FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[Q] Repair problems: strange Android version installed

4 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By RWTX, Junior Member on 15th December 2012, 04:29 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
24th January 2013, 09:34 PM |#91  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 232
 
More
WARNING: This is a debug ROM - do not mess with anything you don't know about as you can screw up your phone, and I am NOT responsible if any of that happens.

I repeat, use this at your own risk


Part 1: http://www.mediafire.com/?3q5o6c3wt86uj15
Part 2: http://www.mediafire.com/?aql3p3aaf3elh5f

Mediafire is a fast host, so there's no need for mirrors.
Last edited by rr5678; 24th January 2013 at 10:31 PM. Reason: Added a missing letter
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to rr5678 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
25th January 2013, 12:43 AM |#92  
Member
Flag Boca Raton, FL
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rr5678

WARNING: This is a debug ROM - do not mess with anything you don't know about as you can screw up your phone, and I am NOT responsible if any of that happens.

I repeat, use this at your own risk


Part 1: http://www.mediafire.com/?3q5o6c3wt86uj15
Part 2: http://www.mediafire.com/?aql3p3aaf3elh5f

Mediafire is a fast host, so there's no need for mirrors.

I looked in the zip file and did not see a radio.img in there. Was there one in the original dump?
25th January 2013, 02:03 AM |#93  
efrant's Avatar
Senior Moderator
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 8,861
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Repair problems: strange Android version installed
Quote:
Originally Posted by tutech

I looked in the zip file and did not see a radio.img in there. Was there one in the original dump?

Yes, there was. Have a look in the radio thread in General. It's posted in there.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to efrant For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th January 2013, 02:22 AM |#94  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 232
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tutech

I looked in the zip file and did not see a radio.img in there. Was there one in the original dump?

Quote:
Originally Posted by efrant

Yes, there was. Have a look in the radio thread in General. It's posted in there.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2

I didn't include it for safety reasons. I'm all for experimental ROMs, but not experimental radios. Don't want any possibility of bricks.
2nd October 2013, 05:29 AM |#95  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
It looks like i got the same type of debug rom from LG the other day. I cannot get adb to see/list the device though. My wife's nexus4 and my galaxy nexus show up fine, but this device will not show. USB debugging is checked. Is the rom blocking it somehow? Is it locked somehow? What did the other users have to do to get adb to see the device? I'm running linux, btw.
2nd October 2013, 02:49 PM |#96  
efrant's Avatar
Senior Moderator
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 8,861
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmeehl

It looks like i got the same type of debug rom from LG the other day. I cannot get adb to see/list the device though. My wife's nexus4 and my galaxy nexus show up fine, but this device will not show. USB debugging is checked. Is the rom blocking it somehow? Is it locked somehow? What did the other users have to do to get adb to see the device? I'm running linux, btw.

I'm not entirely sure, as I don't have that ROM flashed to my device. But, you can always boot CWM or TWRP, and use ADB via that. In other words:

Assuming your bootloader is unlocked, download CWM or TWRP to your PC, rename it to customrecovery.img, reboot your device into the bootloader and type: fastboot boot customrecovery.img (or if that doesn't work, try: fastboot -c "lge.kcal=0|0|0|x" boot customrecovery.img). Then you have full adb root access.
2nd October 2013, 07:55 PM |#97  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by efrant

Assuming your bootloader is unlocked, download CWM or TWRP to your PC, rename it to customrecovery.img, reboot your device into the bootloader and type: fastboot boot customrecovery.img (or if that doesn't work, try: fastboot -c "lge.kcal=0|0|0|x" boot customrecovery.img). Then you have full adb root access.

I'm not home now, so I can't try those commands. I did try fastboot flash recovery recovery.img this morning and it just sat there saying waiting for device. Remember, adb devices and fastboot devices do not show the device at all... The only time I can get the device to show under adb devices is by booting into recovery mode and choosing the sideload option. And still, the device is not fully recognised (says ????????????) and fastboot devices shows nothing, even in that mode.
2nd October 2013, 08:02 PM |#98  
efrant's Avatar
Senior Moderator
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 8,861
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmeehl

I'm not home now, so I can't try those commands. I did try fastboot flash recovery recovery.img this morning and it just sat there saying waiting for device. Remember, adb devices and fastboot devices do not show the device at all... The only time I can get the device to show under adb devices is by booting into recovery mode and choosing the sideload option. And still, the device is not fully recognised (says ????????????) and fastboot devices shows nothing, even in that mode.

Don't forget that ADB and fastboot are completely different and require a separate driver install. The command "fastboot devices" will NEVER show the device if you are not booted into the bootloader. If you ARE booted into the bootloader and "fastboot devices" does not show your device, then it's a driver issue. Which driver are you using?
2nd October 2013, 10:55 PM |#99  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by efrant

If you ARE booted into the bootloader and "fastboot devices" does not show your device, then it's a driver issue. Which driver are you using?

I honestly have no idea. I installed the android sdk. I'm running linux. I don't remember having to install a driver before...

Edit: Both of those fastboot commands you gave me just sit around saying waiting for device. I've tried while fully booted, sitting in the bootloader, and in recovery mode. Nothing seems to work.
Last edited by dmeehl; 2nd October 2013 at 11:07 PM.
2nd October 2013, 10:55 PM |#100  
efrant's Avatar
Senior Moderator
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 8,861
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmeehl

I honestly have no idea. I installed the android sdk. I'm running linux. I don't remember having to install a driver before...

Sorry, I forgot that you are running linux. No driver necessary.
3rd October 2013, 08:32 AM |#101  
Nuu~'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 122
 
More
You could try this:
http://android.stackexchange.com/que...n-ubuntu-11-10
It should work with every GNU/Linux distribution.
Also, you should be able to use "*" instead of the IDs, so all android devices will get recognized by default. I'm not entirely sure about that, though.
The Following User Says Thank You to Nuu~ For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes