Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

cyanogenmod M6 All-F2FS

OP joefso

10th May 2014, 04:22 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Can anyone upload a modified M6 that supports all-f2fs? thanks!
10th May 2014, 04:51 AM   |  #2  
pancham7's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bengaluru
Thanks Meter: 23
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joefso

Can anyone upload a modified M6 that supports all-f2fs? thanks!

U can convert yourself easily using Nabendu's script
10th May 2014, 04:57 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by pancham7

U can convert yourself easily using Nabendu's script

no his script is not working for cyanogenmod
10th May 2014, 05:12 AM   |  #4  
Moon2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
688 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by joefso

Can anyone upload a modified M6 that supports all-f2fs? thanks!

As per the how-to from here

Change the following from the updater script
Code:
format("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system", "0", "/system"); mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system", "/system");
to:

Code:
run_program("/sbin/mkfs.f2fs", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system"); run_program("/sbin/busybox", "mount", "/system");
and then flash one of jolinard's kernel shown in his sig, maybe the modded ak kernel for example.

Provided you've already formatted data and all before and you were on a f2fs rom.
10th May 2014, 05:17 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moon2

As per the how-to from here

Change the following from the updater script

Code:
format("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system", "0", "/system"); mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system", "/system");
to:

Code:
run_program("/sbin/mkfs.f2fs", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system"); run_program("/sbin/busybox", "mount", "/system");
and then flash one of jolinard's kernel shown in his sig, maybe the modded ak kernel for example.

Provided you've already formatted data and all before and you were on a f2fs rom.

Hi yes, I tested that work arround and the boot.img provided in the thread by Konstantinos is not working ( untested ) . NABENDU1 updated his script but his patch is not working, also reported by other users
10th May 2014, 05:19 AM   |  #6  
Moon2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
688 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by joefso

Hi yes, I tested that work arround and the boot.img provided in the thread by Konstantinos is not working ( untested ) . NABENDU1 updated his script but his patch is not working, also reported by other users


No, do not use the boot.img, only change the updater script then install the kernel, skip out on the img file.

Tested on latest cm11 nightly with "AK.237.EXODUS.MAKO.CM-F2FS-auto.zip" kernel.

I just skimmed through it but I believe jolinard's kernel automatically updates the fstab in the boot.img depending on the system partition format. And with you changing the updater script to format to f2fs rather than ext4, the fstab will be changed for f2fs rather than ext4 when you flash the kernel straight after.

Also works on "Nexus 5 Experience - CM11 Based" rom
Last edited by Moon2; 10th May 2014 at 05:25 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Moon2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th May 2014, 06:32 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moon2

No, do not use the boot.img, only change the updater script then install the kernel, skip out on the img file.

Tested on latest cm11 nightly with "AK.237.EXODUS.MAKO.CM-F2FS-auto.zip" kernel.

I just skimmed through it but I believe jolinard's kernel automatically updates the fstab in the boot.img depending on the system partition format. And with you changing the updater script to format to f2fs rather than ext4, the fstab will be changed for f2fs rather than ext4 when you flash the kernel straight after.

Also works on "Nexus 5 Experience - CM11 Based" rom

Yes that works but /data getīs mounted as ext4 according to diskinfo (yes wiped data after flashking AK). I did this installation after I flashed stock, rooted etc.. . I tried this twice to make sure I did not make a mistake. If I go into TWRP and format data again the device gets stuck at the google logo
Last edited by joefso; 10th May 2014 at 06:34 AM.
10th May 2014, 11:25 AM   |  #8  
Moon2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
688 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by joefso

Yes that works but /data getīs mounted as ext4 according to diskinfo (yes wiped data after flashking AK). I did this installation after I flashed stock, rooted etc.. . I tried this twice to make sure I did not make a mistake. If I go into TWRP and format data again the device gets stuck at the google logo

Mounts as f2fs for me - see attachments. Did your twrp install have a red back button?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-05-10 09.21.15.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	107.2 KB
ID:	2735776   Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-05-10 09.26.51.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	107.3 KB
ID:	2735778  
Last edited by Moon2; 10th May 2014 at 11:29 AM.
10th May 2014, 11:31 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moon2

Mounts as f2fs for me - see attachments. Did your twrp install have a red back button?

Hmm, strange. Yes it does, going to try again
10th May 2014, 11:47 AM   |  #10  
Moon2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
688 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by joefso

Hmm, strange. Yes it does, going to try again

Install one of the working f2fs roms as normal and check diskinfo for system and data and upload the pics here then give me a few mins, I'm uploading a cm build.

Do it exactly as I say and don't make any changes to the method.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes