Post Reply

Question [Q] ~4gigs missing from available space?

OP Nyshan

9th August 2014, 04:12 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
I know what you're going to say, and before you say it, look at this (imgur . com/4tFTFBB) and tell me what I'm doing wrong because I sure as hell don't have any idea.

P.S. if Android has a ~4 gig partition on available space I'm going to look real stupid.
9th August 2014, 08:56 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Do you use CWM? The backups for that don't show but but obviously use a lot of data. If not then this is an error, you can fix with factory reset.
9th August 2014, 01:21 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
If CWM was a part of TWRM then I installed it. I never explicitly installed anything by that name though.

Edit: About a year ago I had installed all the stuff I needed to root the phone but after much tinker I finally soft-bricked it and had to do a factory reset. At that time I had TWRP installed so I could flash Roms and whatnot, I noticed ~4gigs was missing after I installed Xcom:EU but I've looked for any file pertaining to xcom to no avail. I updated the OS, at the time, in an attempt to get Android to somehow recognize the missing space, but again, no dice.

P.S. I'm sorry I didn't add this information earlier.
Last edited by Nyshan; 9th August 2014 at 01:48 PM.
9th August 2014, 02:34 PM   |  #4  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,542
 
10,264 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
If you have a 16 gb device you'll end up with about 12 gb of usable space. The other 4 is used by android for it's partitions

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I957 using XDA Free mobile app
9th August 2014, 02:54 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
So the 8 gig Nexus 4 doesn't have more than 1 gig of storage space?
9th August 2014, 05:32 PM   |  #6  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,542
 
10,264 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nyshan

So the 8 gig Nexus 4 doesn't have more than 1 gig of storage space?

Android uses 3+ gigs,I don't remember the exact number. So for the 8 gig device you'll end up with around 5 that's usable.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
9th August 2014, 05:48 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
So, moral of the story, I'm still missing ~4 gigs which is completely unaccounted for and doesn't come back even after a factory reset.
10th August 2014, 02:09 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
You'll have to flash factory image then.
10th August 2014, 02:33 AM   |  #9  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 21,897
 
26,302 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
use an app callrd disk usage to check if its really "missing" https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...roid.diskusage
10th August 2014, 06:36 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Yeah, apparently Android uses a full 4gigs for it's OS. I remember having more room on my device a year ago but I guess I'm just making pointless posts.

Sorry guys, case dismissed.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes