5,599,478 Members 39,391 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Change network provider name

Tip us?
 
maritimesbob
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 435
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lancashire
Default [Q] Change network provider name

Hello

I have KitKat 4.4.2 factory rom installed on my phone, it's rooted etc. I also have Xposed and Gravity installed.

Does anyone know an easy way to change the network provider name that displays on the lock screen, pull down notification etc? Gravity does not have this feature I do not believe.

I also am considering using the Purity rom, and would prefer not to use Xposed/Gravity on this just in case it cause instability. I don't think Purity has this option either.

Thank you.
Bob

LG Nexus 4:: KitKat 4.4.2 stock factory rom, Xposed/Gravity Box
Samsung Tab 2 10.1:: CM10.1 official build rom
HTC One X +:: Insertcoin 4.1 Sense 5 rom (now retired from service!)
 
meZQureshi
Old
#2  
meZQureshi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 151
Join Date: Jan 2012
Yes. Xposed causes system to slow down a bit. But you can change provider's name using "Xblast" module. Purity lacks this feature!
 
bladebuddy
Old
#3  
bladebuddy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 212
Join Date: Dec 2011
Check out the theme sections. I am sure I stumbled across something there that does what you asked.

Phone : Nexus 4 /Rom : cataclysm / Kernel : Stock.
 
maritimesbob
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 435
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lancashire
I asked the dev of GravityBox and he'll be adding this feature in the next release
Bob

LG Nexus 4:: KitKat 4.4.2 stock factory rom, Xposed/Gravity Box
Samsung Tab 2 10.1:: CM10.1 official build rom
HTC One X +:: Insertcoin 4.1 Sense 5 rom (now retired from service!)
 
bladebuddy
Old
#5  
bladebuddy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 212
Join Date: Dec 2011
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2596879
Found it.

Phone : Nexus 4 /Rom : cataclysm / Kernel : Stock.
 
maritimesbob
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 435
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lancashire
Quote:
Originally Posted by bladebuddy View Post
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2596879
Found it.

Phone : Nexus 4 /Rom : cataclysm / Kernel : Stock.
Thanks but that just adds the existing carrier label to the status bar? I was looking for something to change the carrier label text itself.
Bob

LG Nexus 4:: KitKat 4.4.2 stock factory rom, Xposed/Gravity Box
Samsung Tab 2 10.1:: CM10.1 official build rom
HTC One X +:: Insertcoin 4.1 Sense 5 rom (now retired from service!)
 
bladebuddy
Old
#7  
bladebuddy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 212
Join Date: Dec 2011
Should of read you're post better sorry.

Phone : Nexus 4 /Rom : cataclysm / Kernel : Stock.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

A More Competitive Spin on the Addictive 2048 Puzzle

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we talked about a rather interesting take on … more

Multiboot in Progress for the Sony Xperia Z1

As we’ve mentioned quite a few times in the past, multiboot is quite the interesting … more

Samsung EFS Tool Updated to V5, Brings Universal Device Support

You may recall that we’ve talked about XDA Recognized Contributor … more

Say Goodbye to Holo Blue Once and for All

When Google released Android 4.4 KitKat back in October of last year, they changed quite a bit … more