Get a Complete Set of Logs with Andy Log

The importance of proper logging is undeniable. No, we’re not talking about lumberjack work. … more

Try Some Android Lollipop Applications on Your Device

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been officially announced and lucky users of Google Nexus 5 … more

AutoCon Manages Your Connections to Perserve Battery Life

As we’ve talked about in the past, battery life is still somewhat of a sore … more

How to Unlock and Root a Nexus Device – XDA TV

It is official–Google has released the Nexus 6 and the Nexus 9. The Nexus family … more
Post Reply

Why can't I see previews of my pictures/ on my computer?

OP Chad_Petree

19th December 2012, 12:26 PM   |  #1  
Chad_Petree's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 164
 
2,356 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
I don't get it when i plug my phone to my pc i cannot see previews of the pictures(thumbnails) , videos or files i have on my phone, i have to copy them first to the computer in order to be able to preview them , any solution for this? :/
Last edited by Chad_Petree; 19th December 2012 at 11:19 PM.
19th December 2012, 12:34 PM   |  #2  
clockcycle's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 391
 
2,039 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad_Petree

I don't get it when i plug my phone to my pc i cannot see previews of the pictures( i think they're called thumbs) , videos or files i have on my phone, i have to copy them first to the computer in order to be able to preview them , any solution for this? :/

I'm not sure but it could be a setting on your PC. I noticed this while offering pictures from an iphone4 yesterday as well. But I have preview and thumbnails turned off.
19th December 2012, 12:44 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag montreal
Thanks Meter: 18
 
136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
yes clockcycle is right.

this is purely your pc, nothing to do with your phone. you need to enable the checkbox to preview photo's depending ony our version of windows. sometimes it's not enabled by default.

19th December 2012, 12:55 PM   |  #4  
Chad_Petree's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 164
 
2,356 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3xboar

yes clockcycle is right.

this is purely your pc, nothing to do with your phone. you need to enable the checkbox to preview photo's depending ony our version of windows. sometimes it's not enabled by default.

Previews are enabled , what my pc shows as thumbnails for my pictures is the logo of the windows gallery :/
19th December 2012, 01:58 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Aberystwyth
Thanks Meter: 93
 
344 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Reasonably sure its because of the MTP protocol, the N4 is not mounted like a normal USB stick
19th December 2012, 02:32 PM   |  #6  
Chad_Petree's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 164
 
2,356 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flynny75

Reasonably sure its because of the MTP protocol, the N4 is not mounted like a normal USB stick

Is there any workarounds for this?
19th December 2012, 11:22 PM   |  #7  
Chad_Petree's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 164
 
2,356 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flynny75

Reasonably sure its because of the MTP protocol, the N4 is not mounted like a normal USB stick

Hmm there's big post about this issue on the phandroid forums, it seems its windows faul't , the window explorer doesn't show thumbnails in MTP mode, which is the only mode the nexus 4 connects to the pc since it has no sd card, so no solution AT ALL

I'm curious to see if on mac you can view the thumbnails , anyone here with a mac that can confirm it?

http://androidforums.com/samsung-gal...hat-gives.html
Last edited by Chad_Petree; 19th December 2012 at 11:46 PM.
22nd December 2012, 11:35 PM   |  #8  
Chad_Petree's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 164
 
2,356 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
anyone?
22nd December 2012, 11:50 PM   |  #9  
heat361's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 357
 
1,122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad_Petree

anyone?

Try connecting the nexus 4 as a PTP

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes