FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Announced: Specs, Price and Details

The OnePlus 2 has just had its Virtual Reality Launch event, and at the XDA Office we all … more

A Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services

With the launch of Apple Music, music streaming services have recently gained a lot of … more

An Inside Look at the Redesign of Business Calendar

The much-acclaimed calendar app, Business Calendar, underwent a major design … more

New Android One Device Dead On Arrival

Today, Google announced the second generation of Android One devices, with the new Lava Pixel … more

[Q] How do I flash from L To a custom AOSP KITKAT

8 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By siaga, Junior Member on 25th August 2014, 11:50 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
How do I flash from L To a custom AOSP KITKAT? Do I need to flash the factory image at first or I just boot into recvoery and flash the cutom rom?Did anybody know? THX!
 
 
25th August 2014, 12:44 PM |#2  
ph37rd's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 636
 
More
To be safe, you'd do a factory image flash. That way you know you have a good starting point. There's the boot image, including the ramdisk, and radio (depending on what platform you're running on) that would have changed.

Or, if you're feeling lucky, clean wipe and flash your new ROM. What's the worse case scenario? You have to do it twice.
25th August 2014, 01:10 PM |#3  
Rohit02's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 3,828
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by siaga

How do I flash from L To a custom AOSP KITKAT? Do I need to flash the factory image at first or I just boot into recvoery and flash the cutom rom?Did anybody know? THX!

The safest way is
Download L port
factory reset once
wipe cache dalvik
flash ROM
wipe cache and dalvik again
reboot
done,

Gapps included.

I never got problem with these steps.
The Following User Says Thank You to Rohit02 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th August 2014, 02:08 PM |#4  
qaz2453's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rohit02

The safest way is
Download L port
factory reset once
wipe cache dalvik
flash ROM
wipe cache and dalvik again
reboot
done,

Gapps included.

I never got problem with these steps.

no need to format storage?
thanks in advanced
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to qaz2453 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th August 2014, 02:17 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rohit02

The safest way is
Download L port
factory reset once
wipe cache dalvik
flash ROM
wipe cache and dalvik again
reboot
done,

Gapps included.

I never got problem with these steps.

Hey,guys,I have just ask the L's developer ,he said that the L he developed uses the same baseband and bootloader as the Kitkat,so there is no need to flash a factory image at first , instead ,we can just directly flash the Kitkat aosp ,Thanks for his kindness!
26th August 2014, 02:59 AM |#6  
Member
Flag Kottayam
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by qaz2453

no need to format storage?
thanks in advanced

That's what he meant. Format system and data. You'll find that option on the custom recovery.
26th August 2014, 03:47 PM |#7  
bushako's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 299
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by qaz2453

no need to format storage?
thanks in advanced

You just need to get a flashable one and your good to go. Just wipe system, data and caches and flash it. I tried both ways by recovery and by script and its the same experience. But if you follow the script and flash through PC you'll surely lose all your data.
The Following User Says Thank You to bushako For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes