FORUMS

Dr.Ketan Brings The S6 Theme Store To The Note 4

Dr.Ketan has submitted a video to the forums showing a functional port of the Galaxy S6 … more

Do You Have Insurance on Your Smartphone?

While affordable smartphones are becoming more available, the majority of high-end flagships … more

Apple Music Will Increase iTunes Match to 100,000 Songs

The battle for music streaming subscription dominance is starting to really heat … more

Xposed Framework Updated to v65

Xposed Framework is an extremely popular modification platform for Android, so much so that we included … more

Nexus 4, KitKat 4.4.2: 100% CPU

190 posts
Thanks Meter: 14
 
By zamana, Senior Member on 9th March 2014, 05:22 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi!

Sometimes, out of nothing, my Nexus 4 heats and the 2nd core locks down at 100%. The temperatures raises to more than 34 (battery) and 48 (cpu) Celusius.

I tried to kill every application and service, one by one, but none of them changed anything. The only solution is reboot.

Anyone knows what's happening?

Thanks.
Regards.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot (1).jpg
Views:	294
Size:	75.4 KB
ID:	2621864   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot.jpg
Views:	262
Size:	75.9 KB
ID:	2621865  
 
 
9th March 2014, 05:28 PM |#2  
Ace42's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 1,280
 
More
1.What are those app icons in the status bar?
2. Is this stock?
3. Did you try factory reset?

Sent From Burning Gundam
9th March 2014, 05:31 PM |#3  
zamana's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag São Paulo
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace42

What are those app icons in the status bar?

Sent From Burning Gundam

Chess.com
AirDroid
AdWay.

AirDroid is not the culprit. It was started just to take the screenshot (my skills to press power and volume down buttons are compromised... )

Yes, I'm using stock KitKat 4.2.2.

The last reset was when I installed KitKat...
9th March 2014, 05:34 PM |#4  
Ace42's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 1,280
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zamana

Chess.com
AirDroid
AdWay.

AirDroid is not the culprit. It was started just to take the screenshot (my skills to press power and volume down buttons are compromised... )

Yes, I'm using stock KitKat 4.2.2.

The last reset was when I installed KitKat...

Why don't you do volume+down for screenshot, android has it built in...And is your phone rooted? If it is can you try greenify then see if CPU usage drops?

Sent From Burning Gundam
9th March 2014, 05:35 PM |#5  
Ace42's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 1,280
 
More
And can you upload a picture of running services?


Sent From Burning Gundam
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1394382939247.jpg
Views:	179
Size:	67.8 KB
ID:	2621878  
9th March 2014, 05:36 PM |#6  
zamana's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag São Paulo
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace42

Why don't you do volume+down for screenshot, android has it built in...And is your phone rooted? If it is can you try greenify then see if CPU usage drops?

Sent From Burning Gundam

Yes, my phone is rooted. What is "greenify"?
9th March 2014, 05:43 PM |#7  
a2441918's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 3,491
 
Donate to Me
More
Greenify is an app and is mainly used for maintaining a good battery life. U can find it in http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2155737

Sent from my GT-I9500 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
9th March 2014, 05:46 PM |#8  
zamana's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag São Paulo
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by a2441918

Greenify is an app and is mainly used for maintaining a good battery life. U can find it in http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2155737

Sent from my GT-I9500 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thanks for the info. I'll give it a try. But I still would like to know which app is causing this...

And (weird), why only the 2nd core? It seems like a very specific bug.
9th March 2014, 05:48 PM |#9  
zamana's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag São Paulo
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace42

And can you upload a picture of running services?


Sent From Burning Gundam

Sure.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot (3).jpg
Views:	129
Size:	100.7 KB
ID:	2621894   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot (4).jpg
Views:	125
Size:	110.7 KB
ID:	2621895  
9th March 2014, 06:04 PM |#10  
zamana's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag São Paulo
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Even after killing all apps/services with SystemPanel the 2nd core is still at 100% and the CPU is at more than 54 Celsius...

I'll need to reboot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot (5).jpg
Views:	109
Size:	75.9 KB
ID:	2621912   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot (6).jpg
Views:	109
Size:	74.4 KB
ID:	2621913  
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes