FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

Nexus 4 SIM not being detected

4 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By FennellFrog, Junior Member on 28th March 2014, 09:12 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,

I just bought a second hand N4 to try out Android (WP8 user here).

The guy I purchased off showed me his SIM was working in it fine but since taking it home I haven't been able to get any SIMS to work in there. I have tried quite a few, all of which work in other phones.

I've done a factory reset multiple times, rebooted the phone multiple times and even tried starting in recovery mode. Nothing I do seems to be able to get any SIMS working.

Really frustrating experience as otherwise the phone works fine on wifi. Really hope someone can help me as otherwise I just spent $180 on a dud!
 
 
28th March 2014, 11:57 AM |#2  
damngood98's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Detroit
Thanks Meter: 1,051
 
More
i'd try stopping at a tmobile store and replacing the sim card....you shouldn't get charged.
28th March 2014, 01:02 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by damngood98

i'd try stopping at a tmobile store and replacing the sim card....you shouldn't get charged.

Thanks but I already got a new sim today with no avail. I've tried 3 different sims now, and none of them work in my phone. But all work in other phones.

I'm in Australia too btw
28th March 2014, 01:16 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Craiova
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
Make sure your phone is shut down before inserting one.
28th March 2014, 02:03 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by krystyuc

Make sure your phone is shut down before inserting one.

I have tried this with no success, unfortunately.
28th March 2014, 04:28 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Craiova
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FennellFrog

I have tried this with no success, unfortunately.

Try to flash the 4.4.2 as a new phone.
28th March 2014, 11:05 PM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by krystyuc

Try to flash the 4.4.2 as a new phone.

Is this really likely to work? I'm hesitant to try this as I'm new to Android and have no idea how to do this...and have heard many horror stories of flashing and rooting going wrong.
28th March 2014, 11:17 PM |#8  
plegdroid's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag manchester
Thanks Meter: 15,221
 
More
Evening/Morning Matey. Just out of curiosity. I take it your phone is confirmed as being a sim free,carrier unlocked version?

Or at least your using the Same provider as the guy you bought from.


ⓐⓝⓓⓡⓞⓒⓛⓓⓔ ⓘⓢ ⓝⓞⓣ ⓐ ⓢⓘⓝ
Last edited by plegdroid; 29th March 2014 at 02:39 PM.
29th March 2014, 01:45 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I've had this problem too. Try to use an adhesive tape on the side of sim card to prevent a short circuit with the metalic tray of sim card.
It worked for me.
29th March 2014, 09:33 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Craiova
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FennellFrog

Is this really likely to work? I'm hesitant to try this as I'm new to Android and have no idea how to do this...and have heard many horror stories of flashing and rooting going wrong.

It's not so horror i'll help you do it if u whant
Also try what plegdroid sayd.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes