Old
(Last edited by szajbuz; 27th June 2014 at 04:23 PM.)
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Nov 2013
Doesn't work, like I said, adb can't see my nexus in bootloader.

Before I started doing anything I'd made a backup. Maybe I can restore it now somehow?

EDIT: @up, it worked, tkanks a lot
 
jd1639
Old
#6  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,367
Posts: 9,870
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by szajbuz View Post
Doesn't work, like I said, adb can't see my nexus in bootloader.

Before I started doing anything I'd made a backup. Maybe I can restore it now somehow?

added: wait, smoething is happening
If your in the boot loader you need to use fastboot devices, not adb devices

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
szajbuz
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Nov 2013
@up

yeah but I realized that after my previous post
 
jeanpir60
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 30
Join Date: Dec 2013
If you are on bootloader you van use nexus foot toolkit for flash stock with bricked option

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes