Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Only getting 1.5mb internet speeds on 12mb

OP foxguard

16th December 2013, 08:14 AM   |  #1  
foxguard's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Suffolk
Thanks Meter: 8
 
234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Hi,

This is an odd one.
I get 12mb download speeds on my home wifi if i do a test from my laptop or girlfriends iphone. If I do the test on my Nexus i only get about 1.5mb.
If I reboot the router (Draytek) I get the full 12mb again for a few hours then it drops right back down to 1.5mb.
Now I know you are all thinking straight away its the router but I have recently changed this from a Linksy router to the draytek and had the same problem with that one, so it would appear it is my Nexus.

I am running PA with the latest Kernal for it.

Any ideas or help?
16th December 2013, 10:44 AM   |  #2  
sidnoit22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gwalior
Thanks Meter: 679
 
1,777 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxguard

Hi,

This is an odd one.
I get 12mb download speeds on my home wifi if i do a test from my laptop or girlfriends iphone. If I do the test on my Nexus i only get about 1.5mb.
If I reboot the router (Draytek) I get the full 12mb again for a few hours then it drops right back down to 1.5mb.
Now I know you are all thinking straight away its the router but I have recently changed this from a Linksy router to the draytek and had the same problem with that one, so it would appear it is my Nexus.

I am running PA with the latest Kernal for it.

Any ideas or help?

Try changing your Radio. Which Radio you are on? Latest is .98
The Following User Says Thank You to sidnoit22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th December 2013, 07:53 PM   |  #3  
foxguard's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Suffolk
Thanks Meter: 8
 
234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sidnoit22

Try changing your Radio. Which Radio you are on? Latest is .98

Thanks for the reply mate. Im new to this, how do I tell which Radio is installed and how do I update it if needs be?
16th December 2013, 07:57 PM   |  #4  
taodan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 219
 
933 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxguard

Thanks for the reply mate. Im new to this, how do I tell which Radio is installed and how do I update it if needs be?

In "About Phone" look for baseband (a.k.a. radio) version. But be careful, if you are using Jelly Bean ROM, your radio should be 0.84. If KitKat ROM, then the radio should be .97 or .98. Don't flash 97 or 98 on Jelly Bean ROM !!!
Last edited by taodan; 16th December 2013 at 07:59 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to taodan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th December 2013, 08:23 PM   |  #5  
foxguard's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Suffolk
Thanks Meter: 8
 
234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by taodan

In "About Phone" look for baseband (a.k.a. radio) version. But be careful, if you are using Jelly Bean ROM, your radio should be 0.84. If KitKat ROM, then the radio should be .97 or .98. Don't flash 97 or 98 on Jelly Bean ROM !!!


Thanks for that,
im on PA which is still Jelly Bean isn't it?
But the radio is 0/84, is that what it should be?
16th December 2013, 08:29 PM   |  #6  
taodan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 219
 
933 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxguard

Thanks for that,
im on PA which is still Jelly Bean isn't it?
But the radio is 0/84, is that what it should be?

In "About Phone" look for "Android Version" if it's below 4.4 then you are on Jelly Bean (e.g., 4.3 or 4.2). I don't use PA ROM so I don't know which version currently for PA.
The Following User Says Thank You to taodan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th December 2013, 08:31 PM   |  #7  
foxguard's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Suffolk
Thanks Meter: 8
 
234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by taodan

In "About Phone" look for "Android Version" if it's below 4.4 then you are on Jelly Bean (e.g., 4.3 or 4.2). I don't use PA ROM so I don't know which version currently for PA.

4.3 is the one im on. Cheers

So any ideas on how to fix it?
16th December 2013, 08:36 PM   |  #8  
taodan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 219
 
933 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxguard

4.3 is the one im on. Cheers

So any ideas on how to fix it?

Have you tried to wipe cache and dalvik cache in recovery? Also did you test your phone in different area because it depends on where you are compared to the cell signal tower.
16th December 2013, 08:43 PM   |  #9  
foxguard's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Suffolk
Thanks Meter: 8
 
234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by taodan

Have you tried to wipe cache and dalvik cache in recovery? Also did you test your phone in different area because it depends on where you are compared to the cell signal tower.

Have now done this and will see what happens )

Not sure I understand the second part though as im talking about my home wifi and not my 3g coverage.
16th December 2013, 09:27 PM   |  #10  
taodan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 219
 
933 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxguard

Have now done this and will see what happens )

Not sure I understand the second part though as im talking about my home wifi and not my 3g coverage.

I found this information on Google's support forum:

I can hereby confirm that flashing back the radio from M9615A-CEFWMAZM-2.0.1700.84 (default for 4.3) to M9615A-CEFWMAZM-2.0.1700.48 (default for 4.2.2), whilst keeping the rest of 4.3, did NOT fix the wifi speed and connectivity problems on my phone.


I then proceeded to downgrade completely to 4.2.2 using the Google-supplied factory images, and I'm now getting 44 Mbit/s down and 5 Mbit/s up via 802.11n, where on 4.3 with either of the two radios, I couldn't even reliably finish the test (it would stop halfway, with the download speed estimated at 7 Mbit/s). Besides that, I've now been able to update tons of apps from Play, where with 4.3 this was not possible with either of the radios.


Just in case someone finds this, the version of Android on this Nexus 4 causing endless wifi problems is:
* Android 4.3
* baseband M9615A-CEFWMAZM-2.0.1700.84
* kernel 3.4.0-perf-gf43c3d9, 2013-06-17
* build number JWR66V


The version working well is:
* Android 4.2.2
* baseband M9615A-CEFWMAZM-2.0.1700.48
* kernel 3.4.0-perf-g7ce11cd, 2013-01-29
* build number JDQ39

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes