FORUMS

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (June 27 – July 4)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

HTC One M9 Developer Edition Android 5.1 OTA

The Developer Edition of the HTC One M9 is receiving an over-the-air update to Android 5.1. … more

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

[LOOKING FOR A FIX] DATA drops

14,063 posts
Thanks Meter: 4,330
 
By undercover, Senior Member on 6th January 2013, 02:15 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
7th January 2013, 12:46 AM |#11  
undercover's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London, UK
Thanks Meter: 4,330
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattSkeet

Its a network thing I believe plus some kind of android issue . I had data drops on galaxy nexus , most of the times its the way once described it in 1 but occasionally the way in 2 or 3. Baaa on giffgaff network I had data but when screen was off I had gray bars.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda premium

Read the link above. Something doesn't play well together. From the logs it looks like problem lies in loading apn.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
 
 
7th January 2013, 12:52 AM |#12  
Senior Member
Flag South Florida
Thanks Meter: 153
 
More
I get this too. I thought it was only me.

Sent from my own AOKP Grouper build using Tapatalk.
7th January 2013, 12:57 AM |#13  
undercover's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London, UK
Thanks Meter: 4,330
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by undercover

Read the link above. Something doesn't play well together. From the logs it looks like problem lies in loading apn.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2

I have no other provider sim with data to test it. Will test wife's Orange sim in a day or two, just to eliminate sim card as a reason.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
7th January 2013, 02:37 AM |#14  
undercover's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London, UK
Thanks Meter: 4,330
 
More
Testing time
*#*#4636#*#*
Set to LTE/GSM/CDMA AUTO ( PRL) seems to make data work normal. Still testing though.
Give it a go.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to undercover For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th January 2013, 07:02 AM |#15  
Senior Member
Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
I only noticed the data drop issue recently, but that might be because I'm on wifi the vast majority of the time. Undercover - I'm experiencing basically the same issue as you are, however my data signal seems to reconnect itself after about 15-20 seconds.

Running stock rooted ROM, motley kernel here, UVed quite a bit, though I don't know if that would cause any problems. Will try changing some APN settings tomorrow and see what happens
7th January 2013, 07:27 AM |#16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 71
 
More
When having been connected to wifi overnight and leaving the wifi area, the phone does not switch over to mobile data. The signal bars stay grey.
I have to toggle airplane mode, and then it connects fine. Another fix is to search for provider and reconnect to the network (takes longer obviously)
Is this the same bug?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
7th January 2013, 08:50 AM |#17  
Senior Member
Flag Göttingen
Thanks Meter: 406
 
Donate to Me
More
i think its an android issue
had this problem on my htc desire and now i have it on my n4
but it occured since 4.0
7th January 2013, 09:14 AM |#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
I seem to have problem with both data and also wifi.
Right now I am looking at my phone connected to wifi and its all grayed out and streaming music stopped. It seems that problem is worse when I have same time connected to bluetooth.
Something is seriously wrong with the new Android.l
7th January 2013, 12:03 PM |#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
No problems here. I'm on T-Mobile if that helps. Cm10.1 and Franco r28.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
7th January 2013, 12:45 PM |#20  
kresk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Scranton
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
I get dropped/inconsistent signals as well but only in certain areas of my house or certain parts of the city I live in. I'll have a few bars of H and then poof no signal. I can almost predict when I'm going to run in to that little problem because my loading times and such will be all around slower. Even though I should have a fast connection according to my signal bars. During times when I'm experiencing fast download speeds my signal never falters. PS I'm completely stock, not unlocked, not rooted.
Last edited by kresk; 7th January 2013 at 12:48 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes