Post Reply
Question

[Q] Some doubts with Google RMA Nexus 4 - RED LED issue, Nexus 4 dead.

3rd January 2013, 06:13 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Santo Domingo
Thanks Meter: 7
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
First than nothing, sorry for my bad english.

My N4 got bricked, the problem seems to be the battery because when plug in to the AC charger the LED blinks red and nothing else happens, other members have the same problem.
There is few post about it
- http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2050811
- http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2011328
- http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2048066
- http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2077331

So after try everything my nexus 4 seems to be dead, I decide to RMA but I don't know some details, and maybe you can help me

First, what I think I have to do:
I live out of USA, so I shipped my N4 to my cousin, he was who bought the N4, when he get my N4 then he will do the steps that Google tell him.

My doubt is:


1 - My bootloader is unlocked when my N4 start with the issue, perhaps Google can not turn on the device and be aware of it because the phone is fried, so if they can not detect that the bootloader is unlocked my RMA is free? (Assuming you have the bootloader unlocked means forfeiting RMA)

2- If they detect that my bootloader is unlocked, they will ignore this? Google will send me a replacement device? Although i going to be charged again (Assuming that Google is left with the charge of money they make to your account which remain in hold)

3- The replacement device is now yours? Or is just four use while Google check the original device?

4- How long take the whole process ?


So, this is all my questions by the moment, thank you and sorry for bad english, I used a little bit of Google Traductor.
Last edited by D3m0x; 3rd January 2013 at 06:27 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to D3m0x For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd January 2013, 09:15 PM   |  #2  
pa.pn2's Avatar
Senior Member
Düsseldorf
Thanks Meter: 492
 
2,674 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by D3m0x

First than nothing, sorry for my bad english.

My N4 got bricked, the problem seems to be the battery because when plug in to the AC charger the LED blinks red and nothing else happens, other members have the same problem.
There is few post about it
- http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2050811
- http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2011328
- http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2048066
- http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2077331

So after try everything my nexus 4 seems to be dead, I decide to RMA but I don't know some details, and maybe you can help me

First, what I think I have to do:
I live out of USA, so I shipped my N4 to my cousin, he was who bought the N4, when he get my N4 then he will do the steps that Google tell him.

My doubt is:


1 - My bootloader is unlocked when my N4 start with the issue, perhaps Google can not turn on the device and be aware of it because the phone is fried, so if they can not detect that the bootloader is unlocked my RMA is free? (Assuming you have the bootloader unlocked means forfeiting RMA)

2- If they detect that my bootloader is unlocked, they will ignore this? Google will send me a replacement device? Although i going to be charged again (Assuming that Google is left with the charge of money they make to your account which remain in hold)

3- The replacement device is now yours? Or is just four use while Google check the original device?

4- How long take the whole process ?


So, this is all my questions by the moment, thank you and sorry for bad english, I used a little bit of Google Traductor.

1.you have to call google for an rma
2.in my case, the send me a new one, including an envelope and the freightpapers for the old one
3. they authorize 349 euro on your credit card, but they just authorize it,they dont take it
4.if you receive the new device, you have to send the old device back to them within 21 days, otherwise they will take the 349 euros from your credit card
5. pray that they cant turn it on and you are good to go and you dont have to pay for it
6. in betwen 14 days you can keep the new device, dont know how they handle it over 14 days sorry
hope i could clearify some things lol
4th January 2013, 12:03 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
I live in Germany, had similar problems and doing the rma rightnow, too.

The replacement nexus 4 that you will get is yours. Until they checked your first nexus 4, they block the money for your replacement.
If your warranty isn't valid or the defect isn't covered by the warranty they will charge you for the replacement device.

Let's hope they cannot turn our devices on to check for an open bootloader
4th January 2013, 03:14 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Flag Santo Domingo
Thanks Meter: 7
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pa.pn2

1.you have to call google for an rma
2.in my case, the send me a new one, including an envelope and the freightpapers for the old one
3. they authorize 349 euro on your credit card, but they just authorize it,they dont take it
4.if you receive the new device, you have to send the old device back to them within 21 days, otherwise they will take the 349 euros from your credit card
5. pray that they cant turn it on and you are good to go and you dont have to pay for it
6. in betwen 14 days you can keep the new device, dont know how they handle it over 14 days sorry
hope i could clearify some things lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qin-Root

I live in Germany, had similar problems and doing the rma rightnow, too.

The replacement nexus 4 that you will get is yours. Until they checked your first nexus 4, they block the money for your replacement.
If your warranty isn't valid or the defect isn't covered by the warranty they will charge you for the replacement device.

Let's hope they cannot turn our devices on to check for an open bootloader

Thank you guys! Really helped

Lesson learned: After root, ALWAYS block your bootloader
4th January 2013, 04:03 AM   |  #5  
miku3191's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag INDIA
Thanks Meter: 15
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by D3m0x

Thank you guys! Really helped

Lesson learned: After root, ALWAYS block your bootloader

Dont take a chance ! If you didn't send your device yet...

plug it into PC while holding ( VOL - )! JUST VOLUME DOWN ! no POWER KEY !

and when in fastboot mode, do :

Code:
fastboot oem lock
Dont take any chances ! ... They are super genuis ! I guess they can do anything to check the LOCK status !
4th January 2013, 04:40 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Flag Santo Domingo
Thanks Meter: 7
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by miku3191

Dont take a chance ! If you didn't send your device yet...

plug it into PC while holding ( VOL - )! JUST VOLUME DOWN ! no POWER KEY !

and when in fastboot mode, do :

Code:
fastboot oem lock
Dont take any chances ! ... They are super genuis ! I guess they can do anything to check the LOCK status !

Well bro, my phone its on the way to USA, but when my cousin get it, I'll tell that and lets see what happends...
8th January 2013, 03:38 PM   |  #7  
DaX05's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 310
 
1,268 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I had no issues on 1836. I was on it all late last night. It was until I opened that benchmark app that went haywire.
8th January 2013, 03:40 PM   |  #8  
CMNein's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 1,485
 
3,170 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Mentioned this in the other thread as well, but any idea what bin your CPU is?
10th January 2013, 12:43 PM   |  #9  
robs898's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Hey guys im in the same boat currently doing RMA. I have no red LED phone wont charge or turn on so hoping that Google cant either and Warranty holds.

No idea what bin I am im afraid. I have a hunch its fast or faster as I couldn't run matr1x v4.0 kernel and other people who also couldnt were fast bin (think it was due to the voltage tables).
12th January 2013, 04:41 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag muntinlupa city
Thanks Meter: 7
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
RED LED fixed :D
hey guys, i've read a lot of threads about this red led issue and having the only solution was to RMA it.
just remebered the time when i had a RED LED after replacing my framework.apk that i have found in one the forums, after replacing the framework.apk, my phone cant respond to anything (screen touches and even power and volume button was not working) and after a minute my phone turned off. and i cant get it to turn on so i was panicking a bit knowing that i cant RMA my phone cause i only had my phone from my mother in UK and i'm in philippines so i plug my phone on the wall then the LED flashes RED ......

to make the long story short i tried everything to revive my phone and wugfresh's toolkit saved it, after a couple things the toolkit manages to flash the stock rom on my phone i was relieved.

that was just my experience, hope it help you guys

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
bricked, light, nexus4, red
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes