5,600,483 Members 32,914 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Guide] Ultimate Nexus 4 Root Guide

Tip us?
 
Jubakuba
Old
#11  
Jubakuba's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3325
Posts: 2,051
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pueblo, Colorado

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayluke View Post
Can this guide include information on how to re-lock bootloader and unroot the device? Does this informaiton exist?

I need to RMA my phone due to dead pixels and I want to make sure I dont have any issues with the warranty.
Post 3.
fastboot oem lock
Locks the device.
The Following User Says Thank You to Jubakuba For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ymshulman
Old
(Last edited by ymshulman; 5th December 2012 at 04:38 AM.)
#12  
ymshulman's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 97
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
How long is the first boot, after unlocking the bootloader, supposed to take? Mine's sitting there for quite a while already. (I had a lot of stuff installed, but still, this is really long.)

EDIT: When rebooting the custom recovery, you have to say "yes" to the message it gives you, something about keeping some recovery. I had originally said no because I didn't flash it, I just booted it once.
 
wizshaw
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 168
Join Date: Dec 2011
I just got my nexus yesterday, and this isnt the first phone that I have rooted.... however... my settings on the thing are extremely basic..

How do I enable usb debugging if I dont have the option in the settings?

Thanks

Chris

---------- Post added at 03:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:14 PM ----------

I just got my nexus yesterday, and this isnt the first phone that I have rooted.... however... my settings on the thing are extremely basic..

How do I enable usb debugging if I dont have the option in the settings?

Thanks

Chris

Edit: Got an app to enable it... still not in the menu though.
 
Jubakuba
Old
#14  
Jubakuba's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3325
Posts: 2,051
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pueblo, Colorado

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by wizshaw View Post
I just got my nexus yesterday, and this isnt the first phone that I have rooted.... however... my settings on the thing are extremely basic..

How do I enable usb debugging if I dont have the option in the settings?

Thanks

Chris

---------- Post added at 03:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:14 PM ----------

I just got my nexus yesterday, and this isnt the first phone that I have rooted.... however... my settings on the thing are extremely basic..

How do I enable usb debugging if I dont have the option in the settings?

Thanks

Chris

Edit: Got an app to enable it... still not in the menu though.
Oh geeze!
I forgot.
Settings>about>version number I think...
Click 7 times to enable developer options.
Will update op soon.
 
rwald
Old
#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quick question: is there a reason the first post links to SuperSU version 0.98, when version 0.99 is the most recent? If version 0.99 has known issues with the Nexus 4, I don't want to use it on my device.
 
hankdu
Old
#16  
hankdu's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 46
Join Date: Nov 2012
The 0.99 version came out after this guide was posted. I was offered to upgrade to the new version of supersu from 0.98 and so far no problem at all.
 
sambao21
Old
#17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Nov 2012
Does this work on the latest version of JB (4.2.1)?
 
Chochiwpg
Old
#18  
Chochiwpg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1970
Posts: 4,134
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Winnipeg
When installing a new ROM it says to perform a factory reset through CWM, which will remove all apps and data but should keep all your pictures, videos, songs etc.

It doesn't mention to wipe the System partition as well. Is this not necessary when flashing ROMs on a Nexus?

Prior to owning the N4 I had the Galaxy S 2 and it was always stated in the OP instructions to wipe data/factory reset, wipe system, clear cache, clear dalvik and then flash ROM and Gapps.

However, I don't notice in any guides or instructions for N4 ROMS to wipe the system partition, just the data partition. Is there a reason for this or is it not necessary to wipe the system partition? Thanks. Great guide by the way.

Peace
You Are Either Nexus Or Against Us

My Android File Host Profile
http://www.androidfilehost.com/profi...17610006234125
 
mavrick1591
Old
#19  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 41
Join Date: May 2012
thank u for ur effort
 
Hatzy
Old
#20  
Hatzy's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 27
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Minnesota
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chochiwpg View Post
When installing a new ROM it says to perform a factory reset through CWM, which will remove all apps and data but should keep all your pictures, videos, songs etc.

It doesn't mention to wipe the System partition as well. Is this not necessary when flashing ROMs on a Nexus?

Prior to owning the N4 I had the Galaxy S 2 and it was always stated in the OP instructions to wipe data/factory reset, wipe system, clear cache, clear dalvik and then flash ROM and Gapps.

However, I don't notice in any guides or instructions for N4 ROMS to wipe the system partition, just the data partition. Is there a reason for this or is it not necessary to wipe the system partition? Thanks. Great guide by the way.

Peace
I actually have a question along these lines.

I just came from a LG G2X so things were different for me whenever I flashed ROM's/kernels. For one thing, I had an external sd card so whenever CWM made it's backups, they went to that automatically and I didn't have to worry about wiping since everything was on the external. This phone doesn't have an external so where do the backups go? From the looks of the new CWM 6.0.2.0, the backups (and blobs now apparently) go to /data/media/clockworkmod. Well I guess my question here is if you have to wipe /data for installing new ROM's, how would I restore a backup because they would have been deleted off the /data partition. I tried adb pulling /data/media/clockworkmod to my computer but it won't go. Don't know if it's because that partition is mounted while the phone is in use or what. I tried the mount/umount command that OP listed but it won't work for me. Don't want to flash ANYTHING on this phone until I know for a fact I can get to the backups that I'm creating.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes