FORUMS

XeroAsh Theme for CM12

This theme by XDA Senior Member balrajs99 features a black and slate gray UI that gives your phone a … more

Samsung Galaxy S6 To Receive Major Camera Update

When the Samsung Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge were launched, they became the prime focus for … more

Tactile: An Addicting Game with Beautiful Material Design

The game industry has been around for decades, catering to a wide … more

Android’s Consistency and The User Experience

This is a site of power users, and it is fair to say that most of us are more … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[HELP] Restoring data, unresponsive touch screen, boot loop.

16th July 2014, 05:44 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hello, I want to backup my files from my Nexus 4 after the screen broke and the touch screen stopped working. I have tried this method, I unlocked bootloader and flashed CWM recovery but I couldn't pull files (phone wasn't encrypted). I made sure to flash recovery immediately after unlocking bootloader so I don't lose my data. I then wiped cache from CWM but I got stuck in boot loop, so I tried wiping data/factory reset in CWM (it doesn't delete /sdcard/, does it?). From the first time I flashed and got into CWM recovery, I got errors with mounting /data/ and all other folders. I can not install roms or anything through CWM because it can't mount the /data/ or /system/ from the first time I flashed CWM in the bootloader. I am currently following this guide but I don't want to lose my data, it is more important than the phone. What do I do now?

Edit: I tried sideloading CM10.2 stable and stock 4.4.4 mako. Neither got past bootloop. WugFresh's Nexus Toolkit can't backup data without the phone booting. Still no idea what to do next.
Last edited by Avenger2; 16th July 2014 at 07:34 AM. Reason: Update
 
 
16th July 2014, 10:51 PM |#2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Bump. Still no progress.
17th July 2014, 02:34 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
can you boot into cwm/TWRP?

---------- Post added at 02:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:22 AM ----------

Well, if you do, connect your phone to the computer and open adb and type

adb devices (if your phone is detected, continue)
adb pull /sdcard C:\backup
adb pull /0/sdcard C:\backup
17th July 2014, 05:49 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sky0165

can you boot into cwm/TWRP?

---------- Post added at 02:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:22 AM ----------

Well, if you do, connect your phone to the computer and open adb and type

adb devices (if your phone is detected, continue)
adb pull /sdcard C:\backup
adb pull /0/sdcard C:\backup

It doesn't pull, says 0 files pulled.
17th July 2014, 05:44 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Well, i think your sdcard was erased then... or you can try to pull folder by folder, but i think using /sdcard it would pull everything from the device.
18th July 2014, 04:31 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
More
You erased all the data on your device when you unlocked the bootloader.

Might as well just flash stock image now, you don't have to erase any data when doing so, (although yours is probably wiped from unlock bootloader)
Last edited by DrFredPhD; 18th July 2014 at 04:33 PM.
19th July 2014, 01:27 PM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sky0165

Well, i think your sdcard was erased then... or you can try to pull folder by folder, but i think using /sdcard it would pull everything from the device.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFredPhD

You erased all the data on your device when you unlocked the bootloader.

Might as well just flash stock image now, you don't have to erase any data when doing so, (although yours is probably wiped from unlock bootloader)

I'm pretty sure the data wasn't erased because I immediately flashed CWM after unlocking the bootloader without rebooting, then I wiped cache so it doesn't erase my data on phone start, as pointed out here by the guide I used: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...1&postcount=28
19th July 2014, 06:12 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
More
I don't know if that works or not, it says it's for 4.2 though, was your device on 4.2?
19th July 2014, 06:56 PM |#9  
jd1639's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,692
 
Donate to Me
More
It'll work just fine. Doesn't matter if you're 4.2.2 or 4.4.4. Also, if you unlocked your bootloader you did wipe your device. Even if you installed cwm before rebooting

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes