5,597,647 Members 33,102 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] any reason GEL is exclusive?

Tip us?
 
Snake X
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 52
Join Date: Dec 2011
Question [Q] any reason GEL is exclusive?

is there really any reason that google has made the GEL launcher exclusive to the nexus 5? I looked at the lg g2 a few days ago in my local t-mo store and liked the fact it had a large screen, and figured i could get something like that if I had my bars transparent like the bars on the g2 since it's a huge price jump and I couldn't afford it. That being said, is there really any reason other than a selling point to keep the GEL on the n5 only? Thanks
 
abaaaabbbb63
Old
#2  
abaaaabbbb63's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2716
Posts: 3,661
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Somewhere Over The Rainbow
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake X View Post
is there really any reason that google has made the GEL launcher exclusive to the nexus 5? I looked at the lg g2 a few days ago in my local t-mo store and liked the fact it had a large screen, and figured i could get something like that if I had my bars transparent like the bars on the g2 since it's a huge price jump and I couldn't afford it. That being said, is there really any reason other than a selling point to keep the GEL on the n5 only? Thanks
It's still in an early state of development. It's like a "Testing" phase. Google is improving it before releasing it.
 
Snake X
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 52
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by abaaaabbbb63 View Post
It's still in an early state of development. It's like a "Testing" phase. Google is improving it before releasing it.
so whats the likelyhood of the nexus 4 getting it or when will it probably be available? I feel like emailing google and asking about it
 
abaaaabbbb63
Old
#4  
abaaaabbbb63's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2716
Posts: 3,661
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Somewhere Over The Rainbow
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake X View Post
so whats the likelyhood of the nexus 4 getting it or when will it probably be available? I feel like emailing google and asking about it
You can actually get it by yourself.
http://www.howtogeek.com/176009/how-...ndroid-device/

It has the same functionality as on the Nexus 5.
 
Snake X
Old
(Last edited by Snake X; 31st December 2013 at 06:52 AM.)
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 52
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by abaaaabbbb63 View Post
You can actually get it by yourself.
http://www.howtogeek.com/176009/how-...ndroid-device/

It has the same functionality as on the Nexus 5.
thank you, ill use that - but I'm just wondering why it's exclusive is all

edit: will this work on cyanogenmod 10.2? Thanks
 
abaaaabbbb63
Old
#6  
abaaaabbbb63's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2716
Posts: 3,661
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Somewhere Over The Rainbow
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake X View Post
thank you, ill use that - but I'm just wondering why it's exclusive is all

edit: will this work on cyanogenmod 10.2? Thanks

I think it will.

Another reason would be that this way, people would be inclined to buy the Nexus 5 over other phones.
 
Snake X
Old
(Last edited by Snake X; 31st December 2013 at 07:25 AM.)
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 52
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by abaaaabbbb63 View Post
I think it will.

Another reason would be that this way, people would be inclined to buy the Nexus 5 over other phones.
Probably :/. Silly google, don't they realize by doing so they are ticking off their previous loyal customers from the nexus 4

edit: the transparent bars wont show on the nexus 4 with it on cyanogenmod 10.2
 
abaaaabbbb63
Old
#8  
abaaaabbbb63's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2716
Posts: 3,661
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Somewhere Over The Rainbow
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake X View Post
Probably :/. Silly google, don't they realize by doing so they are ticking off their previous loyal customers from the nexus 4

edit: the transparent bars wont show on the nexus 4 with it on cyanogenmod 10.2
Yeah, I think you need KitKat for that.
 
Snake X
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 52
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by abaaaabbbb63 View Post
Yeah, I think you need KitKat for that.
yeah, I'll probably flash kit kat and that then use it. I really do want this effect for it'll save me from financial problems, lol.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Polish Your Custom Themes with Theme Debugger

Creating a custom Android theme from scratch can be quite the laborious task. In addition to … more

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more

Tweak Your Xperia Device’s Camera App Yourself

We’ve come to expect nearly perfect cameraperformancein our modern day … more