5,596,179 Members 33,830 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

noob here, lost at rooting

Tip us?

beegbear
Old
(Last edited by beegbear; 19th December 2013 at 01:36 AM.)
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Default noob here, lost at rooting

hey all,

I'm a complete noob when it comes to rooting

I've been searching online on how to root a nexus 4 using a mac.. every single guide is different, some skip the unlocking bootloader part, some skip other parts, and most guides are just outdated.

I'm running on absolute stock, 4.4.2.

What's the best (and most current) guide out there? I'm interested in rooting my phone mainly so I can get LTE access.. do no care too much for non stock ROMS (not yet at least)

Yuoko5
Old
Thanks Meter 19
I think this is the easiest for noobs: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1999065 . It's a tool that will do all the work for you.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Yuoko5 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]

beegbear
Old
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
update:

I set up adb on my mac and unlocked bootloader, that was easy.

I'm following this guide: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2018179

so now I'm confused about the whole Rom part.. which one do I download? There's a ROMs column, a stock recovery, and stock touch recovery. What are those?

Yuoko5
Old
Thanks Meter 19
You don't have to install another ROM. You can just download the recovery (CMW for mako touch or non touch) in the post. Also download the su zip tot get root acces.

beegbear
Old
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuoko5 View Post
You don't have to install another ROM. You can just download the recovery (CMW for mako touch or non touch) in the post. Also download the su zip tot get root acces.