Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Limit on saved wireless networks?

OP marios.v

22nd May 2014, 05:28 AM   |  #1  
marios.v's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Ioannina
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Hello,
Since a few weeks now my nexus 4 just "forgets" the passwords of wifi networks I just connected with. This happens when I turn off/on my wifi in the settings or after a reboot. I'm on stock 4.2.2, rooted and i have ~250 wifi networks saved. I already checked the wpa_supplicant.conf file and all 250 networks are correctly inside. In the file there are often copies of the same network and password (only different priority) that appear when I have to re-enter a password again. I tried to delete all unused networks and with ~100 networks saved, there are no problem. Is there any limit on saved networks stored in wpa_supplicant.conf. Only up to ~150 networks are visible in wifi settings.
Any idea?
Last edited by marios.v; 22nd May 2014 at 08:27 PM.
26th May 2014, 10:16 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
349 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by marios.v

Hello,
Since a few weeks now my nexus 4 just "forgets" the passwords of wifi networks I just connected with. This happens when I turn off/on my wifi in the settings or after a reboot. I'm on stock 4.2.2, rooted and i have ~250 wifi networks saved. I already checked the wpa_supplicant.conf file and all 250 networks are correctly inside. In the file there are often copies of the same network and password (only different priority) that appear when I have to re-enter a password again. I tried to delete all unused networks and with ~100 networks saved, there are no problem. Is there any limit on saved networks stored in wpa_supplicant.conf. Only up to ~150 networks are visible in wifi settings.
Any idea?

This is very possible, as seeing how Android Police discovered a limit to Bluetooth devices: http://www.androidpolice.com/2014/05...elly-bean-4-3/

I would try installing a custom ROM if this is too much of a problem, as little bugs tend to be addressed much faster with that manner.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes