FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

Sky go - Root - WORKING?!

3,298 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,048
 
By italia0101, Senior Member on 11th December 2012, 04:19 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So yea, Sky go now has support finally for the Nexus 4 and jellybean!!! but it doesnt work on rooted phones , even using temp unroot, it still sees at i am rooted..

So any way around this?
And if not, can i just unroot and flash root when i need it
Last edited by italia0101; 11th December 2012 at 05:24 PM.
 
 
11th December 2012, 04:21 PM |#2  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,724
 
More
Looks like stock only at the moment unless someone patches the apk
11th December 2012, 05:04 PM |#3  
italia0101's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,048
 
More
Ok so i did something kinda strange, but its working...

I uninstalled root using the full uninstall root in the SuperUS app

I then restored root with temunroot in the otaroatkeeper app,

Now i dont have Super SU, but iv verified root using apps and also sky go is working!
11th December 2012, 05:07 PM |#4  
italia0101's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,048
 
More



The only issue is now it just gives apps root access that want it . it doesn't bother asking me obviously because the app is no longer there..

But that surely means sky go is looking for supersu apk
Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
11th December 2012, 05:36 PM |#5  
italia0101's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,048
 
More
So iv got it to work ...

1) ota rootkeeper temp unroot
2) superSU app and use Full uninstall ( This deletes SuperSU apk)
3) back to otarootkeeper and restore root
4) tested root using root checker ... says rooted but no SuperSU app as you can see from the pic
5) tested sky go... works on every channel

Now i tested root with titanium and root checker, both say rooted, HOWEVER, both dont ask for permisson to use root, as the APP is gone, so it seems to just grant it access automatically ( could be risky)

Also iv noticed that if im currently in rooted mode, i.e not tempunrooted in otaroot keeper, and the app reloads, i get the your rooted error , please kindly F off..

If i temp unroot and make sure the ap reloads again, i get Sweat apple pie!
11th December 2012, 06:33 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Cheltenham
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
have you tried disabling the superuser app whilst using sky go? that might be a good way to go
11th December 2012, 06:49 PM |#7  
italia0101's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,048
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by j1mmyg88

have you tried disabling the superuser app whilst using sky go? that might be a good way to go

Good question, i havent.. may give it a go
11th December 2012, 06:55 PM |#8  
undercover's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London, UK
Thanks Meter: 4,335
 
More
i bet it's a matter of changing a string that looks like "check for root" true to false. Or maybe not....
11th December 2012, 07:03 PM |#9  
italia0101's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,048
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by undercover

i bet it's a matter of changing a string that looks like "check for root" true to false. Or maybe not....

Lol i dont think its that easy...

its been a problem for ages, basically if your on a custom kernel or rom my method doesnt work.. so it obviously checks a few things rather than just the presence of the superuser.apk
11th December 2012, 07:12 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Cheltenham
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by italia0101

Good question, i havent.. may give it a go

Let me know how it goes
11th December 2012, 07:35 PM |#11  
italia0101's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,048
 
More
so i tried to disable using titanium, it doesnt work...

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes