FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

cyanogenmod M6 All-F2FS

506 posts
Thanks Meter: 112
 
By joefso, Senior Member on 10th May 2014, 03:22 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Can anyone upload a modified M6 that supports all-f2fs? thanks!
 
 
10th May 2014, 03:51 AM |#2  
pancham7's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bengaluru
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joefso

Can anyone upload a modified M6 that supports all-f2fs? thanks!

U can convert yourself easily using Nabendu's script
10th May 2014, 03:57 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 112
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pancham7

U can convert yourself easily using Nabendu's script

no his script is not working for cyanogenmod
10th May 2014, 04:12 AM |#4  
Moon2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joefso

Can anyone upload a modified M6 that supports all-f2fs? thanks!

As per the how-to from here

Change the following from the updater script
Code:
format("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system", "0", "/system"); mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system", "/system");
to:

Code:
run_program("/sbin/mkfs.f2fs", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system"); run_program("/sbin/busybox", "mount", "/system");
and then flash one of jolinard's kernel shown in his sig, maybe the modded ak kernel for example.

Provided you've already formatted data and all before and you were on a f2fs rom.
10th May 2014, 04:17 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 112
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moon2

As per the how-to from here

Change the following from the updater script

Code:
format("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system", "0", "/system"); mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system", "/system");
to:

Code:
run_program("/sbin/mkfs.f2fs", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system"); run_program("/sbin/busybox", "mount", "/system");
and then flash one of jolinard's kernel shown in his sig, maybe the modded ak kernel for example.

Provided you've already formatted data and all before and you were on a f2fs rom.

Hi yes, I tested that work arround and the boot.img provided in the thread by Konstantinos is not working ( untested ) . NABENDU1 updated his script but his patch is not working, also reported by other users
10th May 2014, 04:19 AM |#6  
Moon2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joefso

Hi yes, I tested that work arround and the boot.img provided in the thread by Konstantinos is not working ( untested ) . NABENDU1 updated his script but his patch is not working, also reported by other users


No, do not use the boot.img, only change the updater script then install the kernel, skip out on the img file.

Tested on latest cm11 nightly with "AK.237.EXODUS.MAKO.CM-F2FS-auto.zip" kernel.

I just skimmed through it but I believe jolinard's kernel automatically updates the fstab in the boot.img depending on the system partition format. And with you changing the updater script to format to f2fs rather than ext4, the fstab will be changed for f2fs rather than ext4 when you flash the kernel straight after.

Also works on "Nexus 5 Experience - CM11 Based" rom
Last edited by Moon2; 10th May 2014 at 04:25 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Moon2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th May 2014, 05:32 AM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 112
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moon2

No, do not use the boot.img, only change the updater script then install the kernel, skip out on the img file.

Tested on latest cm11 nightly with "AK.237.EXODUS.MAKO.CM-F2FS-auto.zip" kernel.

I just skimmed through it but I believe jolinard's kernel automatically updates the fstab in the boot.img depending on the system partition format. And with you changing the updater script to format to f2fs rather than ext4, the fstab will be changed for f2fs rather than ext4 when you flash the kernel straight after.

Also works on "Nexus 5 Experience - CM11 Based" rom

Yes that works but /data getīs mounted as ext4 according to diskinfo (yes wiped data after flashking AK). I did this installation after I flashed stock, rooted etc.. . I tried this twice to make sure I did not make a mistake. If I go into TWRP and format data again the device gets stuck at the google logo
Last edited by joefso; 10th May 2014 at 05:34 AM.
10th May 2014, 10:25 AM |#8  
Moon2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joefso

Yes that works but /data getīs mounted as ext4 according to diskinfo (yes wiped data after flashking AK). I did this installation after I flashed stock, rooted etc.. . I tried this twice to make sure I did not make a mistake. If I go into TWRP and format data again the device gets stuck at the google logo

Mounts as f2fs for me - see attachments. Did your twrp install have a red back button?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-05-10 09.21.15.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	107.2 KB
ID:	2735776   Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-05-10 09.26.51.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	107.3 KB
ID:	2735778  
Last edited by Moon2; 10th May 2014 at 10:29 AM.
10th May 2014, 10:31 AM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 112
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moon2

Mounts as f2fs for me - see attachments. Did your twrp install have a red back button?

Hmm, strange. Yes it does, going to try again
10th May 2014, 10:47 AM |#10  
Moon2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joefso

Hmm, strange. Yes it does, going to try again

Install one of the working f2fs roms as normal and check diskinfo for system and data and upload the pics here then give me a few mins, I'm uploading a cm build.

Do it exactly as I say and don't make any changes to the method.
10th May 2014, 11:18 AM |#11  
Moon2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joefso

Hmm, strange. Yes it does, going to try again

First, make sure that your data is already f2fs using another rom - don't need to do this, but just in case you'll know if you've done something wrong first.

I've tested this again and again and it works fine - no fcs and definitely changes to f2fs. I've attached diskinfo details for /system and userdata partitions for a clean install.

Assuming you've already formatted data to f2fs and installed the required twrp as per here.

Do not restart until you've finished

1) Install cm build from here:
2) Install gapps - Optional ( leave any other zips you want to install for after you've verified this works)
3) Install attached ak kernel (It's the latest ak kernel modified by jolinard)
4) Restart

I've tried this a few times just to confirm for you and it definitely works, so if it doesn't recheck your steps from the start.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-10-11-02-23[1].jpg
Views:	58
Size:	106.3 KB
ID:	2735810   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-10-11-02-29[1].jpg
Views:	57
Size:	108.5 KB
ID:	2735815  
Attached Files
File Type: zip AK.237.EXODUS.MAKO.CM-F2FS-auto.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.17 MB, 137 views)
Last edited by Moon2; 10th May 2014 at 11:46 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Moon2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes