Post Reply

Nexus 4 - No Service

OP cumanzor

28th October 2013, 12:08 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
335 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Hi all,

I got a Nexus 4 from Ebay. Cellphone is in flawless condition, it probably has less than a couple of months of use. Unfortunately, I am not able to pick up a signal in any way. I just get a constant "No Service" message, and occasionally it will jump to "Emergency Calls Only".

Testing menu says Signal Strenght is 0 dBm 99 asu, no neighboring cells and location is unknown.

I've tried changing the prefered network to WCDMA only (as suggested in other threads), also tried with the other available settings with no luck. Tried playing around with the Change Bands setting as well but it makes no difference

Tried with a few different sim cards as well but that didn't work either, just got signal momentarily and but it would go on and off.

Cellphone came with 4.2.2 and I upgraded to 4.3 as requested by the system. Same issue.

Tried basebands 48 and 84.

Tried CM 10.2.

Replaced SIM card with a brand new one.

Cellphone doesn't appear to be blacklisted either.

Not sure what to do next. I'll try to get in contact with the seller but I don't expect much from him or eBay. Maybe I can sell off the device very cheap for spare parts, or send it for repair somewhere? Leave it as a dev device (which would virtually indistinguishable from a N5 that I plan to get anyway), Anyone else has any other suggestions or ideas?
28th October 2013, 01:59 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 742
 
2,915 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Try to install a factory stock image: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2010312

If you pay with PayPal you get buyer protection so you can try to get your money back.

Could be a hardware or antenna issue.
28th October 2013, 02:30 AM   |  #3  
badboy47's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 787
 
1,445 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
To me it seems like its been blocked for certain reasons. Either it was reported stolen or the person who sold it to you didn't pay his/her bill for which the carrier blocked it. In that case you can't do much about it.

I would contact the seller right away. If you get no response contact paypal and eBay.
Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4
Last edited by badboy47; 28th October 2013 at 02:34 AM.
28th October 2013, 04:54 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
This problem is occurring for a lot of Nexus 4 users, including me. Its some sort of pandemic. Hereís what you can do to atleast restore service to your phone : flash the factory 4.3 image to your phone, again. However, try flashing a radio that is 54 or older with it. Make sure you wipe the cache and flash all the partitions, system, boot, bootloader and the old radio. This will bring back service to your phone (did for me), however you will be left with no in call audio and your phone wont connect to the internet through the mobile network, only wifi. After doing this, you will see your baseband and IMEI in the phone.

You can use this as some sort of ďtestĒ to verify if your phone really isnít stolen. What is the ultimate resolution to this problem ? I really donít know yet. Iíve been breaking my head over this for the past 4 days now. Maybe Iím going to try out the unbrick method mentioned over here to see if that helps.
28th October 2013, 07:59 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
335 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
As an update I am getting intermittent signal in some areas, but it's really spotty and only lasts a little while : (

I'll be giving different basebands a try tomorrow but I don't think it'll help much. I'll also try the full factory flash posted above.
29th October 2013, 01:34 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Same problem here, had the phone for about 2-3 months, bought it off Kijiji, I tried flashing 4.2.2, went back to 4.3, flashed every baseband and still no success. The SIM works perfectly in another N4, tried a few other sim in mine and still the same results. Any other ways somebody got this fixed ?
29th October 2013, 04:19 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
335 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuebecFanat1c

Same problem here, had the phone for about 2-3 months, bought it off Kijiji, I tried flashing 4.2.2, went back to 4.3, flashed every baseband and still no success. The SIM works perfectly in another N4, tried a few other sim in mine and still the same results. Any other ways somebody got this fixed ?

I'm talking to the seller, see if the phone is still under warranty. My other options would be to change the antenna myself (see if it works), or resell it at loss for spare parts, or wait to see what eBay says.
29th October 2013, 05:31 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Just to give you guys some hope, that this is not just a problem faced by second hand phones - My phone is bought directly from the Play store - I contacted Google service a few days back and they asked me to return the phone for a replacement. Only problem is I have to ship this back to the US (where I purchased from), since they dont provide replacement service outside the country of purchase. I'm in India now.

I've tried absolutely everything myself. Flashed many many radios, 4.3, 4.2.2, I'm only able to get it to the point where there is network coverage, I can make and receive calls but there is no in call audio, nor is there any mobile internet connectivity (Only through wifi).

Something tells me this is a problem with the latest OTA update that caused this issue - I was completely stock and everything was working properly, when this problem appeared one fine day - It started with me not able to connect to the mobile internet network for a few days, and then one fine morning, BAM. No service. It was only after this that I started flashing and re-installing stuff on my phone, desperately trying everything to get the phone back to normal again.

I think the last OTA update somehow "bricked" the radio (dont know if something like this is possible, just a noob guess). My only hope is the 4.4 update has some fix for this, else I'm going to try the unbrick method mentioned on these forums to see if that works. Only then will I take the pain to send this back to the US.
29th October 2013, 03:37 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
335 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
What's the unbrick method you are planning to follow?
29th October 2013, 04:47 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
I was considering using the unbrick method listed here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2347060

Although I'm not completely sure it will work. Do you or anyone else have any suggestions for this ? I'm hoping 4.4 gets released ASAP, I'll download and root that as quickly as I can, hopefully Google has some resolution to this stupid problem

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes