Post Reply

How to copy CWM backups to PC from /mnt/shell/emulated?

OP jasonwc

8th December 2012, 02:58 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
291 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
So, CWM saves its backups and blob directory in /mnt/shell/emulated which is not accessible via MTP. I've started using TWRP for all my new backups but I would like to copy the existing CWM backups to my PC before wiping the directory on my phone. It's currently using 8-9 GB. However, when I try to move the directory from /mnt/shell/emulated to a directory in a directory in /sdcard, the move operation ends instantly and nothing is copied. I'm wondering if the problem is that I don't have enough free space. I've got about 2.5 GB free.

EDIT: It appears that you need to have enough space to copy the entire directory before deleting it. The phone ran out of space halfway through a file copy using ES File Explorer. I guess that's why Root Explorer won't allow the move to begin.
Last edited by jasonwc; 8th December 2012 at 03:15 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jasonwc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th December 2012, 03:24 PM   |  #2  
peachpuff's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 322
 
1,494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Use adb to pull the directory to your computer, adb pull /mnt/shell/emulated
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to peachpuff For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th December 2012, 04:37 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
I would like to do this as well like I used to do with older versions of CWM on my Gnex. Then it was as easy as moving the large backup file found in /sdcard/clockworkmod/ folder.

I just tried that adb pull command mentioned in the post above and this starts to copy the entire contents of my phone to some unknown source on my PC (I can't find where?).

How would one go about simply backing up a CWM nandroid restore file onto a PC?
8th December 2012, 07:07 PM   |  #4  
peachpuff's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 322
 
1,494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dralways

I just tried that adb pull command mentioned in the post above and this starts to copy the entire contents of my phone to some unknown source on my PC (I can't find where?).

It copies to the directory that you ran the adb command from, so if you run abd from c:\windows\apps\adb it'll copy the files there
The Following User Says Thank You to peachpuff For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th December 2012, 04:06 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
291 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by peachpuff

Use adb to pull the directory to your computer, adb pull /mnt/shell/emulated

Thanks for the help. I don't know why I didn't think to do that myself.
26th June 2013, 05:48 AM   |  #6  
dushan90's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seeduwa
Thanks Meter: 22
 
119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
Create a folder on your computer and open the command prompt from that directory. And then run adb pull /mnt/shell/emulated/clockworkmod/backup

This way only the backups will be copied to your pc, not the whole storage.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dushan90 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th May 2014, 03:08 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
cmd prompt not working
Quote:
Originally Posted by dushan90

Create a folder on your computer and open the command prompt from that directory. And then run adb pull /mnt/shell/emulated/clockworkmod/backup

This way only the backups will be copied to your pc, not the whole storage.

Hi, I just ran into this issue also. I tried the cmd prompt but it doesn't pull anything. It says 'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I know it's been a while since the last post but thank you.
18th May 2014, 08:56 AM   |  #8  
dushan90's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seeduwa
Thanks Meter: 22
 
119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlickJamesBtch

Hi, I just ran into this issue also. I tried the cmd prompt but it doesn't pull anything. It says 'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I know it's been a while since the last post but thank you.

>Go to your android sdk folder/platform-tools.
>r.click an empty space while holding down the shift.
>Select Open Command Window here
>then run the adb command

This should work
The Following User Says Thank You to dushan90 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th July 2014, 01:33 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dushan90

Create a folder on your computer and open the command prompt from that directory. And then run adb pull /mnt/shell/emulated/clockworkmod/backup

This way only the backups will be copied to your pc, not the whole storage.

how if I want to put it back into CWM? is there any specific way to do that? or I just have to copy and paste the data to the "/mnt/shell/emulated/clockworkmod/backup" directory.
12th July 2014, 05:51 AM   |  #10  
dushan90's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seeduwa
Thanks Meter: 22
 
119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
Haven't you tried this?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes