PLEASE READ Nexus 4 stuck in a bootloop (softbricked)

OP hassan198

5th May 2014, 09:12 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0

1 posts
This is my first time posting a thread, so I'm very sorry if its in the wrong place.
I've had my Nexus 4 for over a year now and over the past 1-2 weeks it has kept on randomly rebooting and freezing, so I decided to install a custom rom on it (prior to this I had not modified my phone in any way), this was something which i've wanted to do for a long time.
The last time I installed a custom rom and rooted a phone was on the samsung galaxy ace around 2-3 years ago.
the first thing I did was backup the data which I needed. Then I turned on USB debugging and unlocked my bootloader and rooted my phone (my phone is running android 4.4.2) this all went without a hitch. I turned on my phone and superuser ( the version of superuser was chainfire's 0.99) was there. Then I downloaded Paranoid Android, it was the third one down in the mako section of paranoid android. Then I downloaded gapps.
I watched a tutorial on how to flash a rom via cwm but the tutorial forgot to mention making a backup, and me being a bit of a noob it didn't occur to me. When I was installing Paranoid android it said something like "no folder context" and then it said installation aborted ( I had done a factory reset,wiped dalvik cache and wiped cache) gapps installed perfectly but my phone was now in a bootloop. It would turn on and get to the Google logo, where it would stay for a few minutes and then turn off again and do the whole thing again or it would turn on and go straight to cwm.
then I read a tutorial on how to flash the stock rom and followed it word for word but that ended up unmounting my sd card.