Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] what i need in order to install a kernel

OP NEXUSKILLER123

12th June 2014, 01:28 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
i have never been rooting myn nexus 4 but now i want to install a franco kernel. what i need to do in order to install a kernel? (i have guides for everything i need to do i just dont know the order of the things. first... second..
Last edited by NEXUSKILLER123; 12th June 2014 at 01:37 AM.
12th June 2014, 02:02 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
412 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Install custom recovery, boot into it, flash the kernel zip, reboot

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Free mobile app
12th June 2014, 03:05 AM   |  #3  
Calinho's Avatar
Member
Flag Brusque - SC
Thanks Meter: 9
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
wipe dalvik cache before flash the kernel
12th June 2014, 03:21 AM   |  #4  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,990
 
11,382 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
No need for a wipe

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
12th June 2014, 07:36 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Buenos Aires
Thanks Meter: 3
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Did you unlocked the bootloader? If no, you should start unlocking it but you will loose all data.

Enviado desde mi Nexus 7 mediante Tapatalk
12th June 2014, 10:43 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
So what i need to do is unlock the bootloader than install custom recovery and boot into it and than flash the kernel zip did i get it right?
The Following User Says Thank You to NEXUSKILLER123 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th June 2014, 03:10 PM   |  #7  
kcrims's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 156
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

No need for a wipe

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

yeah, but i do it everytime to avoid any possible issues
12th June 2014, 03:47 PM   |  #8  
lolcakes203's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 65
 
376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
That is absolutely correct. But, as suggested before you may want to wipe the cache and dalvik cache partitions before flashing, and before you do anything in the recovery, please make a nandroid backup to restore in case you face any issues, it is very important.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Free mobile app
13th June 2014, 12:43 AM   |  #9  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,899
 
27,524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calinho

wipe dalvik cache before flash the kernel

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolcakes203

That is absolutely correct. But, as suggested before you may want to wipe the cache and dalvik cache partitions before flashing, and before you do anything in the recovery, please make a nandroid backup to restore in case you face any issues, it is very important.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Free mobile app

you never ever need to wipe dalvik nor cache when flashing kernels. they have nothing to do with kernels. its the same as going to wipe your behind so you can fill your car up with gas.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to simms22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th June 2014, 01:23 AM   |  #10  
lolcakes203's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 65
 
376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Alright, Thanks for the clarification. I am used to the old fashioned method that always told individuals to wipe the cache and dalvik.


Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Free mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes