[Q] Broke Screen, Want to Backup files

Tip us?

loolnicetry
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Default [Q] Broke Screen, Want to Backup files

Hi,

So today the front of my Nexus 4 cracked and rendered it completely dysfunctional. The worst part is that there's a screen lock, making it impossible for me to access through Android File Transfer. I was reading that you could use adb and screencast to access the phone and to unlock it, allowing for me to retrieve files. But after installing and running commands, it seemed like I couldn't find a device when I inputted the command 'adb devices'. I know, I searched it up and I think the reason is that usb debugging was not enabled (I don't remember if I did or didn't enable it at all). I've read past threads which explain how to enable it even with a cracked screen but I'm just too confused on how to do it. All this SDK and AVD stuff confuses the heck out of me (I'm fairly new to the whole Android notion) so I practically have the IQ of a 5 year old. My phone is rooted (In which it did wipe the memory so that may be why debugging could be off) and I'm currently flashing Cyanogenmod. Could someone please explain to me how do I enable debugging with a dysfunctional screen like I'm 5? Also, if there were an easier alternative to retrieving/backing up my files that would be nice knowing too because all of this stuff is currently doing my head in.

Thanks!

xjcook
Old
Thanks Meter 534
You can try to access adb from recovery too.
Turn off phone and start by holding VOL-DOWN and POWER together. You will boot into BOOTLOADER mode and there switch to RECOVERY MODE by VOLUME button (2 times press is this mode). If you have installed CyanogenMOD, then you have probably advanced recovery (CWM or TWRP). Now try command "adb devices".
If you haven't CWM or TWRP recovery installed, boot again into BOOTLOADER mode and flash recovery by fastboot.

loolnicetry
Old
(Last edited by loolnicetry; 21st November 2013 at 08:30 PM.)