Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Google Adds New Features to Drive, Sheets, Slides and Docs

In the last few months, Google has been working very hard to adapt all its apps to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Nexus 4 SIM not being detected

OP FennellFrog

28th March 2014, 10:12 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Hi,

I just bought a second hand N4 to try out Android (WP8 user here).

The guy I purchased off showed me his SIM was working in it fine but since taking it home I haven't been able to get any SIMS to work in there. I have tried quite a few, all of which work in other phones.

I've done a factory reset multiple times, rebooted the phone multiple times and even tried starting in recovery mode. Nothing I do seems to be able to get any SIMS working.

Really frustrating experience as otherwise the phone works fine on wifi. Really hope someone can help me as otherwise I just spent $180 on a dud!
28th March 2014, 12:57 PM   |  #2  
damngood98's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Detroit
Thanks Meter: 891
 
2,156 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
i'd try stopping at a tmobile store and replacing the sim card....you shouldn't get charged.
28th March 2014, 02:02 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by damngood98

i'd try stopping at a tmobile store and replacing the sim card....you shouldn't get charged.

Thanks but I already got a new sim today with no avail. I've tried 3 different sims now, and none of them work in my phone. But all work in other phones.

I'm in Australia too btw
28th March 2014, 02:16 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Craiova
Thanks Meter: 81
 
201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Make sure your phone is shut down before inserting one.
28th March 2014, 03:03 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by krystyuc

Make sure your phone is shut down before inserting one.

I have tried this with no success, unfortunately.
28th March 2014, 05:28 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Craiova
Thanks Meter: 81
 
201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FennellFrog

I have tried this with no success, unfortunately.

Try to flash the 4.4.2 as a new phone.
29th March 2014, 12:05 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by krystyuc

Try to flash the 4.4.2 as a new phone.

Is this really likely to work? I'm hesitant to try this as I'm new to Android and have no idea how to do this...and have heard many horror stories of flashing and rooting going wrong.
29th March 2014, 12:17 AM   |  #8  
plegdroid's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag manchester
Thanks Meter: 12,805
 
3,701 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Evening/Morning Matey. Just out of curiosity. I take it your phone is confirmed as being a sim free,carrier unlocked version?

Or at least your using the Same provider as the guy you bought from.


ⓐⓝⓓⓡⓞⓒⓛⓓⓔ ⓘⓢ ⓝⓞⓣ ⓐ ⓢⓘⓝ
Last edited by plegdroid; 29th March 2014 at 03:39 PM.
29th March 2014, 02:45 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
I've had this problem too. Try to use an adhesive tape on the side of sim card to prevent a short circuit with the metalic tray of sim card.
It worked for me.
29th March 2014, 10:33 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Craiova
Thanks Meter: 81
 
201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FennellFrog

Is this really likely to work? I'm hesitant to try this as I'm new to Android and have no idea how to do this...and have heard many horror stories of flashing and rooting going wrong.

It's not so horror i'll help you do it if u whant
Also try what plegdroid sayd.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes