Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Guide] Ultimate Nexus 4 Root Guide

OP Jubakuba

4th December 2012, 05:35 AM   |  #11  
Jubakuba's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Pueblo, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 5,723
 
2,376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayluke

Can this guide include information on how to re-lock bootloader and unroot the device? Does this informaiton exist?

I need to RMA my phone due to dead pixels and I want to make sure I dont have any issues with the warranty.

Post 3.
fastboot oem lock
Locks the device.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jubakuba For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th December 2012, 05:05 AM   |  #12  
ymshulman's Avatar
Member
Flag Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 1
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
How long is the first boot, after unlocking the bootloader, supposed to take? Mine's sitting there for quite a while already. (I had a lot of stuff installed, but still, this is really long.)

EDIT: When rebooting the custom recovery, you have to say "yes" to the message it gives you, something about keeping some recovery. I had originally said no because I didn't flash it, I just booted it once.
Last edited by ymshulman; 5th December 2012 at 05:38 AM.
5th December 2012, 03:19 PM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
I just got my nexus yesterday, and this isnt the first phone that I have rooted.... however... my settings on the thing are extremely basic..

How do I enable usb debugging if I dont have the option in the settings?

Thanks

Chris

---------- Post added at 03:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:14 PM ----------

I just got my nexus yesterday, and this isnt the first phone that I have rooted.... however... my settings on the thing are extremely basic..

How do I enable usb debugging if I dont have the option in the settings?

Thanks

Chris

Edit: Got an app to enable it... still not in the menu though.
5th December 2012, 04:33 PM   |  #14  
Jubakuba's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Pueblo, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 5,723
 
2,376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wizshaw

I just got my nexus yesterday, and this isnt the first phone that I have rooted.... however... my settings on the thing are extremely basic..

How do I enable usb debugging if I dont have the option in the settings?

Thanks

Chris

---------- Post added at 03:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:14 PM ----------

I just got my nexus yesterday, and this isnt the first phone that I have rooted.... however... my settings on the thing are extremely basic..

How do I enable usb debugging if I dont have the option in the settings?

Thanks

Chris

Edit: Got an app to enable it... still not in the menu though.

Oh geeze!
I forgot.
Settings>about>version number I think...
Click 7 times to enable developer options.
Will update op soon.
5th December 2012, 10:56 PM   |  #15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
Quick question: is there a reason the first post links to SuperSU version 0.98, when version 0.99 is the most recent? If version 0.99 has known issues with the Nexus 4, I don't want to use it on my device.
5th December 2012, 11:22 PM   |  #16  
hankdu's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
The 0.99 version came out after this guide was posted. I was offered to upgrade to the new version of supersu from 0.98 and so far no problem at all.
9th December 2012, 09:50 PM   |  #17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Does this work on the latest version of JB (4.2.1)?
11th December 2012, 05:59 PM   |  #18  
Chochiwpg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 2,319
 
4,354 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
When installing a new ROM it says to perform a factory reset through CWM, which will remove all apps and data but should keep all your pictures, videos, songs etc.

It doesn't mention to wipe the System partition as well. Is this not necessary when flashing ROMs on a Nexus?

Prior to owning the N4 I had the Galaxy S 2 and it was always stated in the OP instructions to wipe data/factory reset, wipe system, clear cache, clear dalvik and then flash ROM and Gapps.

However, I don't notice in any guides or instructions for N4 ROMS to wipe the system partition, just the data partition. Is there a reason for this or is it not necessary to wipe the system partition? Thanks. Great guide by the way.

Peace
The Following User Says Thank You to Chochiwpg For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th December 2012, 08:48 AM   |  #19  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
thank u for ur effort
14th December 2012, 08:58 AM   |  #20  
Hatzy's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 5
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chochiwpg

When installing a new ROM it says to perform a factory reset through CWM, which will remove all apps and data but should keep all your pictures, videos, songs etc.

It doesn't mention to wipe the System partition as well. Is this not necessary when flashing ROMs on a Nexus?

Prior to owning the N4 I had the Galaxy S 2 and it was always stated in the OP instructions to wipe data/factory reset, wipe system, clear cache, clear dalvik and then flash ROM and Gapps.

However, I don't notice in any guides or instructions for N4 ROMS to wipe the system partition, just the data partition. Is there a reason for this or is it not necessary to wipe the system partition? Thanks. Great guide by the way.

Peace

I actually have a question along these lines.

I just came from a LG G2X so things were different for me whenever I flashed ROM's/kernels. For one thing, I had an external sd card so whenever CWM made it's backups, they went to that automatically and I didn't have to worry about wiping since everything was on the external. This phone doesn't have an external so where do the backups go? From the looks of the new CWM 6.0.2.0, the backups (and blobs now apparently) go to /data/media/clockworkmod. Well I guess my question here is if you have to wipe /data for installing new ROM's, how would I restore a backup because they would have been deleted off the /data partition. I tried adb pulling /data/media/clockworkmod to my computer but it won't go. Don't know if it's because that partition is mounted while the phone is in use or what. I tried the mount/umount command that OP listed but it won't work for me. Don't want to flash ANYTHING on this phone until I know for a fact I can get to the backups that I'm creating.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes