SlimRoms: Updates on the Horizon

The post SlimRoms: Updates on the Horizon appeared first on xda-developers. … more

Your Favorite Wireless Charger?

The post Your Favorite Wireless Charger? appeared first on xda-developers. … more

ASUS US Invites Developers at XDA to Special Event

The post ASUS US Invites Developers at XDA to Special Event appeared first on xda-developers. … more

Fix Memory Leak in Lollipop With This Xposed Module

The post Fix Memory Leak in Lollipop With This Xposed Module appeared first on xda-developers. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Why can't I see previews of my pictures/ on my computer?

19th December 2012, 12:26 PM   |  #1  
Chad_Petree's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 213
 
2,538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
I don't get it when i plug my phone to my pc i cannot see previews of the pictures(thumbnails) , videos or files i have on my phone, i have to copy them first to the computer in order to be able to preview them , any solution for this? :/
Last edited by Chad_Petree; 19th December 2012 at 11:19 PM.
19th December 2012, 12:34 PM   |  #2  
clockcycle's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 404
 
2,089 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad_Petree

I don't get it when i plug my phone to my pc i cannot see previews of the pictures( i think they're called thumbs) , videos or files i have on my phone, i have to copy them first to the computer in order to be able to preview them , any solution for this? :/

I'm not sure but it could be a setting on your PC. I noticed this while offering pictures from an iphone4 yesterday as well. But I have preview and thumbnails turned off.
19th December 2012, 12:44 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag montreal
Thanks Meter: 18
 
136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
yes clockcycle is right.

this is purely your pc, nothing to do with your phone. you need to enable the checkbox to preview photo's depending ony our version of windows. sometimes it's not enabled by default.

19th December 2012, 12:55 PM   |  #4  
Chad_Petree's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 213
 
2,538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3xboar

yes clockcycle is right.

this is purely your pc, nothing to do with your phone. you need to enable the checkbox to preview photo's depending ony our version of windows. sometimes it's not enabled by default.

Previews are enabled , what my pc shows as thumbnails for my pictures is the logo of the windows gallery :/
19th December 2012, 01:58 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Aberystwyth
Thanks Meter: 93
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Reasonably sure its because of the MTP protocol, the N4 is not mounted like a normal USB stick
19th December 2012, 02:32 PM   |  #6  
Chad_Petree's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 213
 
2,538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flynny75

Reasonably sure its because of the MTP protocol, the N4 is not mounted like a normal USB stick

Is there any workarounds for this?
19th December 2012, 11:22 PM   |  #7  
Chad_Petree's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 213
 
2,538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flynny75

Reasonably sure its because of the MTP protocol, the N4 is not mounted like a normal USB stick

Hmm there's big post about this issue on the phandroid forums, it seems its windows faul't , the window explorer doesn't show thumbnails in MTP mode, which is the only mode the nexus 4 connects to the pc since it has no sd card, so no solution AT ALL

I'm curious to see if on mac you can view the thumbnails , anyone here with a mac that can confirm it?

http://androidforums.com/samsung-gal...hat-gives.html
Last edited by Chad_Petree; 19th December 2012 at 11:46 PM.
22nd December 2012, 11:35 PM   |  #8  
Chad_Petree's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 213
 
2,538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
anyone?
22nd December 2012, 11:50 PM   |  #9  
heat361's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 357
 
1,122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad_Petree

anyone?

Try connecting the nexus 4 as a PTP

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes