Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,562 Members 37,647 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nexus 4 SIM not being detected

Tip us?
 
FennellFrog
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default Nexus 4 SIM not being detected

Hi,

I just bought a second hand N4 to try out Android (WP8 user here).

The guy I purchased off showed me his SIM was working in it fine but since taking it home I haven't been able to get any SIMS to work in there. I have tried quite a few, all of which work in other phones.

I've done a factory reset multiple times, rebooted the phone multiple times and even tried starting in recovery mode. Nothing I do seems to be able to get any SIMS working.

Really frustrating experience as otherwise the phone works fine on wifi. Really hope someone can help me as otherwise I just spent $180 on a dud!
 
damngood98
Old
#2  
damngood98's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 745
Posts: 1,954
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Detroit
i'd try stopping at a tmobile store and replacing the sim card....you shouldn't get charged.
phone: LG Nexus 5
recovery: TWRP 2.7.0.0
ROM: Slimkat
kernel: stock

tablet: Nexus 10
recovery: TWRP 2.7.0.0
ROM: Slimkat

 
FennellFrog
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by damngood98 View Post
i'd try stopping at a tmobile store and replacing the sim card....you shouldn't get charged.
Thanks but I already got a new sim today with no avail. I've tried 3 different sims now, and none of them work in my phone. But all work in other phones.

I'm in Australia too btw
 
krystyuc
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 188
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Craiova
Make sure your phone is shut down before inserting one.
 
FennellFrog
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by krystyuc View Post
Make sure your phone is shut down before inserting one.
I have tried this with no success, unfortunately.
 
krystyuc
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 188
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Craiova
Quote:
Originally Posted by FennellFrog View Post
I have tried this with no success, unfortunately.
Try to flash the 4.4.2 as a new phone.
 
FennellFrog
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by krystyuc View Post
Try to flash the 4.4.2 as a new phone.
Is this really likely to work? I'm hesitant to try this as I'm new to Android and have no idea how to do this...and have heard many horror stories of flashing and rooting going wrong.
 
plegdroid
Old
(Last edited by plegdroid; 29th March 2014 at 02:39 PM.)
#8  
plegdroid's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 11381
Posts: 3,504
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: manchester
Evening/Morning Matey. Just out of curiosity. I take it your phone is confirmed as being a sim free,carrier unlocked version?

Or at least your using the Same provider as the guy you bought from.


ⓐⓝⓓⓡⓞⓒⓛⓓⓔ ⓘⓢ ⓝⓞⓣ ⓐ ⓢⓘⓝ


http://xda-devcon.com
Xda devcon 2014 Manchester. live local?. Pm me or @jerdog for a special discount code. For a limited time.
 
20_perguntar
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2014
I've had this problem too. Try to use an adhesive tape on the side of sim card to prevent a short circuit with the metalic tray of sim card.
It worked for me.
 
krystyuc
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 188
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Craiova
Quote:
Originally Posted by FennellFrog View Post
Is this really likely to work? I'm hesitant to try this as I'm new to Android and have no idea how to do this...and have heard many horror stories of flashing and rooting going wrong.
It's not so horror i'll help you do it if u whant
Also try what plegdroid sayd.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes