Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Help, Phone just bricked itself.

OP CptanPanic

2nd July 2014, 06:45 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
I was using phone normally, and installed an app from app store, and tried to run it, and force closed, and then google play force closed. So I decide to reboot phone, and it just gets stuck at boot screen. I let it wait for like 10mins then I turn off and boot into recovery, where I get errors that can't find /cache and /data. Anyway I can recover without losing my /data like rebuild partitions? Any idea what happened? I am using CM11 M7, and don't have it overclocked or anything.

Thanks,
CP
2nd July 2014, 08:06 PM   |  #2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,784
 
10,832 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
What app was it. Did you make a nandroid recently? Can you boot into recovery?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
2nd July 2014, 08:14 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Factory reset should fix it, as for recovering data it's gonna be difficult if the phone can't mount the partitions. If you have unlocked bootloader you could possibly use adb shell to dd the partition and then try to recover data from that, but without external memory I can't think how you'd do it.
Last edited by DrFredPhD; 2nd July 2014 at 08:16 PM.
2nd July 2014, 08:57 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

What app was it. Did you make a nandroid recently? Can you boot into recovery?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

The app was just a clock app from store, nothing exciting. And no I hadn't run a nandroid recently, but woudn't have helped anyway, since /sdcard is missing also which is where CWM stores backups, though I can get into recovery.
2nd July 2014, 11:12 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
I'm home now and got onto adb, and see these errors:

Quote:

mmcblk0: timed out sending r/w cmd command, card status 0x400940

Anyway to rebuild phone?
3rd July 2014, 12:17 AM   |  #6  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,784
 
10,832 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by CptanPanic

I'm home now and got onto adb, and see these errors:



Anyway to rebuild phone?

Sounds like you should flash the factory image in fastboot.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
3rd July 2014, 02:24 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Sounds like you should flash the factory image in fastboot.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

So I tried that now, but I get
Code:
sending 'bootloader' (2203 KB)...
OKAY [  0.077s]
writing 'bootloader'...
FAILED (remote: flash write failure)
finished. total time: 0.079s
rebooting into bootloader...
OKAY [  0.001s]
finished. total time: 0.001s
sending 'radio' (45537 KB)...
OKAY [  1.461s]
writing 'radio'...
FAILED (remote: flash write failure)
finished. total time: 1.465s
rebooting into bootloader...
OKAY [  0.001s]
finished. total time: 0.001s
archive does not contain 'boot.sig'
archive does not contain 'recovery.sig'
archive does not contain 'system.sig'
--------------------------------------------
Bootloader Version...: MAKOZ30d
Baseband Version.....: M9615A-CEFWMAZM-2.0.1700.98
Serial Number........: 0038cfc45846559d
--------------------------------------------
checking product...
OKAY [  0.002s]
checking version-bootloader...
OKAY [  0.002s]
checking version-baseband...
FAILED
3rd July 2014, 02:30 AM   |  #8  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,784
 
10,832 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by CptanPanic

So I tried that now, but I get

Code:
sending 'bootloader' (2203 KB)...
OKAY [  0.077s]
writing 'bootloader'...
FAILED (remote: flash write failure)
finished. total time: 0.079s
rebooting into bootloader...
OKAY [  0.001s]
finished. total time: 0.001s
sending 'radio' (45537 KB)...
OKAY [  1.461s]
writing 'radio'...
FAILED (remote: flash write failure)
finished. total time: 1.465s
rebooting into bootloader...
OKAY [  0.001s]
finished. total time: 0.001s
archive does not contain 'boot.sig'
archive does not contain 'recovery.sig'
archive does not contain 'system.sig'
--------------------------------------------
Bootloader Version...: MAKOZ30d
Baseband Version.....: M9615A-CEFWMAZM-2.0.1700.98
Serial Number........: 0038cfc45846559d
--------------------------------------------
checking product...
OKAY [  0.002s]
checking version-bootloader...
OKAY [  0.002s]
checking version-baseband...
FAILED

Not good. I think you're emmc had failed. What happens if you try to lock the bootloader and then reboot. Is it still locked?

fastboot oem lock

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
3rd July 2014, 03:26 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Not good. I think you're emmc had failed. What happens if you try to lock the bootloader and then reboot. Is it still locked?

fastboot oem lock

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

So I lock bootloader, and reboot and it is unlocked again.
3rd July 2014, 03:29 AM   |  #10  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,784
 
10,832 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by CptanPanic

So I lock bootloader, and reboot and it is unlocked again.

You can try just flashing the cache.img but I think you're going to have to rma it

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes