FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

[Guide] Ultimate Nexus 4 Root Guide

2,382 posts
Thanks Meter: 5,853
 
By Jubakuba, Recognized Developer on 28th November 2012, 11:18 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
4th December 2012, 04:35 AM |#11  
Jubakuba's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Pueblo, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 5,853
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayluke

Can this guide include information on how to re-lock bootloader and unroot the device? Does this informaiton exist?

I need to RMA my phone due to dead pixels and I want to make sure I dont have any issues with the warranty.

Post 3.
fastboot oem lock
Locks the device.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jubakuba For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
5th December 2012, 04:05 AM |#12  
ymshulman's Avatar
Member
Flag Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
How long is the first boot, after unlocking the bootloader, supposed to take? Mine's sitting there for quite a while already. (I had a lot of stuff installed, but still, this is really long.)

EDIT: When rebooting the custom recovery, you have to say "yes" to the message it gives you, something about keeping some recovery. I had originally said no because I didn't flash it, I just booted it once.
Last edited by ymshulman; 5th December 2012 at 04:38 AM.
5th December 2012, 02:19 PM |#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
I just got my nexus yesterday, and this isnt the first phone that I have rooted.... however... my settings on the thing are extremely basic..

How do I enable usb debugging if I dont have the option in the settings?

Thanks

Chris

---------- Post added at 03:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:14 PM ----------

I just got my nexus yesterday, and this isnt the first phone that I have rooted.... however... my settings on the thing are extremely basic..

How do I enable usb debugging if I dont have the option in the settings?

Thanks

Chris

Edit: Got an app to enable it... still not in the menu though.
5th December 2012, 03:33 PM |#14  
Jubakuba's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Pueblo, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 5,853
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wizshaw

I just got my nexus yesterday, and this isnt the first phone that I have rooted.... however... my settings on the thing are extremely basic..

How do I enable usb debugging if I dont have the option in the settings?

Thanks

Chris

---------- Post added at 03:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:14 PM ----------

I just got my nexus yesterday, and this isnt the first phone that I have rooted.... however... my settings on the thing are extremely basic..

How do I enable usb debugging if I dont have the option in the settings?

Thanks

Chris

Edit: Got an app to enable it... still not in the menu though.

Oh geeze!
I forgot.
Settings>about>version number I think...
Click 7 times to enable developer options.
Will update op soon.
5th December 2012, 09:56 PM |#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quick question: is there a reason the first post links to SuperSU version 0.98, when version 0.99 is the most recent? If version 0.99 has known issues with the Nexus 4, I don't want to use it on my device.
5th December 2012, 10:22 PM |#16  
hankdu's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
The 0.99 version came out after this guide was posted. I was offered to upgrade to the new version of supersu from 0.98 and so far no problem at all.
9th December 2012, 08:50 PM |#17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Does this work on the latest version of JB (4.2.1)?
11th December 2012, 04:59 PM |#18  
Chochiwpg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 2,548
 
More
When installing a new ROM it says to perform a factory reset through CWM, which will remove all apps and data but should keep all your pictures, videos, songs etc.

It doesn't mention to wipe the System partition as well. Is this not necessary when flashing ROMs on a Nexus?

Prior to owning the N4 I had the Galaxy S 2 and it was always stated in the OP instructions to wipe data/factory reset, wipe system, clear cache, clear dalvik and then flash ROM and Gapps.

However, I don't notice in any guides or instructions for N4 ROMS to wipe the system partition, just the data partition. Is there a reason for this or is it not necessary to wipe the system partition? Thanks. Great guide by the way.

Peace
The Following User Says Thank You to Chochiwpg For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th December 2012, 07:48 AM |#19  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
thank u for ur effort
14th December 2012, 07:58 AM |#20  
Hatzy's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chochiwpg

When installing a new ROM it says to perform a factory reset through CWM, which will remove all apps and data but should keep all your pictures, videos, songs etc.

It doesn't mention to wipe the System partition as well. Is this not necessary when flashing ROMs on a Nexus?

Prior to owning the N4 I had the Galaxy S 2 and it was always stated in the OP instructions to wipe data/factory reset, wipe system, clear cache, clear dalvik and then flash ROM and Gapps.

However, I don't notice in any guides or instructions for N4 ROMS to wipe the system partition, just the data partition. Is there a reason for this or is it not necessary to wipe the system partition? Thanks. Great guide by the way.

Peace

I actually have a question along these lines.

I just came from a LG G2X so things were different for me whenever I flashed ROM's/kernels. For one thing, I had an external sd card so whenever CWM made it's backups, they went to that automatically and I didn't have to worry about wiping since everything was on the external. This phone doesn't have an external so where do the backups go? From the looks of the new CWM 6.0.2.0, the backups (and blobs now apparently) go to /data/media/clockworkmod. Well I guess my question here is if you have to wipe /data for installing new ROM's, how would I restore a backup because they would have been deleted off the /data partition. I tried adb pulling /data/media/clockworkmod to my computer but it won't go. Don't know if it's because that partition is mounted while the phone is in use or what. I tried the mount/umount command that OP listed but it won't work for me. Don't want to flash ANYTHING on this phone until I know for a fact I can get to the backups that I'm creating.
14th December 2012, 11:56 AM |#21  
Jubakuba's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Pueblo, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 5,853
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chochiwpg

When installing a new ROM it says to perform a factory reset through CWM, which will remove all apps and data but should keep all your pictures, videos, songs etc.

It doesn't mention to wipe the System partition as well. Is this not necessary when flashing ROMs on a Nexus?

Prior to owning the N4 I had the Galaxy S 2 and it was always stated in the OP instructions to wipe data/factory reset, wipe system, clear cache, clear dalvik and then flash ROM and Gapps.

However, I don't notice in any guides or instructions for N4 ROMS to wipe the system partition, just the data partition. Is there a reason for this or is it not necessary to wipe the system partition? Thanks. Great guide by the way.

Peace

There never is a reason to wipe system.
Any ROM.zip has a script to wipe system before installing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatzy

I actually have a question along these lines.

I just came from a LG G2X so things were different for me whenever I flashed ROM's/kernels. For one thing, I had an external sd card so whenever CWM made it's backups, they went to that automatically and I didn't have to worry about wiping since everything was on the external. This phone doesn't have an external so where do the backups go? From the looks of the new CWM 6.0.2.0, the backups (and blobs now apparently) go to /data/media/clockworkmod. Well I guess my question here is if you have to wipe /data for installing new ROM's, how would I restore a backup because they would have been deleted off the /data partition. I tried adb pulling /data/media/clockworkmod to my computer but it won't go. Don't know if it's because that partition is mounted while the phone is in use or what. I tried the mount/umount command that OP listed but it won't work for me. Don't want to flash ANYTHING on this phone until I know for a fact I can get to the backups that I'm creating.

With the STOCK recovery...
The entire /data/ partition is wiped.
With ANY custom recovery.../data/ is wiped but /data/media/ is retained.
Not sure what the issue pulling clockworkmod would be...
I don't actually own this phone...
But try adb pull /data/media/0/clockworkmod /clockworkmod/ to see if that gets it.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Jubakuba For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes