Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more

Nexus Player 5.1 LMY47D Rooted

We recently featured the Nexus Player, Google’s second attempt at a digital media … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Nexus 4 and 7 won't connect to Windows PC

28th May 2014, 04:23 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Hello

I have a Nexus 4 Kit Kat 4.4.2 and a Nexus 7 Kit Kat 4.4.2. I also have a Microsoft Windows 7 Desktop computer.

In the past I was able to connect my Nexus 4 phone and Nexus 7 to my Desktop computer with no issues and swap files to the Desktop. These files were usually music MP3 files. However I was able to swap what ever I wanted over.

Today when I connected my Nexus 4 to my Desktop I kept getting error messages every second saying installing drivers or pop up screens asking what to do such as open file. Occasionally I would see Nexus 4 as portable storage but it would vanish within a second. I would also get notification noises every couple of seconds as well.


As far as I am aware I have:

USB debugging ticked
USB computer connection Media device (MTP) ticked


This is all very confusing and frustrating.



As far as I can tell my Desktop, Windows 7 is up to date and that my computer tells me that I have the correct drivers for the Nexus 4.

I have just connected my Nexus 7 to my Desktop and got the error message unknown device. Up till today, I never had a problem with my Nexus 7, but its been a couple of months since I connected them to my Desktop computer.

Any help would be much appreciated.

As an edit

I connected a Gingerbread phone and that would NOT connect to my Desktop

However I connected an ASUS TF300T Jelly Bean 4.2.1 and that connected first time with no problems
Last edited by the lemming; 28th May 2014 at 04:47 PM.
28th May 2014, 04:28 PM   |  #2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,387
 
12,381 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
I would try re-installing the drivers. Google 15 second adb drivers xda

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
28th May 2014, 05:01 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Hello

I have tried to install new drivers from this site and ASUS's own site but I can not.

Windows 7 keeps telling me that I have the most up to date drivers.

Very confusing
28th May 2014, 05:42 PM   |  #4  
Oxious119's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
324 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Habe you tried out all your USB ports? Sometimes it refuses to on some ports.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Free mobile app
28th May 2014, 08:21 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Connect your device. Open device manger, find device. Right click, properties, driver, uninstall driver (tick checkbox to also uninstall driver software) reinstall driver.
28th May 2014, 09:27 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
I have errors like that often on PCs, but mostly Apple Computers when running Parallels/Bootcamp. Installing an reinstalling can work, but also switching between the MTP and camera may help temporarily solve the issue
29th May 2014, 08:04 AM   |  #7  
morganmf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Koszalin
Thanks Meter: 40
 
184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Get usbdeview and get rid of of all Nexus-like entries, then restart and reconnect, see if that helps. Also did you switch from mtp to camera and back? It did help for me in the past in similar situation.

Wysłane z mojego Nexus 7 przy użyciu Tapatalka

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes