FORUMS

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Help! Phone bricked itself trying to update. Factory Reset isn't helping!

6th July 2014, 08:17 PM |#31  
CCody's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 108
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Even_Flow

Have a N4. I've made all I could. Recovery, Fastboot, CWM, Wipes... I've flashed several Stock and Cyano Roms and, with all versions from 4.3, the phone stucks in Google logo.

It works fine with any version based in 4.2.

At the end, I've discovered something: If you install a 4.3 and flash the 4.2.2. radio, it works!. However, I've tried it lost the wifi signal sometimes (I think its normal with a different radio version). So All seems to show that the problem is located o the radio's Software.

Note: If you flash a 4.4, it doesn't matter that you flash the radio. Stucks.

Think we have a big problem here, guys...

This is what I assume for some days. There must be a very big issue with 4.4.4. I do not know how to solve this problem either, but do know a lot of leople who have this problem with 4.4.4...
 
 
6th July 2014, 08:57 PM |#32  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCody

This is what I assume for some days. There must be a very big issue with 4.4.4. I do not know how to solve this problem either, but do know a lot of leople who have this problem with 4.4.4...

And I don't have Google warranty yet. Does it mean I'm f***d?.

Okay. It's supposed that Nexus is the most stable, pure and functional Android phone (In fact IT'S A GOOGLE PHONE). If this error is so usual (and it starts to be recognised by several users), Is this the image Android wants to have?.

Sincerely. I cannot imagine something like this in an IOS or WP phone... And I've had Iphones, Lumias and some Android ones.

Terrifyng.
6th July 2014, 09:06 PM |#33  
CCody's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 108
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Even_Flow

And I don't have Google warranty yet. Does it mean I'm f***d?.

Okay. It's supposed that Nexus is the most stable, pure and functional Android phone (In fact IT'S A GOOGLE PHONE). If this error is so usual (and it starts to be recognised by several users), Is this the image Android wants to have?.

Sincerely. I cannot imagine something like this in an IOS or WP phone... And I've had Iphones, Lumias and some Android ones.

Terrifyng.

Well, that's what iOS is known for. They are rock stable, but no one can mess around with the source code, which means no custom roms or kernels. iOS is simple and easy to handle. Not more and not less.
I might be wrong and please excuse me for this way of thinking, but since google has announced android L or android 5, they seem to neglect 4.4.4. I never experience such a big issue with an android version before...
10th July 2014, 12:46 AM |#34  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCody

Well, that's what iOS is known for. They are rock stable, but no one can mess around with the source code, which means no custom roms or kernels. iOS is simple and easy to handle. Not more and not less.
I might be wrong and please excuse me for this way of thinking, but since google has announced android L or android 5, they seem to neglect 4.4.4. I never experience such a big issue with an android version before...

Telling my terrible story to someone, I've heard that 4.3's radio gives support (or directly unlocks) the LTE support.

Can it be the cause?. Is that true?. Is just b*****it? XD

All sounds very strange, in fact...
10th July 2014, 10:05 AM |#35  
CCody's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 108
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Even_Flow

Telling my terrible story to someone, I've heard that 4.3's radio gives support (or directly unlocks) the LTE support.

Can it be the cause?. Is that true?. Is just b*****it? XD

All sounds very strange, in fact...

Indeed the nexus 4 can handle lte, since there is a 4g module installed, but not activated. There are mods where you can open your 4g. I dont know if this is related with your issue.
11th July 2014, 06:17 AM |#36  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
The issue isn't related to 4.4.4 specifically. It manifests in updates and/or flashes to *all* 4.3 and 4.4.

For anyone facing this issue, only 4.2 builds will work.
4.3 builds will half work with 4.2 radios
4.4 builds will not work at all, the phone simply becomes incompatible with Kitkat

Motherboard replacement works, IC replacement doesn't (Not sure what LG meant by IC, but they said they replaced IC but that din't fix it, MB replacement did coz that's essentially a new phone in old shell)
11th July 2014, 07:32 AM |#37  
Junior Member
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Very very sorry to hear about this.
I read the entire thread and each post, rather for a moment, I felt that you phone motherboard got corrupted because you tested many things in one go..

What I really wanted to understand is how and when this got started?

I mean what you did actually that caused you this ? Is it the OTA update of 4.4.4 or you updated to 4.4.4 ? and then the problems started ?

The reason, I am asking this is - I am still on 4.4.3 - rooted on stock rom, I got the OTA update, and the moment I start to update.. After the screen says installing update, it says no command and shows error. Is this what happened with you. ?
12th July 2014, 04:02 AM |#38  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
In my case it just happened one fine day when I restarted the phone because I had changed SIMs. No update, no OTA, never rooted, never unlocked bootloader, completely stock. It was running 4.4.2 at the time
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes