Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,490 Members 41,700 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Sky go - Root - WORKING?!

Tip us?
 
italia0101
Old
(Last edited by italia0101; 11th December 2012 at 05:24 PM.)
#1  
italia0101's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 864
Posts: 2,813
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default Sky go - Root - WORKING?!

So yea, Sky go now has support finally for the Nexus 4 and jellybean!!! but it doesnt work on rooted phones , even using temp unroot, it still sees at i am rooted..

So any way around this?
And if not, can i just unroot and flash root when i need it
 
EddyOS
Old
#2  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2882
Posts: 13,070
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Liverpool, Merseyside
Looks like stock only at the moment unless someone patches the apk
HTC One M8 (Gunmetal Grey) 16GB
ROM: 1.54.401.10 (KOT49H) | HBOOT: 3.16.0.0000 S-OFF | Recovery: Stock | Baseband: 1.16.2133156.UA15G_20.18m.4096.07L | Kernel: Stock | CID: HTC__001

OnePlus One (Sandstone Black) 64GB *** PENDING ***

If you have a question, great - but DO NOT PM ME WITH IT!!! | [GUIDE] Return your EU M8 to 100% Stock (S-OFF Required)
 
italia0101
Old
#3  
italia0101's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 864
Posts: 2,813
Join Date: Nov 2008
Ok so i did something kinda strange, but its working...

I uninstalled root using the full uninstall root in the SuperUS app

I then restored root with temunroot in the otaroatkeeper app,

Now i dont have Super SU, but iv verified root using apps and also sky go is working!
 
italia0101
Old
#4  
italia0101's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 864
Posts: 2,813
Join Date: Nov 2008



The only issue is now it just gives apps root access that want it . it doesn't bother asking me obviously because the app is no longer there..

But that surely means sky go is looking for supersu apk
Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
 
italia0101
Old
#5  
italia0101's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 864
Posts: 2,813
Join Date: Nov 2008
So iv got it to work ...

1) ota rootkeeper temp unroot
2) superSU app and use Full uninstall ( This deletes SuperSU apk)
3) back to otarootkeeper and restore root
4) tested root using root checker ... says rooted but no SuperSU app as you can see from the pic
5) tested sky go... works on every channel

Now i tested root with titanium and root checker, both say rooted, HOWEVER, both dont ask for permisson to use root, as the APP is gone, so it seems to just grant it access automatically ( could be risky)

Also iv noticed that if im currently in rooted mode, i.e not tempunrooted in otaroot keeper, and the app reloads, i get the your rooted error , please kindly F off..

If i temp unroot and make sure the ap reloads again, i get Sweat apple pie!
 
j1mmyg88
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 102
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cheltenham
have you tried disabling the superuser app whilst using sky go? that might be a good way to go
Twitter - J1mmyG88 Xbox Live - J1mmy G88 Last.fm - J1mmyG88
http://j1mmyg88.com
Current Devices - HTC One, Sony Xperia Z and Google Nexus 10
 
italia0101
Old
#7  
italia0101's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 864
Posts: 2,813
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by j1mmyg88 View Post
have you tried disabling the superuser app whilst using sky go? that might be a good way to go
Good question, i havent.. may give it a go
 
undercover
Old
#8  
undercover's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4258
Posts: 13,918
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, UK
i bet it's a matter of changing a string that looks like "check for root" true to false. Or maybe not....
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
 
italia0101
Old
#9  
italia0101's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 864
Posts: 2,813
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by undercover View Post
i bet it's a matter of changing a string that looks like "check for root" true to false. Or maybe not....
Lol i dont think its that easy...

its been a problem for ages, basically if your on a custom kernel or rom my method doesnt work.. so it obviously checks a few things rather than just the presence of the superuser.apk
 
j1mmyg88
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 102
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cheltenham
Quote:
Originally Posted by italia0101 View Post
Good question, i havent.. may give it a go
Let me know how it goes
Twitter - J1mmyG88 Xbox Live - J1mmy G88 Last.fm - J1mmyG88
http://j1mmyg88.com
Current Devices - HTC One, Sony Xperia Z and Google Nexus 10

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Hide Numbers on Your SMS and Call Logs with Reflection

How many times have you given your device to someone else in order to show them a … more

Implement Split View in Your LG G2 KitKat Rom with Automated Installer

Some of you may have remembered a story on the Portal a few weeks back … more

Cast Your Device Screen the Way it Was Meant to be with Second Screen

Not too long ago here on the XDA Portal, we covered how Google had made … more

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more