Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Sky go - Root - WORKING?!

OP italia0101

11th December 2012, 05:19 PM   |  #1  
italia0101's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 993
 
3,188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
So yea, Sky go now has support finally for the Nexus 4 and jellybean!!! but it doesnt work on rooted phones , even using temp unroot, it still sees at i am rooted..

So any way around this?
And if not, can i just unroot and flash root when i need it
Last edited by italia0101; 11th December 2012 at 06:24 PM.
11th December 2012, 05:21 PM   |  #2  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,241
 
13,616 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Looks like stock only at the moment unless someone patches the apk
11th December 2012, 06:04 PM   |  #3  
italia0101's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 993
 
3,188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Ok so i did something kinda strange, but its working...

I uninstalled root using the full uninstall root in the SuperUS app

I then restored root with temunroot in the otaroatkeeper app,

Now i dont have Super SU, but iv verified root using apps and also sky go is working!
11th December 2012, 06:07 PM   |  #4  
italia0101's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 993
 
3,188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008



The only issue is now it just gives apps root access that want it . it doesn't bother asking me obviously because the app is no longer there..

But that surely means sky go is looking for supersu apk
Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
11th December 2012, 06:36 PM   |  #5  
italia0101's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 993
 
3,188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
So iv got it to work ...

1) ota rootkeeper temp unroot
2) superSU app and use Full uninstall ( This deletes SuperSU apk)
3) back to otarootkeeper and restore root
4) tested root using root checker ... says rooted but no SuperSU app as you can see from the pic
5) tested sky go... works on every channel

Now i tested root with titanium and root checker, both say rooted, HOWEVER, both dont ask for permisson to use root, as the APP is gone, so it seems to just grant it access automatically ( could be risky)

Also iv noticed that if im currently in rooted mode, i.e not tempunrooted in otaroot keeper, and the app reloads, i get the your rooted error , please kindly F off..

If i temp unroot and make sure the ap reloads again, i get Sweat apple pie!
11th December 2012, 07:33 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Cheltenham
Thanks Meter: 3
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
have you tried disabling the superuser app whilst using sky go? that might be a good way to go
11th December 2012, 07:49 PM   |  #7  
italia0101's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 993
 
3,188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by j1mmyg88

have you tried disabling the superuser app whilst using sky go? that might be a good way to go

Good question, i havent.. may give it a go
11th December 2012, 07:55 PM   |  #8  
undercover's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London, UK
Thanks Meter: 4,298
 
13,987 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
i bet it's a matter of changing a string that looks like "check for root" true to false. Or maybe not....
11th December 2012, 08:03 PM   |  #9  
italia0101's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 993
 
3,188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by undercover

i bet it's a matter of changing a string that looks like "check for root" true to false. Or maybe not....

Lol i dont think its that easy...

its been a problem for ages, basically if your on a custom kernel or rom my method doesnt work.. so it obviously checks a few things rather than just the presence of the superuser.apk
11th December 2012, 08:12 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Cheltenham
Thanks Meter: 3
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by italia0101

Good question, i havent.. may give it a go

Let me know how it goes

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes