Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,472 Members 50,245 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nexus 4 not recognizing SIM

Tip us?
 
Mikrouwel
Old
(Last edited by Mikrouwel; 17th January 2013 at 05:53 PM.) Reason: Typo
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 61
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Nexus 4 not recognizing SIM

Hey Guys,

Got my Nexus 4 yesterday and took a working sim and cut it down and inserted it into the phone and had no signal nothing. So today i went and got another sim cut by a shop and put it in and still nothing.

Any advice?

Thanks in advance
Nexus 4
 
android88
Old
#2  
android88's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4,807
Posts: 5,743
Join Date: Jan 2012
Does the phone recognize the SIM at all?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda premium
 
Mikrouwel
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 61
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by android88 View Post
Does the phone recognize the SIM at all?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda premium
Well I can scan for networks but wont let me join any, even the one that the sim is (Cell C)
Nexus 4
 
jjdev
Old
#4  
jjdev's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2013
Did you try inserting the sim when the phone is off ? When I inserted the sim, the phone was on and it would not recognize the sim even after reboot.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
 
Mikrouwel
Old
(Last edited by Mikrouwel; 17th January 2013 at 06:16 PM.)
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 61
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjdev View Post
Did you try inserting the sim when the phone is off ? When I inserted the sim, the phone was on and it would not recognize the sim even after reboot.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
I did it while off :/

How do you fix your issue?

Thanks for the help?
Nexus 4
 
jjdev
Old
#6  
jjdev's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2013
Did you use a sim cutter or did you use scissors ?

The sim needs to be completely flush on the tray.

Remove the sim and turn off the phone. Insert it, and power it on...

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
 
Mikrouwel
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 61
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjdev View Post
Did you use a sim cutter or did you use scissors ?

The sim needs to be completely flush on the tray.

Remove the sim and turn off the phone. Insert it, and power it on...

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
First tried cutting it and didnt work so went and brought a new sim and got it cut by a shop.

I have tried doing that and still nothing :/
Nexus 4
 
pani_alex
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 43
Join Date: Feb 2012
i have the same problem, cut my sim, doesent work, ask for a new microsim still not working, a can scan the networks but the phone says, sim doesent allows the connection
could be that i damage the sim slot or the module? how can i find a solution?
 
xda6969
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 252
Join Date: Jan 2012
Get a real micro sim. Don't use a cut down one.
 
pani_alex
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 43
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by xda6969 View Post
Get a real micro sim. Don't use a cut down one.
i already have the real/new ona, but still dont work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Stream Your Media Files with the New Version of Droid Sync Manager

Android is a Linux-based operating system, but this fact doesn’t put … more

Old but Gold Internet Browser is a Blast from the Past

A Web browser is one of these applications that we can’t live without. We useit … more

Real-World Battery Saving Tips for Android – XDA Developer TV

You need Real-World Battery Saving Tips for your Android device. Our … more

Android L Will Have Data Encryption Turned On by Default

Android L, once it is eventually released, will featuredata encryption turned on by … more