Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,603 Members 39,799 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HELP] Restoring data, unresponsive touch screen, boot loop.

Tip us?
 
Avenger2
Old
(Last edited by Avenger2; 16th July 2014 at 07:34 AM.) Reason: Update
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2014
Default [HELP] Restoring data, unresponsive touch screen, boot loop.

Hello, I want to backup my files from my Nexus 4 after the screen broke and the touch screen stopped working. I have tried this method, I unlocked bootloader and flashed CWM recovery but I couldn't pull files (phone wasn't encrypted). I made sure to flash recovery immediately after unlocking bootloader so I don't lose my data. I then wiped cache from CWM but I got stuck in boot loop, so I tried wiping data/factory reset in CWM (it doesn't delete /sdcard/, does it?). From the first time I flashed and got into CWM recovery, I got errors with mounting /data/ and all other folders. I can not install roms or anything through CWM because it can't mount the /data/ or /system/ from the first time I flashed CWM in the bootloader. I am currently following this guide but I don't want to lose my data, it is more important than the phone. What do I do now?

Edit: I tried sideloading CM10.2 stable and stock 4.4.4 mako. Neither got past bootloop. WugFresh's Nexus Toolkit can't backup data without the phone booting. Still no idea what to do next.
 
Avenger2
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2014
Bump. Still no progress.
 
sky0165
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 255
Join Date: Mar 2012
can you boot into cwm/TWRP?

---------- Post added at 02:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:22 AM ----------

Well, if you do, connect your phone to the computer and open adb and type

adb devices (if your phone is detected, continue)
adb pull /sdcard C:\backup
adb pull /0/sdcard C:\backup
 
Avenger2
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by sky0165 View Post
can you boot into cwm/TWRP?

---------- Post added at 02:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:22 AM ----------

Well, if you do, connect your phone to the computer and open adb and type

adb devices (if your phone is detected, continue)
adb pull /sdcard C:\backup
adb pull /0/sdcard C:\backup
It doesn't pull, says 0 files pulled.
 
sky0165
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 255
Join Date: Mar 2012
Well, i think your sdcard was erased then... or you can try to pull folder by folder, but i think using /sdcard it would pull everything from the device.
 
DrFredPhD
Old
(Last edited by DrFredPhD; 18th July 2014 at 04:33 PM.)
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 254
Join Date: Oct 2010
You erased all the data on your device when you unlocked the bootloader.

Might as well just flash stock image now, you don't have to erase any data when doing so, (although yours is probably wiped from unlock bootloader)
 
Avenger2
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by sky0165 View Post
Well, i think your sdcard was erased then... or you can try to pull folder by folder, but i think using /sdcard it would pull everything from the device.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFredPhD View Post
You erased all the data on your device when you unlocked the bootloader.

Might as well just flash stock image now, you don't have to erase any data when doing so, (although yours is probably wiped from unlock bootloader)
I'm pretty sure the data wasn't erased because I immediately flashed CWM after unlocking the bootloader without rebooting, then I wiped cache so it doesn't erase my data on phone start, as pointed out here by the guide I used: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...1&postcount=28
 
DrFredPhD
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 254
Join Date: Oct 2010
I don't know if that works or not, it says it's for 4.2 though, was your device on 4.2?
 
jd1639
Old
#9  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3063
Posts: 9,114
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
It'll work just fine. Doesn't matter if you're 4.2.2 or 4.4.4. Also, if you unlocked your bootloader you did wipe your device. Even if you installed cwm before rebooting

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...