Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,354 Members 41,662 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[LOOKING FOR A FIX] DATA drops

Tip us?
 
undercover
Old
#11  
undercover's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4258
Posts: 13,918
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattSkeet View Post
Its a network thing I believe plus some kind of android issue . I had data drops on galaxy nexus , most of the times its the way once described it in 1 but occasionally the way in 2 or 3. Baaa on giffgaff network I had data but when screen was off I had gray bars.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda premium
Read the link above. Something doesn't play well together. From the logs it looks like problem lies in loading apn.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
 
remydlc
Old
#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 305
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: South Florida
I get this too. I thought it was only me.

Sent from my own AOKP Grouper build using Tapatalk.
List of my current devices: Mako, jfltetmo, and Grouper.
Senior Unix Sys Admin
 
undercover
Old
#13  
undercover's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4258
Posts: 13,918
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by undercover View Post
Read the link above. Something doesn't play well together. From the logs it looks like problem lies in loading apn.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
I have no other provider sim with data to test it. Will test wife's Orange sim in a day or two, just to eliminate sim card as a reason.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
 
undercover
Old
#14  
undercover's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4258
Posts: 13,918
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, UK
Testing time
*#*#4636#*#*
Set to LTE/GSM/CDMA AUTO ( PRL) seems to make data work normal. Still testing though.
Give it a go.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
The Following User Says Thank You to undercover For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tengen
Old
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 143
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Austin, TX
I only noticed the data drop issue recently, but that might be because I'm on wifi the vast majority of the time. Undercover - I'm experiencing basically the same issue as you are, however my data signal seems to reconnect itself after about 15-20 seconds.

Running stock rooted ROM, motley kernel here, UVed quite a bit, though I don't know if that would cause any problems. Will try changing some APN settings tomorrow and see what happens
Nexus 4
Stock ROM 4.2.2 Rooted
Motley Kernel b39
CWM Touch Recovery 6.0.2.3
 
Monkeybrew
Old
#16  
Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 82
Join Date: Apr 2011
When having been connected to wifi overnight and leaving the wifi area, the phone does not switch over to mobile data. The signal bars stay grey.
I have to toggle airplane mode, and then it connects fine. Another fix is to search for provider and reconnect to the network (takes longer obviously)
Is this the same bug?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
 
ckret
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 115
Posts: 176
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Göttingen

 
DONATE TO ME
i think its an android issue
had this problem on my htc desire and now i have it on my n4
but it occured since 4.0
 
CandyAndy
Old
#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 584
Join Date: Jul 2009
I seem to have problem with both data and also wifi.
Right now I am looking at my phone connected to wifi and its all grayed out and streaming music stopped. It seems that problem is worse when I have same time connected to bluetooth.
Something is seriously wrong with the new Android.l
 
mk92595
Old
#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 308
Join Date: Aug 2012
No problems here. I'm on T-Mobile if that helps. Cm10.1 and Franco r28.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
Note 3
 
kresk
Old
(Last edited by kresk; 7th January 2013 at 12:48 PM.)
#20  
kresk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 115
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Scranton
I get dropped/inconsistent signals as well but only in certain areas of my house or certain parts of the city I live in. I'll have a few bars of H and then poof no signal. I can almost predict when I'm going to run in to that little problem because my loading times and such will be all around slower. Even though I should have a fast connection according to my signal bars. During times when I'm experiencing fast download speeds my signal never falters. PS I'm completely stock, not unlocked, not rooted.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes